MINUTES OF MEETING NEW JERSEY PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION February 24, 2011 10:00 a.m. 495 West State Street Trenton, New Jersey

The meeting was called to order by Chair P. Kelly Hatfield.

Present were:

Commissioners:

John Bonanni Patrick V. Colligan Adrienne E. Eaton John Eskilson Sharon Krengel Paula B. Voos

Also present were: Mary E. Hennessy-Shotter, Deputy General Counsel Don Horowitz, Deputy General Counsel Christine Lucarelli-Carneiro, Deputy General Counsel Tracey L. Pinsky, Certified Court Reporter

At the commencement of the meeting, Chair Hatfield, pursuant to section 5 of the Open Public Meetings Act, entered this announcement into the minutes of the meeting:

> Adequate notice has been provided by the dissemination of a written "Annual Notice of Meeting." On December 16, 2010 a copy of such notice was:

> (a) prominently posted in a public place at the offices of the Public Employment Relations Commission;

(b) sent to the business offices of the Trenton Times, the Bergen Record, and the Camden Courier Post, as well as to the State House press row addresses of 25 media outlets;

(c) mailed to the Secretary of State for filing; and

(d) posted on the agency's web site.

Furthermore on February 18, 2011, copies of an additional written "Notice of Meeting" were posted and sent in a similar manner.

The first item for consideration was the minutes of the February 3, 2011 meeting. A motion to adopt the minutes was made by Commissioner Eskilson and seconded by Commissioner Eaton. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Colligan, Eaton, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

The Chair informed the Commissioners that the Annual PERC/NJSBA Conference is Friday, April 15, 2011 and that all Commissioners are welcome and encouraged to attend.

Chair Hatfield welcomed David Lopez who is a Kean College senior who is interning with the agency and working with Director of Administration Bob Hackel.

The Counsel's Office distributed a monthly report.

Don Horowitz, Deputy General Counsel, reported that the Appellate Division denied a motion for leave to appeal from an interim relief decision involving Essex County and the Essex County Sheriff.

He further reported that an appeal has been filed by Franklin Tp. An earlier case involving Franklin Tp. has already been appealed. Both cases involve identical issues and identical contract language. If the appeal proceeds it may either be consolidated or heard together.

The first case for consideration was <u>Borough of Hawthorne</u> <u>and Hawthorne PBA Local 200</u>, Docket No. SN-2010-101. Commissioner Krengel moved the draft decision and Commissioner

-2-

Voos seconded the motion. Commissioner Colligan recused himself because of his affiliation with the PBA. Commissioner Eskilson recused himself based on his relationship with one of the attorneys involved in this case. The motion was approved by a vote of three in favor (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Krengel and Voos), none opposed and four abstensions. Commissioners Bonanni, Colligan and Eskilson abstained from consideration and Commissioner Eaton abstained from voting.

The next case for consideration was <u>City of Newark and</u> <u>Newark Police Superior Officers' Association</u>, Docket Nos. CO-2007-070 and CO-2007-071. Commissioner Colligan moved the draft decision and Commissioner Eskilson seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Colligan, Eaton, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

The next case for consideration was <u>Township of West</u> <u>Caldwell and West Caldwell PBA Local 81 (West Caldwell Unit)</u>, Docket No. SN-2011-027. Commissioner Voos moved the draft decision and Commissioner Eaton seconded the motion. Commissioner Colligan recused himself because of his affiliation with the PBA. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Eaton, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

The next case for consideration was <u>Bridgeton Board of</u> <u>Education and Bridgeton Education Association</u>, Docket No. CO-

-3-

2009-203. Commissioner Eskilson moved the draft decision and Commissioner Eaton seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Colligan, Eaton, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

The last case for consideration was <u>Cumberland County</u> <u>College and Cumberland County College Staff Association</u>, Docket No. CO-2009-204. Commissioner Eskilson moved the draft decision and Commissioner Bonanni seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Colligan, Eaton, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

Chair Hatfield stated that there were a number of draft resolutions honoring former staff and former commissioners. Draft resolutions for former Commissioners Cheryl Fuller and Matthew Watkins were read into the record. Draft resolutions for Lawrence Henderson, Ira Mintz and Richard Gwin were also read into the record. All resolutions were unanimously approved by acclamation.

Commissioner Eaton made a motion to adopt the resolutions and Commissioner Colligan seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Colligan, Eaton, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

Commissioner Colligan made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Commissioner Eskilson seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved. The meeting was then adjourned.

-4-

The next meeting is scheduled to be held on Thursday, March 31, 2011 at 10:00 a.m.