MINUTES OF SPECIAL MEETING NEW JERSEY PUBLIC EMPLOYMENT RELATIONS COMMISSION

July 19, 2011 10:00 a.m.

495 West State Street Trenton, New Jersey

The meeting was called to order by Chair P. Kelly Hatfield.

Present by telephone were:

Commissioners:

John Bonanni John Eskilson David Jones Sharon Krengel Paula B. Voos Richard Wall

Also present were:

Mary E. Hennessy-Shotter, Deputy General Counsel Don Horowitz, Deputy General Counsel Christine Lucarelli-Carneiro, Deputy General Counsel Annette Thompson, who acted as Stenographer

At the commencement of the meeting, Chair Hatfield, pursuant to section 5 of the Open Public Meetings Act, entered this announcement into the minutes of the meeting:

Adequate notice has been provided by the dissemination of a written "Notice of Special Meeting."
On July 14, 2011 a copy of such notice was:

- (a) prominently posted in a public place at the offices of the Public Employment Relations Commission;
- (b) sent to the business offices of the Trenton Times, the Bergen Record, and the Camden Courier Post, as well as to the State House press row addresses of 25 media outlets;
- (c) mailed to the Secretary of State for filing; and
- (d) posted on the agency's web site.

A roll call was initiated to confirm all Commissioners were present on the telephone.

The first item for consideration was Appointments to the Special Panel of Interest Arbitrators. Chair Hatfield stated that in compliance with the Police and Fire Public Interest Arbitration Reform Act she is recommending the appointment of two arbitrators to the Special Panel of Interest Arbitrators for a term of three years. These recommended arbitrators are experienced and highly qualified labor relations neutrals who meet the professional qualifications and the criteria set forth in the rules adopted by the Commission. The two candidates were interviewed by Director Lorraine Tesauro, who joined the meeting, and the Chair. The two candidates have complied with the training requirements as set forth by the State Ethics Commission. They have also participated in training on the new interest arbitration law, the 2010 Levy Cap Law and budget development matters. The Chair then recommended to the Commission that Susan Wood Osborn and Patrick R. Westerkamp be appointed to the Special Panel of Interest Arbitrators. Commissioner Eskilson moved to appoint the recommended candidates to the Special Panel and Commissioner Bonanni seconded. motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Eskilson, Jones, Krengel, Voos and Wall).

The next item for consideration was <u>Borough of North</u>

<u>Arlington and Police Benevolent Association</u>, <u>Local 95</u>, Docket No.

IA-2011-050. Commissioner Eskilson moved the draft decision and Commissioner Bonanni seconded the motion. At the direction of counsel, Commissioner Jones stated he would be recusing himself from this matter, however, he has memorialized his objections to this recusal which is being reviewed by the State Ethics Commission. Commissioner Wall recused himself because of his affiliation with the PBA. The motion was unanimously approved (Chair Hatfield, Commissioners Bonanni, Eskilson, Krengel and Voos).

Commissioner Bonanni made a motion to adjourn the meeting and Commissioner Eskilson seconded the motion. The motion was unanimously approved. The meeting was then adjourned.