

Pinelands Municipal Council PRESS RELEASE

Contact: Chuck Chiarello Phone: 609.513.0569 E-mail: <u>BVT99CHUCK@aol.com</u>

Pinelands Municipal Council Elects Officers Buena Vista Township Mayor chosen to lead mayors' group

BUENA VISTA, N.J. – Buena Vista Mayor Chuck Chiarello was officially sworn in as the Chairman of the Pinelands Municipal Council during the Council's regular meeting here on March 9.

Chiarello has served as vice-chairman of the Pinelands Municipal Council since 2003, and he previously served as the Council's Chairman from 1996 to 2002. He fills the Chairman post that Woodbine Mayor Borough Mayor William Pikolycky held since 2003.

"I think the Council has been a very productive organization for communicating with the New Jersey Pinelands Commission," Chiarello said. "I've always been involved with it, although I kind of took a break for a while from the top leadership role.

"I thought this was a good year to be back involved, especially with the 25th anniversary of the Pinelands Comprehensive Management Plan and also the good working relationship that I have with Mayor Pikolycky," Chiarello added. "I think we have a good rapport with each other, so the Council is kind of getting 2- for-1 leadership. We're both very familiar with the roles that are required in keeping this organization going."

Also elected to serve on the Council's Executive Committee were:

- Source Woodbine Borough Mayor William Pikolycky, who will serve as Vice Chairman;
- Berkeley Township Planning Board Chairman Anthony Mazzella, who will serve his first term as Secretary. Mazzella also has served as the designee for Berkeley Township and has served on the Council's Comprehensive Management Plan subcommittee. He replaces Winslow Township Zoning Officer Edward McGlinchey, who served as the Council's Secretary for the past two years;
- Egg Harbor City Mayor Joseph A. Kuehner, who will serve as the Treasurer. Kuehner was elected Treasurer in 2005 and was re-elected to a full-term this year;
- Server Mullica Township Mayor Robert Hagaman, who will serve his 7th term as Member

at Large. Hagaman also has been a member of the New Jersey Pinelands Commission since December 2002.

The Executive Committee was sworn in by state Senator Nicholas Asselta, (1st Legislative District – Atlantic, Cape May, Cumberland). Senator Asselta represents 22 municipalities, including seven in the state-designated Pinelands Area.

Created under the Pinelands Protection Act of 1979, the Pinelands Municipal Council is composed of mayors or their designees of the 53 municipalities in the Pinelands Area. The Council is empowered to review any changes to the Pinelands Comprehensive Management Plan, the rules that govern land use, development and natural resource protection in the Pinelands. The Council also advises the Pinelands Commission on any matters relevant to Pinelands municipalities.



(Left to right) Anthony Mazzella, William Pikolycky, Chuck Chiarello and Nicholas Asselta during the swearing in of the Pinelands Municipal Council's Executive Committee on March 9.

*** Photos of the swearing in are available. Please contact Chuck Chiarello at (609) 513-0569.