

New Jersey Pinelands Commission PRESS RELEASE

March 7, 2003

Contact: Francis Rapa Phone: 609.894.7300 E-mail: info@njpines.state.nj.us

Pinelands Municipal Council Elects New Officers

Woodbine Mayor Pikolycky Chairing Mayors' Organization

NEW LISBON, NJ – Woodbine Borough Mayor William Pikolycky was unanimously elected as chairman of the Pinelands Municipal Council at the organization's meeting held in Winslow Township on March 4, 2003. Mayor Pikolycky has served as acting chairman since January 3rd, when the Council's previous chair, Pemberton Township Mayor Thalia C. Kay completed a 12-year tenure as Mayor. Pikolycky previously served as vice chairman of the Council since March 2002.

Also elected to serve on the Council's Executive Committee were: Buena Vista Township Mayor Chuck Chiarello, who will serve as vice chairman; Berkeley Township designee Steven Ewing, who will serve his 7th term as secretary; Bass River Township Mayor T. Richard Bethea, who will serve his 7th term as treasurer; and Mullica Township Mayor Robert Hagaman, who will serve his 4th term as member at large.

Mayor Chiarello served six years as chairman between 1996 and 2002, and Mayor Hagaman was recently appointed to serve on the Pinelands Commission by Governor James McGreevey.

"Mayor Pikolycky, through his participation on the evaluation committee for the Pinelands Excellence Program, has been instrumental in helping Regional Growth Area Communities address planning challenges," said Pinelands Commission Executive Director Annette Barbaccia. "He also led efforts to identify and implement rural economic development opportunities and was a driving force behind having Pinelands Towns recognized as equivalent to the Town Centers under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan."

Mayor Pikolycky successfully pushed for legislation, passed in January 2002, which includes certain Pinelands municipal landfills in the Municipal Landfill Site Closure, Remediation and Redevelopment Act of 1996. This amendment provides important economic incentives for the clean-up of landfills to protect public health and natural resources, while at the same time, creating vital economic redevelopment opportunities.

"It's a real honor to represent each and every one of the 53 municipalities within the Pinelands region," said Mayor Pikolycky. Woodbine is one of three Cape May County municipalities affected by the

Pinelands Act, and I welcome this opportunity to ensure that municipal government's voice remains strong, not only in Cape May County, but throughout the Pinelands."

Pinelands Municipal Council

Page 2

"My goals include assuring that Pinelands management boundary areas not be ignored in the new statewide Big Map," explained Pikolycky. "Of particular concern is the fact that, while centers designated by the State Planning Commission are recognized, centers in the Pinelands (Pinelands Villages and Pinelands Towns) are not. This gives the appearance that Pinelands towns are being treated unequally in terms of their ability to compete for grant money. The same is true of Regional Growth Areas, which are also not designated on the DEP map in such a way as would make eligible for funding."

Pikolycky added, "Spurring progress through the designation of Scenic Byways, tangible outcomes of the Rural Economic Development Program, and implementation of a second generation of the Local Review Officer Program in Rural Economic Development towns are among other items on my agenda. We also will continue to work with the Commission to ensure the success of the Alternate Design Wastewater Treatment System Pilot Program."

The Pinelands Municipal Council, created under the Pinelands Protection Act of 1979, is comprised of Mayors or their designees of the 53 municipalities in the Pinelands Area. The Council is empowered to review any changes to the Pinelands Comprehensive Management Plan, and advises the Pinelands Commission on any matters the Council deems advisable.

####