THOMAS TUCCI, JR. *Chairman* 

LUIS A. QUINTANA Vice Chairman

ELIZABETH CALABRESE MILDRED C. CRUMP JAMES P. DORAN JOSEPH F. ISOLA *Commissioners* 



GREGORY A. TRAMONTOZZI Executive Director

MATTHEW F. MURRAY Clerk

"Protecting Public Health and the Environment"

600 Wilson Avenue, Newark, New Jersey 07105 (973) 817-5700 (973) 817-5738- fax <u>www.pvsc.nj.gov</u> NEWS

**For Immediate Release:** April 8, 2019

**Contact Information:** Doug Scancarella <u>dscancarella@pvsc.nj.gov</u>, 973-817-5735

## **PVSC Honored With Prestigious AEANJ WAVE Award**

(From Left to Right: Vice Chairman Luis A. Quintana, Commissioner Mildred C. Crump, Chief Operating Officer Bridget McKenna, Chairman Thomas Tucci, Jr., Executive Director Gregory A. Tramontozzi, Commissioner Joseph F. Isola and Commissioner James P. Doran display PVSC's recent WAVE Award.)

**Newark, NJ** – At their recent annual awards luncheon in Atlantic City, the Association of Environmental Authorities of New Jersey (AEA) announced the 2018 recipients of their annual WAVE Awards. These awards are a recognition of excellence in the public water, wastewater, recycling and solid waste sector in New Jersey. PVSC received a "Forward Thinking" Wave Award for the successful efforts of its New Jersey Combined Sewer Overflow (NJCSO) Group. PVSC has won 23 WAVE Awards since 2000.

PVSC created the NJCSO Group in an effort to work collaboratively with combined sewer system municipalities within its district to ensure that they all achieve New Jersey Pollution Discharge Elimination System ("NJPDES") compliance. All facilities that collect, treat or discharge pollutants into waterways in New Jersey are required to comply with strict terms and conditions that are designed to ensure that the discharge will not harm the environment.

The NJCSO Group membership consists of the Bayonne Municipal Utilities Authority, the Borough of East Newark, the Town of Harrison, the Jersey City Municipal Utilities Authority, the Town of Kearny,

THOMAS TUCCI, JR. *Chairman* 

LUIS A. QUINTANA Vice Chairman

ELIZABETH CALABRESE MILDRED C. CRUMP JAMES P. DORAN JOSEPH F. ISOLA *Commissioners* 



GREGORY A. TRAMONTOZZI Executive Director

MATTHEW F. MURRAY Clerk

"Protecting Public Health and the Environment"

600 Wilson Avenue, Newark, New Jersey 07105 (973) 817-5700 (973) 817-5738- fax <u>www.pvsc.nj.gov</u>

the City of Newark, the North Bergen Municipal Utilities Authority, the City of Paterson, the North Hudson Sewerage Authority, the Bergen County Municipal Utilities Authority, the City of Elizabeth, the Borough of Fort Lee, the City of Hackensack, Joint Meeting of Essex and Union Counties, the Middlesex County Utilities Authority, the City of Perth Amboy and the Village of Ridgefield Park.

In recent years, PVSC has funded the following projects on behalf of those participating members of the NJCSO Group.

- Warning signs at all outfalls
- CSO Notification System Website
- Monthly CSO Discharge Monitoring Reporting System
- Baseline Compliance Monitoring Program Quality Assurance Project Plan ("QAPP")
- Ambient Modeling QAPP and the Model Evaluation Group
- Sensitive Areas Report

The NJCSO Group jointly funded the implementation of the Baseline Compliance Monitoring Program and the development of the Ambient Water Quality Model. Through their collaborative efforts, the work of all participating permittees has been completed with 100 percent NJPDES compliance.

"Throughout 2018, PVSC continued to routinely and effectively work with various municipalities to fulfill its role as a good environmental steward," said PVSC Chairman Thomas Tucci, Jr. "The NJCSO Group worked diligently to achieve 100 percent compliance with NJPDES permit requirements that pertain to wastewater discharge. We are honored that these efforts were recognized by such a prestigious organization as the AEA."

###