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The agency proposal follows:

Summary



The New Jersey Department of State (Department), pursuant to N.J.S.A. 37:1-
13, proposes N.J.A.C. 15:4 to set forth a process by which the Department may
authorize a qualified civil celebrant to solemnize marriages or civil unions.

In January 2014, Governor Christie signed legislation adding “civil celebrant[s]
who [are] certified by the Secretary of State to solemnize marriages or civil unions” to
the list of individuals that are statutorily empowered to solemnize marriages or civil
unions. This proposed chapter implements that recently enacted legislation and
provides for a process through which the Department may authorize qualified civil
celebrants to solemnize marriages or civil unions.

The proposed new rules are summarized below:

N.J.A.C. 15:4-1.1 provides the purpose of the rules established in this
subchapter.

N.J.A.C. 15:4-1.2 sets forth the criteria an applicant for certification as a civil
celebrant must satisfy, as well as the process by which an application is filed with the
Department.

N.J.A.C. 15:4-1.3 establishes the amount of the fee that must be remitted to the
Department by an applicant.

N.J.A.C. 15:4-1.4 provides that an applicant for certification as a civil celebrant is
not authorized to solemnize marriages or civil unions until the application has been
approved and the certificate received from the Department.

N.J.A.C. 15:4-1.5 sets forth the procedure pursuant to which the Department may

revoke a certification, when the Secretary determines that information provided on the



application was inaccurate or otherwise did not comply with the requirements of this
subchapter.

As the Department has provided a 60-day comment period for this notice of
proposal, this notice is excepted from the rulemaking calendar requirements, pursuant
to N.J.A.C. 1:30-3.3(a)5.

Social Impact

The proposed new rules will have a positive social impact. The rules will
implement the Legislature’s intent by expanding the population of individuals who may
appropriately solemnize marriages or civil unions to qualified civil celebrants who are
issued a certificate by the Department, thereby allowing greater flexibility to couples
seeking to have their marriages or civil unions solemnized in New Jersey. A qualified
civil celebrant must meet the enumerated statutory and regulatory criteria including
being at least 18 years old, having graduated from a secondary school, having
completed a civil celebrant course offered by a non-denominational or educational
charitable organization that is registered with the State under the Charitable
Registration and Investigation Act, N.J.S.A. 45:17A-18 et seq., and that such courses
meet enumerated criteria.

Economic Impact

The proposed new rules may positively impact business in the State in two ways.
First, by expanding the list of individuals authorized to solemnize marriages and civil
unions, the recently enacted legislation, as well as this chapter, will provide couples with
greater flexibility with respect to who may solemnize their marriages or civil unions,

thereby facilitating and potentially encouraging more couples to choose New Jersey as



a venue for their ceremonies and receptions. Second, the expansion of the list of
individuals authorized to solemnize marriages and civil unions may provide some
individuals with greater opportunities to earn income. The chapter also requires a filing
fee for the application, as required by the enabling statute.
Federal Standards Statement

There are no Federal standards or requirements applicable to the proposed new

rules. As aresult, a Federal standards analysis is not required.
Jobs Impact

The proposed new rules may positively impact jobs and job growth in the State.
As discussed in the Economic Impact statement above, the recently enacted legislation
and this chapter may facilitate more couples to choose New Jersey as the venue of their
ceremonies and receptions, thereby positively impacting that industry, and may also
provide an income stream to certified civil celebrants.

Agriculture Industry Impact

The proposed new rules are unlikely to have an appreciable impact on the

agricultural industry.
Regulatory Flexibility Statement

The proposed new rules will not impose reporting, recordkeeping, or other
compliance requirements on small businesses as defined in the Regulatory Flexibility
Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-16 et seq. The proposed new rules apply to individuals seeking to
be certified to solemnize marriages or civil unions.

Housing Affordability Impact Analysis



The proposed new rules will not evoke a significant change in the average costs
associated with housing. The basis for this finding is that the proposed new rules
address a system of authorizing civil celebrants to solemnize marriages or civil unions.
The proposed new rules do not address housing affordability.

Smart Growth Development Impact Analysis

The proposed new rules will not evoke a significant change on housing
production and there is an extreme unlikelihood that the proposed new rules would
evoke a change in housing production in Planning Areas 1 or 2, or within designated
centers, under the State Development and Redevelopment Plan in New Jersey. The
basis for this finding is that the proposed new rules address a system of authorizing civil
celebrants to solemnize marriages or civil unions. The proposed new rules do not

address housing production.

Full text of the proposed new rules follows:
CHAPTER 4
CIVIL CELEBRANT CERTIFICATION
SUBCHAPTER 1. CIVIL CELEBRANT CERTIFICATION
15:4-1.1 Purpose
The rules in this subchapter implement the provisions of P.L. 2013, c. 243, which
amended N.J.S.A. 37:1-13, dealing with those persons authorized to solemnize

marriages and civil unions. N.J.S.A. 37:1-13, as amended, permits any civil celebrant



who meets the law’s criteria, and who is certified by the Department of State, to

solemnize marriages and civil unions.

15:4-1.2 Certification criteria; application process

(@) In order to be certified as a civil celebrant, an applicant must submit to the
Department of State a completed application for certification, on a form provided by the
Department, which includes the following:

1. The applicant’s name and address;

2. Affirmation that the applicant is 18 years of age and has graduated from a
secondary school in New Jersey or another state;

3. Affirmation that the applicant has completed a civil celebrant course that:

i. Included classes that met weekly or with more frequency, either
administered in person or by other means over a period of not less than six months; and

ii. Educated the applicant on topics including celebrant philosophy and
history, ceremonial structure, and ceremonial presentations;

4. The name of the non-denominational or educational charitable organization at
which the applicant took the civil celebrant course, and its registration number
demonstrating that such organization is registered with the State under the Charitable
Registration and Investigation Act, P.L. 1994, c. 16 (N.J.S.A. 45:17A-18 et seq.); and

5. The applicant shall attach to the application form a copy of a transcript or other
documentation from the non-denominational or educational charitable organization,

demonstrating successful completion of the civil celebrant course.



15:4-1.3 Fee
The applicant shall remit a fee of $55.00 to the Department of State at the time of

filing of the application for certification.

15:4-1.4 Authorization date
An applicant for certification shall not be authorized to solemnize marriages or
civil unions until the application for certification has been approved and the certificate

received from the Department of State.

15:4-1.5 Revocation of certification

A civil celebrant who has received a certification from the Department of State
may have that certification revoked, through a hearing at the Office of Administrative
Law, pursuant to the provisions of the Administrative Procedure Act, N.J.S.A. 52:14B-1
et seq., and 52:14F-1 et seq., before an administrative law judge, if the Department
determines that any information provided in the celebrant’s application was inaccurate
or otherwise did not comply with the certification requirements set forth in this
subchapter. A civil celebrant subject to a revocation hearing before an administrative
law judge, or any appeal thereof, shall not be authorized to solemnize marriages or civil
unions, and shall only again be authorized to do so if a final determination is made

permitting the civil celebrant to retain the certification.



