

# **HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR**

**The New Jersey Contractor's Registration Act** requires that all home improvement contractors register with the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs and display their registration number known as NJHIC#.

#### **STARTING A BUSINESS**

- The first step in starting a business is writing a well-considered, comprehensive business plan. Although <u>not required</u> it is highly recommended that this be your first step. There are resources to provide technical assistance to entrepreneurs to guide them in the writing process. The New Jersey Small Business Development Centers have regional offices that cover every county in New Jersey and provide Free (taxpayer supported) assistance to entrepreneurs accessible here: <a href="https://njsbdc.com/">https://njsbdc.com/</a>. Other organizations that provide technical assistance:
  - SCORE: Clink the link and enter SCORE in the find box: https://www.sba.gov/local-assistance/find/
  - Women's Center for Entrepreneurship (Northern New Jersey): <a href="http://www.wcecnj.org/">http://www.wcecnj.org/</a>
  - LAEDA (Southern New Jersey): https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/nur/Pages/default.aspx

### STATE AND FEDERAL REQUIREMENTS

- **Home Improvement Contractor** To become registered as a Home Improvement Contractor the applicant must complete the application and provide the documentation as required by the New Jersey Division of Consumer Affairs including but not limited to:
  - An Ownership Disclosure Statement
  - Proof of commercial general liability insurance in a minimum amount of \$500,000 per occurrence.
  - A non-refundable payment fee of a \$110.00
- The New Jersey Contractor's Registration For complete information, including a copy of The New Jersey Contractor's Registration Act, a list of Frequently Asked Questions, the initial application and its requirements, please view the following link: <a href="https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic/Applications/Home-Improvement-Contractor-Application-for-Initial-Registration.pdf">https://www.njconsumeraffairs.gov/hic/Applications/Home-Improvement-Contractor-Application-for-Initial-Registration.pdf</a>.
- New Jersey Division of Revenue & Enterprise Services (DORES) If you choose to form a limited liability company (LLC) a corporation (Inc.), a Professional Corporation (PC), you must record that new entity with DORES. This is not required for Sole Proprietorships or General Partnerships.
  - DORES: <a href="https://www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/gettingregistered.shtml">https://www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/gettingregistered.shtml</a>
- Tax Registration All businesses (including proprietorships and partnerships) must register for Tax purposes with DORES. Every business that has employees, more than a single owner, or is organized as a corporation must obtain a Federal Employer Identification Number (EIN), commonly referred to as a Federal Tax ID#, from the Internal Revenue Service (IRS).
  - DORES: https://www.nj.gov/treasury/revenue/gettingregistered.shtml
  - IRS: <a href="https://www.irs.gov/">https://www.irs.gov/</a>
- **Taxpayer Workshops** The Treasury Department's "Taxation University" offers a workshop series to assist small businesses learn more about their state tax obligations.
  - Small Business Workshops: www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/smallbus.shtml



## HOME IMPROVEMENT CONTRACTOR

### STATE AND FEDERAL REQUIREMENTS (continued)

- Trade Names, Alternate (Fictitious) Business Names, Doing Business As (DBA) Businesses may operate using a name other than their legal name, if that name has been properly registered.
   Sole Proprietorships and General Partnerships must register a "Tradename" in each of the County Clerk's Offices in the Counties where they wish to conduct business. LLCs, Corporations, and other legal entities may register an Alternate Name with DORES. Fictitious names for foreign entities (companies formed outside of New Jersey) are sometimes referred to as a DBA.
  - County Clerks Offices: https://www.nj.gov/state/archives/catcounty.html
  - Registering a Fictitious Name: <a href="https://www.njportal.com/dor/businessamendments">https://www.njportal.com/dor/businessamendments</a>
- Sales & Use Tax Businesses may be required to collect sales tax during a qualified transaction and submit
  those proceeds to the Division of Taxation. You may also qualify for a Resale Certificate that can be used when
  purchasing items for resale.
  - Sales & Use Tax: https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/su\_over.shtml
  - Small Business Workshop: www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other\_forms/sales/st3.pdf
- Employers Businesses with employees have obligations of which management should be aware. Wage and Hour Compliance—the New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce development's office of Wage and Hour Compliance has requirements for wages, working hours, earned sick leave and other regulations that employers must follow. All employees must be covered by Worker's Compensation. In addition, any stockholder (owner) of a corporation that works in the business, even if compensation is deferred, must also be covered by Worker's Comp. This does not apply to the members (owners) of LLCs. See your business insurance agent for information on state approved workers compensation policies.
  - Division of Wage and Compliance: <a href="www.nj.gov/labor/wagehour/wagehour">www.nj.gov/labor/wagehour/wagehour</a> index.html
  - Workman's Compensation: <a href="https://www.nj.gov/labor/wc/wc">https://www.nj.gov/labor/wc/wc</a> index.html

### **LOCAL REQUIREMENTS**

- Zoning Requirements Every municipality (City, Township, Borough, etc.) has a Land Use/Zoning Ordinance
  which regulates the kinds of business activities that are permitted within a designated zone and places
  restrictions on building on land parcels including building setbacks, building heights, signage, and various other
  aspects of the land usage. When evaluating a location for your business you should consult with the Zoning
  Officer to determine the suitability of the site for your purposes and what obligations you will have, including
  possible Planning/Zoning board approvals.
- Building Permits Construction covered under the New Jersey Uniform Construction Code will require a
  Construction Permit and inspections to ensure that all construction conforms to the relevant construction
  codes. In many cases architectural plans prepared by a licensed Architect may be required when making an
  application for Construction Permit. Business owners should be diligent in preparing a budget for construction
  costs that includes the necessary professional costs and permit fees.
  - Permit Applications: <a href="https://www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/codes/resources/constructionpermitforms.html">www.nj.gov/dca/divisions/codes/resources/constructionpermitforms.html</a>
- Mercantile Licenses Many towns require certain businesses to obtain Mercantile or other local business licenses. Check with the Municipal Clerk's Office to determine your obligation under the Municipal Ordinances.
- Prior Approvals It is vital that due diligence is used in evaluating any location for a business.
   Some locations may require additional "prior approvals" before permits or zoning approvals can be obtained due to environmental or other land use concerns. You may require professional assistance in evaluating a site.

Although great lengths are made to keep these guides as accurate as possible they are provided for information purposes and specific details about your business may require additional or more specialized assistance. You are encouraged to consult with an attorney and accountant for legal and tax advice.

