Skip to main content

Information on
Novel Coronavirus

Have general questions about COVID-19?
The NJ Poison Control Center and 211 have partnered with the State to provide information to the public on COVID-19:
Call: 2-1-1 • Call (24/7): 1-800-962-1253
Text: NJCOVID to 898-211
Visit https://covid19.nj.gov/ or nj.gov/health for additional information

Department of State, Division of Elections

2020 New Jersey Voter Information Portal

The Hon. Tahesha Way, Secretary of State
NJ Division of Elections

Voter Registration & Voting for College Students

College students register to vote in New Jersey by following the standard application process: every prospective voter must submit a voter registration application.

To register in New Jersey, you must be:

  • A United States citizen
  • At least 17 years old, though you may not vote until you have reached the age of 18
  • A resident of the county for 30 days before the election
  • You are not serving a sentence of Incarceration as a result of a conviction of an indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States.

You are not eligible to register to vote if:

  • You are serving a sentence of Incarceration as a result of a conviction of an indictable offense under the laws of this or another state or of the United States.

If you are in college, you have the option to register from your college address or your parent's address. There are good reasons for registering and voting at either residence, but keep in mind, the final choice is yours.

The registration deadline to vote is 21 days prior to Election Day

You will receive a sample ballot about 1 week before the election that will indicate where your polling place is or you can use our
polling place locator.

 

 

 

Page Last Updated: 09/15/20

 

 


Back
to top