Contact The NJ State Council
on the Arts
Mailing Address:
NJ State Council on the Arts
P.O. Box 306
Trenton, NJ 08625-0306

Office Address:
33 West State Street, 4th Floor
Trenton, NJ 08608
Directions

Tel: (609) 292-6130
NJ Relay: 711

Email: Feedback@sos.nj.gov
About the Arts Council

WHAT WE BELIEVE
We believe the arts are central to every element we value most in a modern society including: human understanding; cultural and civic pride; strong communities; excellent schools; lifelong learning; creative expression and economic opportunity.

OUR MISSION: GIVEN TO US BY THE PEOPLE OF NEW JERSEY
In 1966, the legislature passed and the governor signed a law creating the NJ State Council on the Arts and directing us to do all that is necessary and appropriate to: support, encourage, and foster public interest in the arts; enlarge public and private resources devoted to the arts; promote freedom of expression in the arts; and facilitate the inclusion of art in every public building in New Jersey.

HOW WE ARE FUNDED
Public support for the arts in New Jersey is drawn from a dedicated, renewable revenue source--the Hotel/Motel Occupancy Fee--established in 2003. Under this law, 22.68% of the fees collected shall be annually allocated to the Arts Council with a minimum annual appropriation of $16 million. Additionally, the Arts Council receives an annual, competitive federal grant from the National Endowment for the Arts.

Read the Council’s Long Range Strategic Plan: 2018-2023

Read the Council’s Grievance Procedure under the Americans with Disabilities Act

Read the Council’s Non-Discrimination Policy

Read the Council’s FY22 Program & Operations Plan

History

The New Jersey State Council on the Arts is a division of the New Jersey Department of State, created in 1966 by Public Law Chapter 214 and consists of 17 members, all appointed by the Governor for terms of three years, and three ex-officio members. Since its creation, the Council’s volunteer members and professional staff have worked to improve the quality of life in New Jersey through strategic support for the arts.

With annual appropriations from the State Legislature as well as annual federal grants from the National Endowment for the Arts (NEA), the Council designs and carries out a dynamic program of financial and technical support services for New Jersey artists and nonprofit organizations. The Council has priority programs in arts education, artists' services, community arts development, folk arts, cultural facilities development, community cultural planning and arts marketing.

The Council works with a broad array of partner organizations in carrying out this work, all of which is governed by strategic plans made in the broader context of Arts Plan New Jersey. Among its programs, the Council administers the Arts Inclusion Act through which works of art are commissioned and installed in new state construction as well as the 1987 Cultural Centers Bond Act through which cultural centers are built and improved.

The Council's programs and services have earned national recognition for excellence, innovation and responsiveness to community needs.

Staff Contact List

Main Number: 609-292-6130

Allison Tratner
Executive Director
609-633-1218
allison.tratner@sos.nj.gov

Michelle Baxter-Schaffer
Director of Communications
609-984-7023
michelle.baxter-schaffer@sos.nj.gov

Christopher Benincasa
Communications Associate
609-292-5263
christopher.benincasa@sos.nj.gov

Danielle Bursk
Director of Community Partnerships & Artist Services
609-633-1184
danielle.bursk@sos.nj.gov

Samantha Clarke
Program Officer
Arts Education & Lifelong Learning, Multidisciplinary
609-984-7019
samantha.clarke@sos.nj.gov

Lindsay Dandeo
Program Officer
Media Arts, Multidisciplinary, Music, Performing Arts Presenters
609-984-7020
lindsay.dandeo@sos.nj.gov

Diane Felcyn
Program Officer
Crafts, Multidisciplinary, Visual Arts
609-633-1244
diane.felcyn@sos.nj.gov

Mary Eileen Fouratt
Program Officer
Access, Community Arts
609-984-6815
maryeileen.fouratt@sos.nj.gov

Jessica Gaines
Program Officer
Dance, Literature, Opera/Musical Theatre, Theatre
609-292-4524
jessica.gaines@sos.nj.gov

Tammy R. Herman
Director of Grants & Strategies
609-292-4435
tammy.herman@sos.nj.gov

Stephanie Nerbak
Program Associate
Artist Services
609-292-4474
stephanie.nerbak@sos.nj.gov

Kim Nguyen
Program Officer
Folk Arts
609-292-4495
kim.nguyen@sos.nj.gov

Ellen Valencia
Creative Aging Project Manager
609-633-1251
ellen.valencia@sos.nj.gov

Irene Wells
Executive Assistant
609-984-7127
irene.wells@sos.nj.gov

Robert Worshinski
Director of Operations & Technical Assistance
609-633-1049
robert.worshinski@sos.nj.gov