

For Immediate Release:

February 9, 2018

For Information Contact: Jennifer Sciortino (609) 633-6565

## State Treasurer Urges NJ Veterans to Apply For New \$3,000 Income Tax Exemption

TRENTON – With tax season fully under way, the New Jersey Department of the Treasury would like to make all New Jersey veterans aware of their potential eligibility for a new \$3,000 income tax exemption now in effect.

"This is a sizable deduction designed to aid the men and women who have served honorably in our armed forces," said Acting State Treasurer Elizabeth Maher Muoio. "We can never fully repay them for their service, but it is our hope that this benefit will make acclimation to civilian life easier, make raising a family more affordable, and enable aging veterans to live more comfortably in retirement. For those looking for more information, our personnel in the Division of Taxation stand ready to help."

Muoio noted that the Department of the Treasury's <u>Division of Taxation</u> has been conducting extensive outreach in concert with the New Jersey <u>Department of Military and Veterans Affairs</u> to make sure veterans are aware of this new benefit. Through outreach to civic organizations and veterans groups, continual presentations by Taxation staff, an informative online video and numerous other avenues, the Division of Taxation has already pre-certified roughly one-third of the state's approximately 400,000 eligible veterans to date.

The exemption, which was signed into law last fall, will apply to all tax years from 2017 onward. The exemption does **not** apply to income earned in 2016 or earlier. Applicants need only apply the first year they claim this exemption.

A veteran's spouse or civil union partner, who is also a veteran, can take an exemption as well. However, a veteran cannot claim this exemption for a domestic partner or dependents.

# Veterans who file paper New Jersey Gross Income Tax returns (NJ1040) or Non-Resident Gross Income Tax returns (NJ1040NR) must:

• Enclose a copy of Form DD-214, Certificate of Release or Discharge from Active Duty, with their tax returns the first time they claim the exemption(s). This form does not need to be submitted each year. The <u>United States National Archives and Records Administration</u> can assist with obtaining DD-214.

• Check the oval on a resident tax return that indicates the veteran is taking the exemption. Click the box on the non-resident return that indicates a veteran is taking an exemption.

Veterans who normally electronically file their New Jersey Gross Income Tax return (NJ1040) or New Jersey Non-Resident Gross Income Tax return (NJ1040NR) should pre-certify for this exemption:

- Pre-certifying (sending necessary documents before filing taxes) will allow returns to go through processing without delays or time lost asking for additional proof of exemption status.
- There are three ways to send materials to the Division of Taxation:

#### Mail

New Jersey Division of Taxation Veteran Exemption PO Box 440 Trenton, NJ 08646-0440

### Secure upload

https://www.njportal.com/DOR/TCM/ POB 440 Code: VET

#### Fax

609 633-8427

The Treasurer also highlighted a new law enacted last month that benefits disabled veterans. The law authorizes any veteran of military service in any branch of the U.S. armed forces who became 100 percent disabled as the result of that military service to receive a 100 percent property tax exemption, without a requirement that the disability be connected to service in a theater of war or in a foreign country, onboard any ship or naval vessel, or in any foreign airspace. Previously, veterans were required to have served in combat in order to be eligible for this exemption.

Additionally, war veterans may be eligible for a \$250 property tax exemption on their principal residence if they have been:

- Honorably discharged from active wartime service in the U.S. Armed Forces;
- U.S. Veterans Administration-certified as having service-connected total or 100% permanent disability; and they are
- The full or partial owner of a home which they occupy as their principal residence; and
- A resident of New Jersey.

This exemption requires a veteran to have served during a specific wartime period. For military service after 1975, a veteran is required to have served at least 14 days in a <u>combat zone</u>. A surviving spouse/civil union or domestic partner may be eligible so long as he or she is not remarried, is a New Jersey resident, and is the owner and occupant of the home.

The application form and instructions can be accessed <u>here</u> and individuals can obtain more information by contacting their local tax assessor's office.

Over 400,000 veterans and their dependents reside in New Jersey and may be eligible for many benefits including:

- Housing;
- Financial assistance;
- Employment;
- Education;
- Transportation assistance; and
- Mental health aid.

The State of New Jersey's Department of Veteran's Affairs has created a <u>Benefits Guide</u> to assist in obtaining information regarding federal and State benefits.

###