The Official Web Site For The State of New Jersey - Department of Treasury
Global Navigation
FAQs Departments/ Agencies Services A to Z NJ Home Page

2015 Homestead Benefit
Income Requirements

To receive a 2015 Homestead Benefit, your 2015 New Jersey Gross Income cannot be more than the amounts below, and you must meet all of the other eligibility requirements.

  • $150,000 for homeowners 65 or older or blind or disabled on December 31, 2015; and
  • $75,000 for homeowners under 65 and not blind or disabled on December 31, 2015.

These income amounts apply to a single individual, a married/civil union couple living in the same residence, and married/civil union partners maintaining separate residences. Do not include nontaxable income such as Social Security, Railroad Retirement benefits, or unemployment compensation when calculating your income.

The amount appropriated in the State Budget for Property Tax relief programs affected Homestead Benefits for 2015. Only homeowners who meet the eligibility requirements, including the income requirements, can receive Homestead Benefits for 2015. You can file an application regardless of your income, but if it exceeds the amounts above, we will deny your application.

View information on:  Eligibility  |  How to File  |  Payment Information  |  FAQ

Last Updated: Wednesday, 09/13/17


Taxation: Home | Site Index | Site Help | Legislature | Judiciary | Revenue | IRS | Other Tax Links | Glossary
Treasury: Home | ServicesPeopleBusinesses | Divisions/AgenciesForms
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996-
This site is maintained by the Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services.

Reports Accessibility Statement Legal Statement Privacy Notice Contact Us Open Public Records Act Proposed Rules and Amendments Comment or Petition for new Rule Division/Ageny Statutes and Rules Electronic Notification