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Introduction 
New Jersey’s Cannabis Regulatory, Enforcement Assistance, and Marketplace Modernization (CREAMM) Act 
(2021) allows for the legal sale and use of recreational cannabis and cannabis products for anyone 21 years 
and older. New Jersey’s Compassionate Use Medical Marijuana Act (2010) allows for the legal sale and use 
of medical cannabis products for resident patients 18 years and older. If the patient is a minor, a custodial 
parent, guardian, or person who has custody of the minor may make purchases on behalf of the minor patient. 
The Jake Honig Compassionate Use Medical Cannabis Act (2019) expanded access to medical cannabis for 
patients.  

This guide provides cannabis businesses with Sales & Use Tax and Social Equity Excise Fee guidance, which 
is accurate as of the date issued. Subsequent changes in tax law or its interpretation may affect the accuracy 
of this publication. 

Registration 
Cannabis companies, including people/entities employing workers in New Jersey, must first register with 
the New Jersey Division of Revenue and Enterprise Services (DORES) 15 business days before conducting 
business in this state. For more information on starting and registering your business, see Starting a Business 
in NJ. 

  

https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/documents/CREAMM%20Act.PDF
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/cannabis/index.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/revenue/gettingregistered.shtml
https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/documents/pdf/guides/Starting-a-Business-in-New-Jersey.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/documents/pdf/guides/Starting-a-Business-in-New-Jersey.pdf
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Licensing Information 
Once your business registers in New Jersey, you must apply for a license with the New Jersey Cannabis 
Regulatory Commission (CRC) by selecting the business type below:  

• Medical cannabis businesses: apply for a license; or 

• Recreational cannabis businesses: apply for a license. 

There are fees associated with applying for a license, which can be found online.  

Social Equity Excise Fee (SEEF) 
A cannabis cultivator (Class 1 licensee) must charge a Social Equity Excise Fee (SEEF) on the sale, or transfer, 
of recreational cannabis to other cannabis establishments, except to other Class 1 license holders. The SEEF 
is not imposed on retail consumers.  

You must report and remit the SEEF on Form SF-100 every month. The return must be filed with the Division 
on the 20th day of each month following the close of the reporting period during the tax year. To remit the 
SEEF, log in to the NJ Recreational Cannabis - Social Equity Excise Fee (SEEF) Online Filing and Payments 
system. Once logged in, you may file Form SF-100, amend a previously filed form, or pay off a balance due.  

The SEEF is imposed at the rate of 1/3 of 1% of the statewide average retail price of an ounce of usable 
cannabis for consumer purchase, as determined by the CRC. For the period from January 1, 2024, through 
December 31, 2024, the SEEF is $1.24 per ounce. Beginning January 1, 2025, the SEEF is $2.50 per ounce. 
The Commission can change the average retail price that determines the SEEF once a year. To see the SEEF 
for past years, and for the most up to date information, visit our Social Equity Excise Fee (SEEF) webpage. 

The SEEF is not assessed if a cannabis cultivator either transfers product to another Class 1 cannabis cultivator 
licensee, or to a licensed medical cannabis alternative treatment center, for use in medical cannabis 
dispensing.  

Sales & Use Tax: Retail Sales 
Recreational Cannabis. Retail sales of recreational cannabis and cannabis products are also subject to Sales 
and Use Tax, which must be reported and remitted to the Division of Taxation by filing Form ST-50C on a 
quarterly basis. You can find the current Sales Tax rate here. 

Medical Cannabis. As of July 1, 2022, retail sales of medical cannabis are no longer subject to Sales and Use 
Tax. The taxability of medical cannabis was phased out under P.L. 2019, c. 153. The phase out began July 1, 
2020, under the following schedule:  

• 4% Sales Tax on sales made between July 1, 2020, and June 30, 2021; 

• 2% tax on sales made between July 1, 2021, and June 30, 2022; and 

• 0% tax on sales made on and after July 1, 2022. 

https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/businesses/medicinal/
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/businesses/index.shtml
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/documents/rules/CRC%20Fee%20Schedule.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/businesses/index.shtml
https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/cannabis/recreational/seef.shtml
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/businesses/index.shtml
https://www1.state.nj.us/TYTR_BusinessFilings/jsp/common/Login.jsp?taxcode=02
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/
https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/cannabis/recreational/seef.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb68.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/medicinalcannabis/
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/adult-personal/index.shtml
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/sales-use-filing.shtml
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/businesses/salestax/index.shtml
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Local Cannabis Transfer Tax 
The Division of Taxation is not involved with or responsible for any locally imposed transfer taxes. Any 
questions about local taxes should be directed to the municipality in which the cannabis establishment is 
located. 

A municipality in New Jersey may charge a Local Cannabis Transfer Tax of up to 2% on sales of recreational 
cannabis, or cannabis items by a cannabis establishment in that municipality. In addition, a municipality may 
charge a User Tax. (The municipal User Tax differs from State Use Tax (N.J.S.A. 54:32B-1 et seq.) Refer to the 
Cannabis Regulatory Commission’s FAQ, or consult with the local municipality for further information). 

Sales & Use Tax Exempt Purchases 
Purchases for Resale. Licensed cannabis establishments may purchase tangible personal property either for 
resale in its present form or for incorporation into other property held for sale if they provide the seller with 
a fully completed Resale Certificate (Form ST-3). The cannabis establishment issues Form ST-3 to the seller, 
which exempts the establishment from Sales Tax on the purchase. The cannabis establishment would then 
collect Sales Tax on the items when sold at retail. 

Purchases of Production Equipment. A licensed cannabis establishment may issue a fully completed 
Exempt Use Certificate (Form ST-4) to suppliers to purchase machinery, apparatus, or equipment used directly 
and primarily in the production of cannabis without paying Sales Tax. The exemption also includes parts with 
a useful life of greater than one year.  

The exemption does not apply to supplies or tools that are simple, hand-held, manually operated instruments 
used in connection with the machinery, apparatus, or equipment. 

Purchases of Wrapping Supplies. A licensed cannabis establishment may purchase materials used to 
contain, protect, wrap, and deliver cannabis to customers without paying Sales Tax if it provides a fully 
completed Exempt Use Certificate (Form ST-4) to the seller. The exemption applies to wrapping paper, 
wrapping twine, bags, cartons, tape, rope, labels, nonreturnable containers, and all other wrapping supplies 
when such use is incidental to the delivery of recreational cannabis.  

Farming Enterprises Purchasing Tangible Personal Property and Services. A “farming enterprise” is a 
facility used to raise agricultural or horticultural commodities for sale. A qualifying, licensed cannabis 
establishment that issues a fully completed Farmer’s Exemption Certificate (Form ST-7) to its supplier will not 
have to pay Sales Tax on purchases of farm equipment or production services used for tilling, planting, 
maintaining, or harvesting recreational cannabis. Purchases of property such as seeds, plants, liners, fertilizer, 
lime, pesticides, and drip irrigation also are exempt when used directly at the farming enterprise for the 
purpose of producing and selling recreational cannabis. (See Farming and New Jersey Sales and Use Tax for 
more information.)  

Nonprofit Organization 501(c)(3). A cannabis business cannot qualify as a 501(c)(3) nonprofit 
organization based on current State and federal laws and regulations. As such, it cannot receive a Form ST-5 
Exempt Organization Certificate from the Division. A business that does not hold a Form ST-5 is treated as a 
for-profit business for the purposes of paying Sales Tax or remitting Use Tax on purchases. 

https://www.nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/sales/anj7.pdf
https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/resources/faqs/municipalities/
http://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st3.pdf
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st4.pdf
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st4.pdf
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/other_forms/sales/st7.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/agriculture/pdf/farmingsalesandusetaxguide.pdf
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Economic Incentives. Under State law, a person or entity issued a license to participate in or employ anyone for 
cannabis-related activities and services are not eligible for a State or local economic incentive.   The following 
are not considered a state or local financial incentive: 

• Funding made available by the Department of Labor for on-the-job training; or 
• Financial incentives awarded by a New Jersey Economic Development Authority program for the purpose 

of providing financial or technical assistance to a licensed cannabis business. 

Urban Enterprise Zones. Cannabis businesses can participate and benefit from a UEZ, however all cannabis 
products are still taxed at the full rate. Cannabis businesses participating in a UEZ are eligible to make sales of 
non-cannabis products (accessories, etc.) at the reduced UEZ rate, and make exempt purchases using the UZ-5 
and UZ-4. UEZ businesses file a monthly UZ-50c instead of an ST-50c.  

 

Prohibited Operations 
Farmland for Agriculture or Horticulture Use. A licensed cannabis cultivator may not operate – or be 
located – on land that is valued, assessed, or taxed for agricultural or horticultural use ("Farmland Assessment 
Act of 1964," P.L.1964, c.48 (N.J.S.A. 54:4-23.1 et seq.)). 

Law Changes 
Intoxicating Hemp Products. On September 12, 2024, Governor Murphy signed P.L. 2024, c. 73 regulating 
the production and sale of certain intoxicating hemp products. The new law immediately made it unlawful to 
sell intoxicating hemp products to a person who is under 21 years of age. 

Effective October 12, 2024, the law imposes Sales Tax, and the local transfer tax if imposed by the municipality, 
on retail sales of intoxicating hemp beverages. 

Additional Resources 
• The Cannabis Regulatory Commission helps facilitate industry compliance. Its website includes 

information on how to apply for a license, applicable fees, where to file, and other frequently asked 
questions. 

• The Recreational Cannabis and Licensed Cannabis Establishments bulletin includes more specific tax 
information and definitions related to the industry. 

• The Medical Marijuana Alternative Treatment Centers bulletin includes additional tax information for 
medical cannabis businesses.  

Connect With Us 
• Email your State tax questions;  

• Visit a Regional Information Center;  

• Call (609) 292-6400; 

https://www.nj.gov/cannabis/
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb104.pdf
https://nj.gov/treasury/taxation/pdf/pubs/tb/tb68.pdf
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/assets/contact/taxation/contact-taxation.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/contact.shtml
https://www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/organization/ts-customer.shtml
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• Follow us on:   
 

  

 

This document is designed to provide guidance to taxpayers and is accurate as of the date issued. 

 

https://www.facebook.com/njtaxation/
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCtN4NzI6i32MmP8Z2pdlD4Q
https://twitter.com/nj_taxation
https://www.instagram.com/nj_taxation/
https://www.linkedin.com/company/njtaxation/
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