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How to Apply for the 
Homestead Rebate
How you apply for the homestead rebate 
is determined by whether you were a 
homeowner or a tenant on October 1, 
2008. Homeowners and tenants file dif-
ferent applications.

Tenants. The application for the tenant 
rebate, Form TR-1040, is contained in 
this booklet. Those who rented and occu-
pied a home in New Jersey that was their 
principal residence on October 1, 2008, 
and who meet the other requirements be-
low are eligible. 

Homeowners. Applications for the 
homeowner rebate are expected to be 
mailed at the end of April, and home- 
owners will apply either online or by 
phone. Homeowners do not use the ap-
plication in this booklet. Residents who 
owned, occupied, and paid property taxes 
on a home in New Jersey that was their 
principal residence on October 1, 2008, 

and who meet certain income limits are 
eligible. Rebate amounts and qualifica-
tions for eligibility are subject to restric-
tions due to State budgetary constraints.

The State Budget for fiscal year 2009 
imposed restrictions on rebate eligibility 
and amounts. Under those limitations, for 
tax year 2007 (rebates paid in 2008) only 
homeowners whose New Jersey gross 
income was $150,000 or less and who 
met the other qualifications were eligible. 
For tax year 2008 (rebates to be paid in 
2009), those restrictions may or may not 
apply. Information on 2008 rebate eligi-
bility and amounts will not be available 
until the State Budget for fiscal year 
2010 has been adopted. 

Note:  If you were a homeowner for part 
of the year, but your principal residence on 
October 1, 2008, was a dwelling that you 
rented, you are not eligible for a homeowner 
rebate but may be eligible for a homestead 
rebate as a tenant. See below.

Tenant Eligibility
To be eligible for a New Jersey home-
stead rebate as a tenant:

♦	 You must have rented and occupied 
a home in New Jersey that was your 
principal residence on October 1, 
2008; and

♦	 Your gross income for the entire year 
must have been $100,000 or less (see 
Note under Line 11, Total Gross In-
come, on page 49); and

♦	 Your principal residence must be sub-
ject to local property taxes, and prop-
erty taxes must have been paid on that 
residence through rent; and

♦	 Your dwelling unit must contain its 
own separate kitchen and bath facili-
ties; and

♦	 If you are filing Form NJ-1040, you 
must file the tenant homestead rebate 
application (Form TR-1040) and the 
NJ‑1040 by April 15, 2009, or if you 

Use Schedule C to report all other net 
gains or income less net losses from rents, 
royalties, patents, and copyrights. 

New Jersey income tax law has uncoupled 
from certain changes in Federal deprecia-
tion and expense deduction limits. A New 
Jersey depreciation adjustment may be 
required for assets placed in service on 
or after January 1, 2004. Complete the 
Gross Income Tax Depreciation Adjust-
ment Worksheet GIT‑DEP to calculate the 
adjustment. 

The New Jersey allowable IRC Section 
199 deduction must be calculated on Form 
501-GIT, Domestic Production Activities 
Deduction. The result should be taken into 
consideration in calculating the net gain, 
income, or loss resulting from the rental 
of applicable property. Form 501-GIT can 
be found on the Division’s Web site  
(www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/).

The Gross Income Tax Act does not 
distinguish between active and passive 
losses, nor does it authorize carryback or 
carryforward of such losses. Thus, you 
may deduct Federal passive losses in 
full in the year incurred against any gain 
within the same category of income.

If the spaces provided are not sufficient, 
enclose a statement with the return listing 
any additional property and income along 
with Schedule C.

Line 1 - List of Property and 
Income
List at Line 1, Schedule C the kind of 
property and the net income or loss from 
each property. For rentals, in listing the 
income or loss for each rental property as 
determined on your Federal Schedule E, 
the New Jersey adjustments from the 
Gross Income Tax Depreciation Adjust-
ment Worksheet GIT-DEP, Part 1, lines 4 
and 5 must be taken into consideration. 

Be sure to retain the completed work
sheet for your records. See page 63 for 
how to request Worksheet GIT-DEP and 
instructions.

In listing New Jersey income or loss, the 
New Jersey allowable IRC Section 199 
deduction must be taken into consider-
ation, if applicable. Information regarding 
the New Jersey limitations and calcula-
tions can be found on the Division’s Web 
site (www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/).

Line 2 - Totals
Add the amounts in each column and en-
ter the totals on Line 2.

Line 3 - Net Income
Add the amounts listed on Line 2 in col
umns b, c, d, and e. Enter the total on 
Line 3, netting gains with losses. Enter 
this amount on Line 22, Form NJ-1040. 
If the netted amount is a loss, enter zero 
here and make no entry on Line 22, Form 
NJ‑1040. 
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are filing the NJ-1040 under an exten
sion, by the extended due date. If you 
are filing only Form TR-1040, see 
“Rebate Only Filers” below.

Rebate Only Filers. A tenant who is 
not required to file a New Jersey income 
tax return (because of income below the 
minimum filing threshold) and meets 
the qualifications for a tenant homestead 
rebate may file only Form TR-1040 to 
claim a rebate. It is not necessary to 
file the NJ-1040 along with the tenant 
rebate application. These residents have 
until November 2, 2009, to file Form 
TR‑1040.

Part-Year Residents. A part-year resi
dent who rented a principal residence on 
October 1, 2008, and meets all the eligi-
bility requirements qualifies for a tenant 
rebate. Part-year residents must enter 
their full-year income from all sources on 
Line 9 of Form TR-1040.

Married/CU Partner, 
Filing Separate Return.  
If your filing status is mar-

ried/CU partner, filing separate return and 
you maintain the same principal residence 
as your spouse/civil union partner, you 
must combine your gross income with 
your spouse’s/civil union partner’s gross 
income when applying for the rebate. 
Neither you nor your spouse/civil union 
partner can receive more than one-half of 
the rebate that you would receive if you 
filed a joint return. Both you and your 
spouse/civil union partner must file Form 
TR-1040 to be eligible to receive up to 
one-half of the rebate.

Principal Residence. A principal resi
dence means a homestead, actually and 
continually occupied as your permanent 
residence. No rebate will be granted for a 
vacation home or a “second home.” 

Mobile Homes. If you own or rent a mo-
bile home which is located in a mobile 
home park, you are considered a tenant 
for purposes of applying for the rebate. 
For more information on mobile homes, 
contact the Division’s Customer Service 
Center.

Condominiums and Co-ops. If you 
rent a condominium unit or a unit in a 
cooperative housing complex, you are 
considered a tenant for purposes of ap-
plying for the rebate. If you are a resident 
shareholder of a cooperative housing 
complex or you own a condominium and 
you pay property taxes on your unit, you 
are considered a homeowner for purposes 
of applying for the rebate. 

Continuing Care Communities. If you 
are a resident of a continuing care retire-
ment community and your continuing 
care contract requires you to bear the 
proportionate share of property taxes at-
tributable to your unit, you are considered 
a homeowner for purposes of applying for 
the rebate.

Homeowners should not 
file the rebate application 
in this booklet. Applica-

tions for the homeowner rebate are ex-
pected to be mailed at the end of April. 
For more information on whether you are 
considered a homeowner or a tenant, con-
tact the Division’s Customer Service 
Center.

Rebate Amount
The Division of Taxation will calculate 
the amount of your rebate based on the 
information you provide. The amount 
of your rebate is determined by your in-
come, filing status, and whether you were 
age 65 or older or eligible to claim an ex-
emption as blind or disabled for tax year 
2008. Rebate amounts and qualifications 
for eligibility are subject to restrictions 
due to State budgetary constraints. 

The State Budget for fiscal year 2009 
imposed restrictions on homestead rebate 
eligibility and amounts. Under those limi-
tations, for tax year 2007 (rebates paid 
in 2008), eligible tenants who were age 
65 or older or disabled received rebates 
ranging from a minimum of $160 up to 
a maximum of $860, and eligible tenants 
under age 65 and not disabled received 
rebates of $80. For tax year 2008 (rebates 
to be paid in 2009), those restrictions may 
or may not apply. Information on 2008 

rebate eligibility and amounts will not 
be available until the State Budget for 
fiscal year 2010 has been adopted.

Seniors or Blind/Disabled Persons. If 
you (or your spouse/civil union partner 
if filing a joint return) were 65 years of 
age or older or blind or disabled on the 
last day of the tax year, and your gross 
income on Line 28 is $20,000 or less 
($10,000 if filing status is single or mar-
ried/CU partner, filing separate return), 
and you are eligible for a property tax 
credit in the amount of $50, ($25 if fil-
ing status is married/CU partner, filing 
separate return and you maintain the same 
residence as your spouse/civil union part-
ner) this credit will automatically be sent 
to you with your rebate. If you are filing 
Form NJ‑1040, do not complete Line 36c 
to claim a property tax deduction or 
Line 48 to claim a property tax credit.

Identification Section
Name and Address
Rebate Only Filers. If you are filing only 
the tenant homestead rebate application, 
place the peel-off label from the front of 
this booklet in the name and address sec
tion at the top of the application. Do not 
use the label if any of the information 
is incorrect. If your label contains inac-
curate information or you do not have a 
label, print or type your name (last name 
first), complete address, and zip code in 
the spaces provided. Also include your 
spouse’s/civil union partner’s name if fil-
ing jointly.

Income Tax With Rebate Filers. If you 
are filing Form TR-1040 with your Form 
NJ-1040, it is necessary to complete only 
the name and social security number por
tion of the identification section of Form 
TR-1040.

If your address has changed, complete 
the address portion of the identification 
section.

Social Security Number
Your social security number(s) is not 
printed on your name and address label. 
You must enter your social security 
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number(s) in the space provided on the 
application, one digit in each box. If your 
filing status is married/CU couple, filing 
joint return, remember to report both fil-
ers’ numbers in the order in which the 
names are listed on the application.

If you (or your spouse/civil union partner) 
do not have a social security number, see 
“Social Security Number” on page 16 for 
more information.

County/Municipality Code
Enter your four-digit county/municipal-
ity code, one digit in each box, from the 
table on page 51. This code identifies the 
county and municipality of your current 
residence. The county and municipality 
codes in these instructions are for Divi-
sion of Taxation purposes only.

If the local name of the place where you 
live is not listed, go to www.state.nj.us/
infobank/locality.htm for a listing of lo-
cal names in the State and the county and 
municipality in which they are located.

Filing Status (Lines 1 - 5)
You must use the same filing status on 
your tenant rebate application as you do 
for your New Jersey Resident Income Tax 
Return (Form NJ‑1040). If you do not file 
Form NJ-1040, use the same filing status 
as you would have used if you had filed 
the tax return. Indicate the appropriate fil-
ing status. Fill in only one oval.

Single. Your filing status is single if you 
are unmarried or not a partner in a civil 
union on the last day of the tax year and 
you do not qualify for head of household 
or qualifying widow(er)/surviving CU 
partner status. Partners in a civil union 
may not use the filing status single.

Head of Household. Your filing status 
is head of household if you are unmar-
ried or not a partner in a civil union on 
the last day of the year and pay more 
than one-half of the cost of keeping up 
a home for yourself and at least one de-
pendent. Certain married individuals/civil 
union partners living apart may file as 
head of household for New Jersey if they 
meet the requirements to file as head of 

household for Federal purposes. You may 
also qualify to file as head of household if 
you are no longer eligible to file as quali-
fying widow(er)/surviving CU partner 
and you have not remarried or entered 
into a new civil union.

Qualifying Widow(er)/Surviving CU 
Partner. If your spouse/civil union part-
ner died during the year, you are con-
sidered married/in a civil union for that 
entire year and you may file a joint return 
for yourself and your deceased spouse/
civil union partner provided you did not 
remarry or enter into a new civil union 
before the end of the year. You may be 
eligible to use the filing status qualify-
ing widow(er)/surviving CU partner for 
each of the two tax years after the year 
in which your spouse/civil union partner 
died if you pay more than one-half of the 
cost of keeping up a home for yourself 
and at least one child, stepchild, adopted 
child, or foster child who qualifies as your 
dependent.

Married/Civil Union Couples. You may 
use the filing status “Married/CU couple, 
filing joint return” or “Married/CU part-
ner, filing separate return” only if you 
were married or a partner in a civil union 
on the last day of the tax year. If you were 
a member of a domestic partnership reg-
istered in New Jersey, you are not consid-
ered a married/civil union couple and you 
may not use these filing statuses.

For more information on filing status, 
request Tax Topic Bulletin GIT-4, Filing 
Status.

NJ Residency Status (Line 6)
If you were a New Jersey resident for 
only part of the taxable year, list the 
month, day, and year your residency be
gan and the month, day, and year it ended. 
All months should be listed as two-digit 
numbers with the digits 01 for January, 
02 for February, 03 for March, etc. Place 
the correct number for the beginning and 
ending months directly in the boxes con
taining the letter “M,” one digit in each 
box. 

The days of the months should be listed 
as two-digit numbers beginning with the 

digits 01 for the first day of the month 
and ending with the digits 31 for the last 
day of the month. Place the correct num
ber for the beginning and ending dates 
directly in the boxes containing the letter 
“D,” one digit in each box.

For calendar year filers the year should 
be entered as 08 and the numbers placed 
directly in the boxes containing the letter 
“Y,” one digit in each box. Fiscal year 
filers should enter the appropriate year in 
the “Y” boxes.

Tenant on October 1, 2008 
(Line 7)
If you rented and occupied an apartment 
or other rental dwelling in New Jersey as 
your principal residence on October 1, 
2008, fill in “Yes” and continue complet-
ing the application. If you answer “No” 
here, you are not eligible for a 2008 
homestead rebate as a tenant. Do not 
file Form TR-1040.

Note: 	If you owned and occupied a home 
in New Jersey that was your principal 
residence on October 1, 2008, you may be 
eligible for a homestead rebate as a home
owner. Applications are expected to be 
mailed to homeowners at the end of April.

Age 65 or Older, Blind, or 
Disabled (Line 8)
If you (or your spouse/civil union partner 
if filing a joint return) were 65 years of 
age or older or blind or disabled on the 
last day of the tax year, fill in only one 
oval at Line 8 as follows:

♦	 If you (or your spouse/civil union part-
ner) were 65 or older, fill in the oval to 
the left of “Age 65 or older.” 

♦	 If you (or your spouse/civil union part-
ner) were 65 or older and you (or your 
spouse/civil union partner) were also 
blind or disabled, fill in the oval to the 
left of “Age 65 or older.” 

♦	 If you (and your spouse/civil union 
partner) were under 65, and you (or 
your spouse/civil union partner) were 
blind or disabled, fill in the oval to the 
left of “Blind or disabled.”

Identification Section - continued
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income for the entire year did not exceed 
the minimum filing threshold, you don’t 
need to provide your income. Enter “0” 
on Line 9 of your tenant rebate applica-
tion. Also enter “0” if you filed a return 
and the amount of your gross income on 
Line 28 did not exceed the minimum fil-
ing threshold.

Line 10 - Spouse’s/CU 
Partner’s Gross Income
If the filing status on your 2008 New 
Jersey income tax return is married/CU 
partner, filing separate return, and you 
and your spouse/civil union partner main-
tain the same principal residence, fill in 
the oval and enter on Line 10 the amount 
of income reported on Line 28 of your 
spouse’s/civil union partner’s New Jersey 
income tax return, Form NJ-1040. If your 
spouse/civil union partner did not com-
plete Form NJ‑1040, enter on Line 10 the 
same income as your spouse/civil union 
partner would have reported on Line 28 
if a tax return had been filed. Enter “0” if 
your spouse’s/civil union partner’s gross 
income did not exceed the minimum fil-
ing threshold. Part-year residents must 
enter their spouse’s/civil union part-
ner’s income from all sources for the 
entire year.

Line 11 - Total Gross Income
Add Lines 9 and 10 and enter the result 
on Line 11.

Note: 	If the amount on Line 11 is more 
than $100,000, you are not eligible for 
a 2008 tenant homestead rebate. Do not 
complete Form TR-1040.

Line 12 - Address
Enter on Line 12 the street address (in-
cluding apartment number) and muni
cipality of the rental property in New 
Jersey that was your principal residence 
on October 1, 2008. Do not use a PO 
Box address. Complete this line even if 
the physical location of the residence for 
which you are applying for the rebate is 
the same as your mailing address.

Note: 	If you owned the home that was 
your principal residence in New Jersey on 
October 1, 2008, do not complete Form 
TR‑1040 to apply for the homestead rebate. 
Applications are expected to be mailed to 
homeowners separately at the end of April.

Line 13 - Rent 
Enter on Line 13 the total amount of rent 
you (and your spouse/civil union partner) 
paid during the year on the residence indi-
cated at Line 12. Rent is the amount paid 

Tax-Exempt, Subsidized, and Campus Housing
One of the qualifications for the New Jersey homestead rebate is that property taxes 
be paid on the applicant’s principal residence, either directly or through rent. Thus, 
tenants living in dwellings which are not subject to local property taxes are not eligible 
for the rebate. This includes:
♦	 Tenants living in dwellings owned by the State, County, Municipal, or Federal 

Government; 
♦	 Students living in on-campus apartments at State colleges and universities;
♦	Tenants living in dwellings owned by a religious, charitable, or other nonprofit 

organization (including on-campus apartments at private, nonprofit colleges and 
universities), if the property is exempt from property taxes; and 

♦	 Tenants living in dwellings on which P.I.L.O.T. (Payments-in-Lieu-of-Tax) pay-
ments are made to the municipality. These payments are not considered property 
taxes for purposes of the homestead rebate.

Do not complete the tenant homestead rebate application (Form TR-1040) if 
the dwelling you rent is not subject to local property taxes; you do not qualify 
for a rebate. If you are not sure whether the dwelling you rent is subject to 
local property taxes, contact your municipal tax assessor for information. The 
Division of Taxation audits returns to ensure that only qualified applicants 
receive rebates.

Identification Section - continued

♦	 If you (and your spouse/civil union 
partner) do not meet the age or disabil-
ity qualifications, fill in the oval to the 
left of “Not 65 or blind or disabled.” 

Fill in the “Age 65 or older” oval, or the 
“Blind or disabled” oval only if you or 
your spouse/civil union partner meet 
the qualifications; they do not apply to 
your dependents or domestic partner. 

Proof of Age. The first time you (or your 
spouse/civil union partner) file a tenant 
rebate application and indicate that you 
(or your spouse/civil union partner) are 
65 years of age or older you must enclose 
proof of age such as a copy of a birth 
certificate, driver’s license, or church 
records. 

Proof of Disability. Disabled means total 
and permanent inability to engage in any 
substantial gainful activity because of any 
physical or mental impairment, includ-
ing blindness. The first time you (or your 
spouse/civil union partner) file a tenant 
rebate application and indicate that you 
(or your spouse/civil union partner) are 
blind or disabled you must enclose a copy 
of the doctor’s certificate or other medi-
cal records evidencing legal blindness 
or total and permanent disability. This 
information need not be submitted each 
year providing there is no change in your 
condition. 

Application Section
Line 9 - Gross Income
Enter on Line 9 the amount of income 
reported on Line 28 of your 2008 New 
Jersey income tax return, Form NJ-1040. 
If you did not complete Form NJ‑1040, 
enter on Line 9 the same income as you 
would have reported on Line 28 if you 
had filed the tax return. Part-year resi
dents must enter their income from all 
sources for the entire year.

Note: 	Social Security and Railroad Retire-
ment benefits are exempt from New Jersey 
income tax and should not be reported as 
income on Line 9.

Rebate Only Filers. If you were not re-
quired to file a return because your gross 
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Application Section - continued

to your landlord for the right to occupy 
your residence, not including any security 
deposit, or charges for late rent payments. 
Report only the actual amount you paid 
out of pocket. Do not include any amount 
paid under the Federal Housing Choice 
Voucher (Section 8) Program.

Spouses/civil union partners filing sepa-
rate returns who maintain the same prin-
cipal residence must each enter on their 
rebate application the total amount of rent 
they paid on the rental property indicated 
at Line 12. Each spouse/civil union part-
ner is then eligible to receive one-half the 
calculated rebate.

If you had more than one New Jersey res-
idence during the year, enter on Line 13 
only the total rent you (and your spouse/
civil union partner) paid on the rental 
property you occupied on October 1, 
2008.

Note: 	If you are not sure whether the 
dwelling you rent is subject to local prop-
erty taxes, contact your municipal tax as-
sessor for information.

Line 14 - Number of Days in 
the Residence
Enter on Line 14 the number of days 
during 2008 that you (and your spouse/
civil union partner) occupied the rental 
property indicated at Line 12. If you lived 
there for all of 2008, enter 366.

Line 15 - Multiple Tenants
Fill in “Yes” at Line 15 only if you lived 
with someone (other than your spouse/

civil union partner) and shared the rent 
with them for the rental property indi-
cated at Line 12. (For example, you and 
your daughter lived together and shared 
the rent for the apartment where you lived 
October 1, 2008.) If you answer “Yes,” 
you must complete Lines 15a through 
15c. If you (and your spouse/civil union 
partner) were the sole tenant(s), fill in 
“No.”

Lines 15a - 15c
Do not complete Lines 15a through 15c 
unless you answered “Yes” at Line 15. 

Line 15a - Number of Tenants
Enter on Line 15a the number of tenants, 
including yourself, who shared the rent 
during the period indicated at Line 14. 
For this purpose you and your spouse/
civil union partner are considered one 
tenant. 

Line 15b - Tenants’ Names 
and Social Security Numbers
Enter the name(s) and social security 
number(s) of all other tenants who shared 
the rent (other than your spouse/civil 
union partner). If the spaces provided are 
not sufficient, list the required informa-
tion for each additional tenant on a sepa-
rate sheet of paper and enclose it with 
your tenant rebate application.

Line 15c - Total Rent
Enter on Line 15c the total amount of rent 
paid by all tenants (including yourself) 
for the period indicated at Line 14.

Signatures
Rebate Only Filers. Sign and date your 
tenant rebate application in ink. Both hus-
band and wife/civil union partners must 
sign a joint application. The signature(s) 
on the form you file must be original; 
photocopied signatures are not accept-
able. An application without the proper 
signatures cannot be processed and will 
be returned to you. This may result in a 
delay in payment of your rebate.

For information about authorizing the Di-
vision of Taxation to discuss your return 
and enclosures with your paid preparer, 
see “Preparer Authorization” on page 15.

Where to Send Your 
Application
Rebate Only Filers. If you are filing only 
the tenant homestead rebate application, 
use the large return envelope to file Form 
TR-1040. Use the return address label 
located on the envelope flap of the large 
envelope addressed to:

State of New  Jersey

Division of Taxation

Revenue Processing Center

PO Box 197
Trenton NJ  08646-0197

Income Tax With Rebate Filers. If you 
are filing both Form NJ-1040 and Form 
TR-1040, mail your tenant homestead 
rebate application in the same envelope 
together with your income tax return. See 
“Where to Send Your Return” on page 13.


