TR-1040-X
2009

Please Print or Type
W You must enter your social security number below W

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

AMENDED

HOMESTEAD REBATE APPLICATION
(FOR TENANTS ONLY)

Your Social Security Number

Last Name, First Name and Initial (Joint filers enter first name and initial of each - Enter spouse/CU partner last name ONLY if different)

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Social Security Number

Home Address (Number and Street, including apartment number or rural route)

County/Municipality Code

City, Town, Post Office State Zip Code

Reason for filing Form TR-1040-X (Check only one box)

To amend original tenant homestead rebate application (Form TR-1040). Complete Lines 1-16. (Do not use this form to file a 2009 tenant

homestead rebate application for the first time.)

To withdraw tenant homestead rebate application (Form TR-1040) that was filed in error. Provide explanation at Line 17.

Single

Married/CU Couple, filing joint return
Married/CU Partner, filing separate return
Head of household

Qualifying widow(er)/Surviving CU Partner

FILING STATUS
abhwN -~

NJ RESIDENCY STATUS

6. If you were a New Jersey resident for From
ONLY part of the taxable year, give the Month Day vear
period of New Jersey residency: To
Month Day Year

10.

1.

12.

13.

14.

15.

15a.

15b.

€= Yes See instructions.

Check only one box. See instructions.

. Enter the GROSS INCOME you reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040
orseeinstructions .......... ... . ... ..

If your filing status is MARRIED/CU PARTNER, FILING SEPARATE RETURN and you
and your spouse/CU partner MAINTAIN THE SAME PRINCIPAL RESIDENCE, enter
the gross income reported on your spouse’s/CU partner’s return

. On October 1, 2009, | rented and occupied an apartment or other rental dwelling in New Jersey as my principal residence.

. On December 31, 2009, | (and/or my spouse/CU partner) was a. D(—Age 65 or older b. D(—Blind or disabled c. EI(—Not 65 or blind or disabled

(Line 28, Form NJ-1040) and check this box
TOTAL GROSS INCOME (Add Line 9 and Line 10) ...

........................ 11

> 10

STOP - IF LINE 11 IS MORE THAN $100,000, YOU ARE NOT ELIGIBLE FOR A TENANT REBATE.

Enter the address of the rental property in New Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1, 2009.

Street Address (including apartment number)

Municipality

Enter the total rent you (and your spouse/CU partner) paid during 2009 for the rental
........................ 13

property indicated atLine 12. . .............. ... ...

Enter the number of days during 2009 that you (and your spouse/CU partner) occupied the rental

property indicated at Line 12. (If you lived there for all of 2009, enter 365) ........... ... ... .. ....... 14 days

Did anyone, other than your spouse/CU partner, occupy and share rent with you for the rental property indicated at Line 127
D &= Yes (If yes, you must complete Lines 15 a, b, and c) D(— No

Enter the total number of tenants (including yourself) who shared the rent during the period

indicated at Line 14. (For this purpose, husband and wife/CU couple are considered one tenant). . ........ 15a tenants

Enter the name(s) and social security number(s) of all other tenants (other than your spouse/CU partner) who shared the rent.

Name

SS# / /

Name

SS# / /

Name

SS# / /

. Enter the total rent paid by all tenants during the period indicated at Line 14. ........ 15¢

SIGN HERE

»

Under the penalties of perjury, | declare that | have examined this rebate application, including accompanying documents, and to the
best of my knowledge and belief, it is true, correct, and complete and that | occupied the rental property for which | am applying for
the tenant homestead rebate as my principal residence on October 1, 2009. If prepared by a person other than taxpayer, this decla-
ration is based on all information of which the preparer has any knowledge.

Mail application to:

Your Signature

»

Date
NJ Division of Taxation

Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Signature (if filing jointly, BOTH must sign) Date PO Box 253

Paid Preparer’s Signature

‘ Federal Identification Number Trenton, NJ 08695-0253

[T T T T T T 11

Firm’s Name

Federal Emflorer |dentification Number




TR-1040-X (2009) Page 2
Last Name, First Name and Initial

Your Social Security Number

16. Explanation of changes to information originally reported. Include the line number of each item you are changing.

17. Reason for withdrawing tenant homestead rebate application.

| am withdrawing my 2009 tenant homestead rebate application because:

D On October 1, 2009, my principal residence was not an apartment or other rental property that | rented and occupied.
D The principal residence that | rented and occupied on October 1, 2009, did not contain its own kitchen and bathroom facilities.
D The principal residence that | rented and occupied on October 1, 2009, was not subject to local property taxes.

D Other. Explain.

By completing this section you certify to the New Jersey Division of Taxation that you erroneously applied for a 2009 tenant home-
stead rebate and wish to withdraw your application, and that you understand that you are not eligible for a 2009 tenant homestead
rebate. If you filed a joint application, both spouses/CU partners must sign Form TR-1040-X.

WHEN TO USE FORM TR-1040-X

File this form:
@ If you were a tenant on October 1, 2009, and you need to amend any of the information reported on your
original 2009 tenant homestead rebate application (TR-1040).
or
® To withdraw a 2009 tenant homestead rebate application (TR-1040) that you filed in error.

It is not necessary to file Form TR-1040-X if you are filing an amended gross income tax return (Form NJ-1040X) and
the changes you are making to your original return affect your tenant homestead rebate. The Division of Taxation will
make any necessary changes to your TR-1040 and adjust the amount of your rebate.

You cannot file this form to:
@ File an original 2009 tenant homestead rebate application.

or
® Amend a 2009 homeowner rebate application.

HOW TO USE FORM TR-1040-X
The information on this form should be the correct information on which your tenant homestead rebate claim is being
based. If you are amending a tenant homestead rebate application, explain the changes to the information on your
original Form TR-1040 at Line 16, Form TR-1040-X. If you are withdrawing a tenant homestead rebate application

that you filed in error, indicate the reason at Line 17, Form TR-1040-X.



I New Jersey

2009 Form TR-1040-X

Amended
Tenant Homestead Rebate Application
& Instructions

DO NOT USE THIS FORM —

Unless you have already filed a 2009 Tenant Homestead Rebate Application
and need to amend the information originally reported.




Use of Form TR-1040-X

You must use Form TR-1040-X to change any of the
information reported on your original tenant homestead
rebate application (Form TR-1040 or application that was
filed electronically using NJ WebFile or approved vendor
software), or to provide information that was missing
from the original application. Fill out Form TR-1040-X
completely, even if certain items are not being amended.

If you are not eligible for a 2009 tenant homestead rebate
(see “Qualifications” below), but you filed a tenant rebate
application in error, you can use Form TR-1040-X to
withdraw your application. Complete only Line 17 to in-
dicate the reason for withdrawing the application.

You cannot use Form TR-1040-X to:
¢ File an original 2009 tenant homestead rebate
application.

¢ Amend a 2009 homeowner rebate application.

NotEe: It is not necessary to file Form TR-1040-X
if you are filing an amended gross income
tax return (NJ-1040X) and the changes you
are making to your original return affect
your tenant homestead rebate. The Divi-
sion of Taxation will make any necessary
changes to your TR-1040 and adjust the
amount of your rebate.

Enclosures With Form TR-1040-X

You must enclose proof of age or disability if you (or your
spouse/civil union partner) were 65 years of age or older
or blind or disabled on the last day of the 2009 tax year,
but you did not indicate that fact on your original applica-
tion. See page 3 for acceptable forms of proof.

Signatures

You must sign and date your amended tenant homestead
rebate application (Form TR-1040-X) in blue or black ink.
Both husband and wife/civil union partners must sign a
joint amended application. An unsigned application can-
not be processed.

Qualifications
To be eligible for a New Jersey homestead rebate as a
tenant:
¢ You must have rented and occupied a home in
New Jersey that was your principal residence on
October 1, 2009; and

* Your gross income for the entire year must have been
$100,000 or less; and
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* Your principal residence must be subject to local
property taxes, and property taxes must have been
paid on that residence through rent; and

¢ Your dwelling unit must contain its own separate
kitchen and bath facilities; and

¢ You must file a timely tenant homestead rebate
application:

— Ifyou are filing Form NJ-1040, you must file
Form TR-1040 and Form NJ-1040 by
April 15, 2010.

— Ifyou use NJ WebFile or approved vendor
software, you must complete the tenant rebate
application portion of the return and file by
April 15, 2010.

— If you requested an extension of time to file
your income tax return, you must file your
return and tenant rebate application by the
extended due date.

— Ifyou are filing only Form TR-1040, see
“Rebate Only Filers” below.

Rebate amounts and qualifications for eligibility are sub-
ject to restrictions due to State budgetary constraints. The
State Budget limited eligibility for tax year 2008 (rebates
paid in 2009) to tenants 65 years of age or older or blind
or disabled. For tax year 2009 (rebates to be paid in 2010)
those restrictions may or may not apply. Information on
2009 rebate eligibility and amounts will not be avail-
able until July 2010.

Rebate Only Filers. A tenant who is not required to file

a New Jersey income tax return because of income below
the minimum filing threshold of $20,000 ($10,000 if fil-
ing status is single or married/CU partner, filing separate
return), and who meets the qualifications for a tenant
homestead rebate, may file only Form TR-1040 to claim
a rebate. It is not necessary to file the NJ-1040 along
with the tenant rebate application. These residents have
until November 1, 2010, to file Form TR-1040.

Part-Year Residents. A part-year resident who rented a
principal residence on October 1, 2009, and meets all the
eligibility requirements qualifies for a tenant rebate. Part-
year residents must enter their full-year income from all
sources on Line 9 of Form TR-1040.

If your filing status is married/CU partner, filing

separate return and you maintain the same principal
residence as your spouse/civil union partner, you must
combine your gross income with your spouse’s/civil union
partner’s gross income when applying for the rebate.

A\/ Married/CU Partner, Filing Separate Return.



Neither you nor your spouse/civil union partner can re-
ceive more than one-half of the rebate that you would re-
ceive if you filed a joint return. Both you and your spouse/
civil union partner must file Form TR-1040 to be eligible
to receive up to one-half of the rebate.

Principal Residence. A principal residence means a
homestead, actually and continually occupied as your
permanent residence. No rebate will be granted for a va-
cation home or a “second home.”

Mobile Homes. If you own or rent a mobile home which
is located in a mobile home park, you are considered a
tenant for purposes of applying for the rebate. For more
information on mobile homes, contact the Division’s Cus-
tomer Service Center.

Condominiums and Co-ops. If you rent a condominium
unit or a unit in a cooperative housing complex, you are
considered a fenant for purposes of applying for the re-
bate. If you are a resident shareholder of a cooperative
housing complex or you own a condominium and you pay
property taxes on your unit, you are considered a home-
owner for purposes of applying for the rebate. If you were
a homeowner on October 1, 2009, and you filed a 2009
tenant homestead rebate application in error, you must file
Form TR-1040-X to withdraw your original application.

Continuing Care Retirement Communities. If you are

a resident of a continuing care retirement community and
your continuing care contract requires you to pay the pro-
portionate share of property taxes attributable to your unit,
you are considered a homeowner for purposes of applying
for the rebate. If you were a homeowner on October 1,
2009, and you filed a 2009 tenant homestead rebate ap-
plication in error, you must file Form TR-1040-X to with-
draw your original application.

Identification Section

Name and Address

Print or type your name (last name first), complete address,
and zip code in the spaces provided. Also include your
spouse’s/civil union partner’s name if filing jointly.

Social Security Number

Enter your social security number(s) in the space pro-
vided. If your filing status is married/CU couple, filing
joint return, remember to report both filers’ numbers in
the order in which the names are listed on the application.
If you (or your spouse/civil union partner) do not have a
social security number, see the resident income tax return
instruction booklet.
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Tax-Exempt, Subsidized, and Campus Housing

One of the qualifications for the New Jersey home-
stead rebate is that property taxes be paid on the ap-
plicant’s principal residence, either directly or through
rent. Thus, tenants living in dwellings which are not
subject to local property taxes are not eligible for the
rebate. This includes:

¢ Tenants living in dwellings owned by the State,
County, Municipal, or Federal Government;

¢ Students living in on-campus apartments at State
colleges and universities;

¢ Tenants living in dwellings owned by a religious,
charitable, or other nonprofit organization (including
on-campus apartments at private, nonprofit colleges
and universities), if the property is exempt from
property taxes; and

¢ Tenants living in dwellings on which P.I.L.O.T.
(Payments-in-Lieu-of-Tax) payments are made to
the municipality. These payments are not considered
property taxes for purposes of the homestead rebate.

If the dwelling you rent is not subject to local prop-
erty taxes, you do not qualify for a rebate. File Form
TR-1040-X to withdraw your original tenant home-
stead rebate application. If you are not sure whether
the dwelling you rent is subject to local property
taxes, contact your building manager or the mu-
nicipal tax assessor for information. The Division of
Taxation audits returns to ensure that only qualified
applicants receive rebates.

County/Municipality Code

Enter the four-digit county/municipality code which
identifies the county and municipality of your current
residence. See the table in the Form NJ-1040 instruction
booklet for the list of county/municipality codes.

Reason for Filing Form TR-1040-X

Indicate whether you are amending or withdrawing your
original tenant homestead rebate application. Check only
one box. If you are amending your original application, fill
out Form TR-1040-X completely. If you are withdrawing
your application, skip Lines 1-16 and complete Line 17.

Filing Status (Lines 1-5)

Indicate the appropriate filing status. Check only one box.
You cannot change your filing status after the due date
has passed unless you have done so for Federal income
tax purposes. For more information on filing status, see
the resident income tax return instruction booklet.




NJ Residency Status (Line 6)

If you were a New Jersey resident for only part of the
taxable year, list the month, day, and year your residency
began and the month, day, and year it ended.

Tenant on October 1, 2009 (Line 7)

If you rented and occupied an apartment or other rental
dwelling in New Jersey as your principal residence on
October 1, 2009, you must check “Yes” to confirm that
you are eligible for the 2009 tenant homestead rebate. If
you did not rent your principal residence on October 1,
2009, you are not eligible for a 2009 homestead rebate as
a tenant. File Form TR-1040-X to withdraw your original
tenant rebate application. See “Reason for Filing Form
TR-1040-X” on page 2.

Age 65 or Older, Blind, or Disabled
(Line 8)

If you (or your spouse/civil union partner if filing a joint
return) were 65 years of age or older or blind or disabled
on the last day of the 2009 tax year, check only one box
at Line 8 as follows:

¢ If you (or your spouse/civil union partner) were 65 or
older, check the box to the left of “Age 65 or older.”

¢ Ifyou (or your spouse/civil union partner) were 65
or older and you (or your spouse/civil union partner)
were also blind or disabled, check the box to the left
of “Age 65 or older.”

¢ Ifyou (and your spouse/civil union partner) were un-
der 65, and you (or your spouse/civil union partner)
were blind or disabled, check the box to the left of
“Blind or disabled.”

¢ Ifyou (and your spouse/civil union partner) do not
meet the age or disability qualifications, check the box
to the left of “Not 65 or blind or disabled.”

Check the “Age 65 or older” box or the “Blind or dis-
abled” box only if you or your spouse/civil union part-
ner meet the qualifications; they do not apply to your
dependents or domestic partner.

Proof of Age. If you are amending your tenant rebate ap-
plication to indicate that you (or your spouse/civil union
partner) are 65 years of age or older, you must enclose
proof of age such as a copy of a birth certificate, driver s
license, or church records. 1f you submitted proof of age
with your original application, you do not need to resub-
mit this information with Form TR-1040-X.

Proof of Disability. Disabled means total and permanent
inability to engage in any substantial gainful activity

2009 Form TR-1040-X

because of any physical or mental impairment, including
blindness. If you are amending your tenant rebate applica-
tion to indicate that you (or your spouse/civil union part-
ner) are blind or disabled, you must enclose a copy of the
doctor s certificate or other medical records evidencing
legal blindness or total and permanent disability. If you
submitted proof of disability with your original application,
you do not need to resubmit this information with Form
TR-1040-X. This information need not be submitted each
year providing there is no change in your condition.

Application Section

Line 9 - Gross Income

Enter on Line 9 the amount of income reported on your
2009 New Jersey income tax return (Line 28, Form
NJ-1040). If you did not complete a New Jersey income
tax return, enter on Line 9 the same income you would
have reported on Line 28, Form NJ-1040, if you had filed
the tax return. Part-year residents must enter their in-
come from all sources for the entire year.

NotEe: Social Security and Railroad Retirement
benefits are exempt from New Jersey income
tax and should not be reported as income on
Line 9.

Rebate Only Filers. If you were not required to file a re-
turn because your gross income for the entire year did not
exceed the minimum filing threshold, enter “0” on Line 9.
Also enter “0” if you filed a return and the amount of your
gross income on Line 28 did not exceed the minimum fil-
ing threshold.

Line 10 - Spouse’s/CU Partner’s Gross

Income

If the filing status on your 2009 New Jersey income tax
return is married/CU partner, filing separate return, and
you and your spouse/civil union partner maintain the same
principal residence, check the box and enter on Line 10 the
amount of income reported on Line 28 of your spouse’s/
civil union partner’s New Jersey income tax return,

Form NJ-1040. If your spouse/civil union partner did

not complete Form NJ-1040, enter on Line 10 the same
income as your spouse/civil union partner would have re-
ported on Line 28 if a tax return had been filed. Enter “0”
if your spouse’s/civil union partner’s gross income did not
exceed the minimum filing threshold. Part-year residents
must enter their spouse’s/civil union partner’s income
from all sources for the entire year.



Line 11 - Total Gross Income
Add Lines 9 and 10 and enter the result on Line 11.

If the amount on Line 11 is more than
$100,000, you are not eligible for a 2009
tenant homestead rebate. Do not complete
Form TR-1040-X.

NOTE:

Line 12 - Address

Enter on Line 12 the street address (including apartment
number) and municipality of the rental property in New
Jersey that was your principal residence on October 1,
2009. Do not use a PO Box address. Complete this line
even if the physical location of the residence for which you
are applying for the rebate is the same as your mailing ad-
dress. If you owned the home that was your principal resi-
dence on October 1, 2009, you are not eligible for a tenant
homestead rebate.

Line 13 - Rent

Enter on Line 13 the total amount of rent you (and your
spouse/civil union partner) paid during the year on the resi-
dence indicated at Line 12. Rent is the amount paid to your
landlord for the right to occupy your residence, not includ-
ing any security deposit, or charges for late rent payments.
Report only the actual amount you paid out of pocket. Do
not include any amount paid under the Federal Housing
Choice Voucher (Section 8) Program.

Spouses/civil union partners filing separate returns who
maintain the same principal residence must each enter on
their rebate application the total amount of rent they paid
on the rental property indicated at Line 12. Each spouse/
civil union partner is then eligible to receive one-half the
calculated rebate.

If you had more than one New Jersey residence during the
year, enter on Line 13 only the total rent you (and your
spouse/civil union partner) paid on the rental property you
occupied on October 1, 2009.

NotEe: If you are not sure whether the dwelling
you rent is subject to local property taxes,
contact your building manager or the

municipal tax assessor for information.

Line 14 - Number of Days in Residence
Enter on Line 14 the number of days during 2009 that you
(and your spouse/civil union partner) occupied the rental
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property indicated at Line 12. If you lived there for all of
2009, enter 365.

Line 15 - Multiple Tenants

Check “Yes” at Line 15 only if you lived with someone
(other than your spouse/civil union partner) and shared the
rent with them for the rental property indicated at Line 12. If
you answer “Yes,” you must complete Lines 15a through
15c¢. If you (and your spouse/civil union partner) were the
sole tenant(s), check “No.”

Lines 15a - 15¢

Do not complete Lines 15a through 15¢ unless you an-
swered “Yes” at Line 15.

Line 15a - Number of Tenants

Enter on Line 15a the number of tenants, including your-
self, who shared the rent during the period indicated at
Line 14. For this purpose you and your spouse/civil union
partner are considered one tenant.

Line 15b - Tenants’ Names and Social

Security Numbers

Enter the name(s) and social security numbers(s) of all
other tenants who shared the rent (other than your spouse/
civil union partner). If the spaces provided are not suf-
ficient, list the required information for each additional
tenant on a separate sheet of paper and enclose it with your
application.

Line 15¢c - Total Rent

Enter on Line 15c¢ the total amount of rent paid by all ten-
ants (including yourself) for the period indicated at
Line 14.

Line 16 - Explanation of Changes

In the space provided, explain the reason for changes to
any of the information that was reported on your original
tenant homestead rebate application. Include the line num-
ber reference for each item you are amending. If additional
space is needed, enclose a statement that includes your
name(s) and social security number(s).

Line 17 - Reason for Withdrawal

If you filed a 2009 homestead rebate application in error,
check the appropriate box to indicate the reason you are
withdrawing your application. If you check the “Other”
box, include an explanation in the space provided. If ad-
ditional space is needed, enclose a statement that includes
your name(s) and social security number(s).



STATE OF NEW JERSEY
DEPARTMENT OF THE TREASURY
DIVISION OF TAXATION
PO BOX 269
TRENTON NJ 08695-0269

When You Need Information...

by phone...
Call our Automated Tax Information System
1-800-323-4400 — (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD)
or 609-826-4400 Touch-tone phones only.

¢ Listen to recorded tax information on many topics.

¢ Order forms and publications through our message
system.

+ Get information on 2009 refunds.

Call our Automated Homestead Rebate Inquiry
System
1-877-658-2972 — (within NJ, NY, PA, DE, and MD)

or 609-826-4288. Touch-tone phones only. Get informa-

tion on 2009 homestead rebates 7 days a week. Avail-
able seasonally August through April.

Contact our Customer Service Center

609-292-6400 — Speak directly to a Division of Taxa-
tion representative for tax information and assistance,
8:30 a.m. to 4:30 p.m., Monday through Friday (except
holidays).

Text Telephone Service (TTY/TDD) for
Hard-of-Hearing Users

1-800-286-6613 — (toll-free within NJ, NY, PA, DE,
and MD) or 609-984-7300. These numbers are acces-
sible only from TTY devices.

¢ Submit a text message on any tax matter.

* Receive a reply through NJ Relay Services (711).

online...

Visit the New Jersey Division of Taxation Home Page
Many State tax forms and publications are available on
our Web site. Access the Division’s home page at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/

You may also reach us by e-mail at:
nj.taxation@treas.state.nj.us

Subscribe to NJ Tax E-News, the Division of Taxation’s
online information service, at:
www.state.nj.us/treasury/taxation/listservice.shtml

disabled on the last day of the tax year.

Items to Check Before Mailing Your
Amended Tenant Homestead Rebate Application

\ Check for correct name, address, and social security number(s). Your amended application
(Form TR-1040-X) cannot be processed without a social security number.

v Enclose proof of age or disability if you are amending your application to indicate for the first
time that you (or your spouse/civil union partner if filing a joint return) were 65 or older or

\ Sign and date your application. Both spouses/civil union partners must sign a joint application.
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