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Use of  Form NJ-1040-H
If you were either a homeowner or a ten-
ant and you met the eligibility require-
ments for a Property Tax Credit (see 
page 30), you qualify for a credit of $50 
($25 if you and your spouse fi le separate 
returns but maintained the same principal 
residence).

Spouse/Civil Union Partner. Any refer-
ence in these instructions to a spouse also 
refers to a spouse who entered into a valid 
same-sex marriage in another state or for-
eign nation and a partner in a civil union 
(CU) recognized under New Jersey law. 

USE Form NJ-1040-H to apply for the 
credit only if you:

♦ Were 65 or older or blind or disabled 
on the last day of the tax year; and

♦ Have not fi led and will not fi le a 2017 
New Jersey resident Income Tax return 
(Form NJ-1040); and

♦ Had New Jersey gross income for 
2017 of $20,000 or less ($10,000 or 
less if fi ling status is single or married/
CU partner, fi ling separate return); and

♦ Did not own your principal residence 
in New Jersey on October 1, 2017.

DO NOT USE Form NJ-1040-H if you:

♦ Have fi led or will fi le a 2017 Form 
NJ-1040; or 

♦ Owned your principal residence in 
New Jersey on October 1, 2017; or

♦ Were under age 65 and not blind or 
disabled on the last day of the 2017 
Tax Year; or 

♦ Had New Jersey gross income for 
2017 of more than $20,000 (more 
than $10,000 if fi ling status is single 
or married/CU partner, fi ling separate 
return).

Homeowner on October 1, 2017. 
Form NJ-1040-H is not a Homestead 
Benefi t application. If you were a home-
owner on October 1, 2017, and met the 
eligibility requirements, your Property 
Tax Credit will automatically be in-
cluded with your Homestead Benefi t, as 
long as you fi le the Homestead Benefi t 
application.

When to File
Residents have until April 17, 2018, to 
fi le Form NJ-1040-H for 2017.

Identifi cation Section
Name and Address
Place the peel-off label from the front of 
this booklet in the name and address sec-
tion at the top of the application. Do not 
use the label if any of the information is 
incorrect. If your label contains incorrect 
information or you do not have a label, 
print or type your name (last name fi rst), 
complete address, and ZIP code in the 
spaces provided. If you are fi ling jointly, 
include your spouse’s name.

Fill in the “Change of Ad-
dress” oval if your address 
has changed since you last 
fi led a New Jersey return 

or if any of the address information on 
your label is incorrect.

Social Security Number
To protect your privacy, your Social Se-
curity number(s) is not printed on your 
name and address label. You must enter 
your Social Security number(s) in the 
boxes pro vided on the application, one 
digit in each box. If you are fi ling jointly, 
enter both fi lers’ numbers in the same or-
der as the names.

If you (or your spouse) do not have a 
 Social Security number, see “Social 
Security Number” on page 15 for more 
 information.

County/Municipality Code
Enter the four-digit county/municipality 
code of your current residence from the 
table on page 50. Enter one digit in each 
box. This code is for Division of Taxation 
purposes only.

If the table does not include the local name 
of the place where you live, go to www.
state.nj.us/nj/gov/county/localities.html to 
get the name of your municipality.

Filing Status (Lines 1–5)
You must use the same fi ling status on 
your Property Tax Credit application as 
you would have used if you had fi led a 
New Jersey Income Tax return. Indicate 
the appropriate fi ling status. Fill in only 
one oval. For more information, see “Fil-
ing Status” on page 15.

NJ Residency Status (Line 6)
If you were a New Jersey resident for 
only part of the tax year, list the month, 
day, and year your residency be gan and 
the month, day, and year it ended. Enter 
the months as two-digit numbers (01 
for January, 02 for February, etc.) in the 
boxes con taining the letter “M.” Enter 
one digit in each box. 

Enter the days of the months as two-digit 
numbers (01, 02, etc.) in the boxes con-
taining the letter “D.” Enter one digit in 
each box.

Calendar year fi lers, enter the number 17 
for the year directly in the boxes contain-
ing the letter “Y.” Enter one digit in each 
box. Fiscal year fi lers should enter the ap-
propriate year in the “Y” boxes.

Application Section
Age 65 or Older or Blind or 
Disabled (Lines 7a and 7b)
Line 7a — Age 65 or Older. Indicate 
whether you were 65 or older on the last 
day of the 2017 Tax Year. Fill in the ap-
propriate oval to the right of “Yourself.” 
If you are fi ling a joint application, fi ll 
in the appropriate oval to the right of 
“Spouse/CU partner.”
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Proof of Age. You must enclose proof of 
age such as a copy of a birth certificate, 
driver’s license, or church records the 
first time you indicate that you (or your 
spouse) are 65 or older. 

Line 7b — Blind or Disabled. Indicate 
whether you were blind or disabled on 
the last day of the 2017 Tax Year. Fill in 
the appropriate oval to the right of “Your-
self.” If you are filing a joint application, 
fill in the appropriate oval to the right of 
“Spouse/CU partner.”

Proof of Disability. Disabled means total 
and permanent inability to engage in any 
substantial gainful activity because of any 
physical or mental impairment, including 
blindness. You must enclose a copy of 
the doctor’s certificate or other medical 
records evidencing legal blindness or to-
tal and permanent disability the first time 
you indicate that you (or your spouse) 
are blind or disabled. This information 
does not need to be submitted each year 
as long as there is no change in your 
condition. 

Fill in the “Yes” ovals only if you or 
your spouse met the qualifications; they 
do not apply to your dependents or do-
mestic partner. 

If you answer “No” to the questions at 
Line 7a and Line 7b for both yourself 
and your spouse/CU partner, do not file 
Form NJ-1040-H.  

Homeowner on October 1, 
2017 (Line 8)
If you owned and occupied a home in 
New Jersey that was your principal resi-
dence on October 1, 2017, and Property 
Taxes were paid on that home, fill in the 
“Yes” oval. 

If you answer “Yes” here, do not file 
Form NJ-1040-H. If you are eligible 
and file for a 2017 Homestead Benefit, 
your Property Tax Credit will automati-
cally be included with your Homestead 
Benefit. Information about the 2017 
Homestead Benefit will be posted on the 
Division’s website (www.njtaxation.org) 
as it becomes available. Or you can call 
1-888-238-1233. 

Homeowner or Tenant During 
2017 (Line 9)
Indicate whether at any time during 2017 
you either owned or rented a home in 
New Jersey that you occupied as your 
principal residence on which Property 
Taxes or rent were paid. Fill in only one 
oval to indicate whether during 2017 
you were a homeowner, a tenant, both 
a homeowner and a tenant, or neither a 
homeowner nor a tenant. You may be 
asked to provide proof of Property Taxes 
or rent paid on your principal residence at 
a later time. 

If you answer “Neither” here, do not 
file Form NJ-1040-H.

Line 10: Gross Income
Enter the same income as you would have 
reported on Line 28 of your 2017 tax re-
turn (Form NJ-1040) if you had filed the 
return. Part-year residents must enter 
their income from all sources for the 
entire year.

Note: 	Social Security and Railroad Re-
tirement benefits are exempt from New 
Jersey Income Tax. Do not report these 
amounts on Line 10.

Do not complete Form NJ-1040-H if 
the amount on Line 10 is more than 
your filing threshold amount (see chart 
on page 6). You must file a New Jersey 
Income Tax return and claim either a 
Property Tax Deduction or a Property Tax 
Credit on Form NJ-1040.

Signatures
Sign and date your Property Tax Credit 
application in blue or black ink. Both 
spouses must sign a joint application. The 
signature(s) on the form you file must be 
original; photocopied signatures are not 
acceptable. We cannot process an appli-
cation without the proper signatures and 
will return it to you. This may delay the 
payment of your Property Tax Credit.

If you are filing for a deceased taxpayer 
and you want the Division to issue the 
check to the decedent’s surviving spouse 
or estate: 
�� Fill in the oval below the signature 

line; and 
�� Enclose a copy of the decedent’s death 

certificate.

For information about authorizing the Di-
vision of Taxation to discuss your return 
and enclosures with your paid preparer, 
see “Preparer Authorization” on page 14.

Where to Mail Your 
Application
Use the envelope in your booklet to mail 
Form NJ-1040-H and related enclosures. 
Send only one application per envelope. 
Use the return address label from the flap 
of the envelope addressed to:

	 State of New Jersey
	 Division of Taxation 
	R evenue Processing Center – Refunds
	 PO Box 555
	T renton NJ 08647-0555


