HIGHER EDUCATION

SUBCHAPTER 2.  UNDERGRADUATE EOF ACADEMIC AND

FINANCIAL ELIGIBILITY

9A:11-2.3 Financial eligibility for initial Article III student grants

(a) The EOF Income Eligibility Scale is based on 200 percent of the
annual Federal poverty guideline (that is, doubled) as published annually
in the Federal Register. This benchmark was established to reflect an
eligible target population consistent with the intent of the original
legislation. The EOF Executive Director shall inform institutions of
annual adjustments to the EOF Income Eligibility Scale each summer, and
the gross income limits set forth in this subsection shall be updated
through a notice of administrative change published in the New Jersey
Register.

1. Except as provided at (d), (e), (g), (h), and (i) below, dependent and
independent students are financially eligible for an initial Article III
student grant if their gross household income does not exceed the
applicable amounts set forth in the EOF Income Eligibility Scale, as
follows:

Academic Year [2025-2026] 2026-2027

Applicants with a Gross Income

Household [size] Size of Not to Exceed
1 $[30,120] 31,300

[94,680] 97,300
[105,440] 108,300

2 [40,880] 42,300
3 [51,640] 53,300
4 [62,400] 64,300
5 [73,160] 75,300
6 [83,920] 86,300
7 ]

8 ]

2. For each additional member of the household, an allowance of
[$10,760] $11,000 shall be added to this amount in order to determine
EOF eligibility for the [2025-2026] 2026-2027 academic year.

3. (No change.)

(b)-(k) (No change.)
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Business Certification for Lesbian, Gay, Bisexual,
Transgender, Queer, Questioning+ (LGBTQ+)
Businesses

Adopted Amendments: N.J.A.C. 17:47-1.1, 1.2, 1.3,
1.4,1.5,1.8,1.9,1.10, and 1.12

Proposed: May 5, 2025, at 57 N.J.R. 904(a).

Adopted: August 4, 2025, by Elizabeth Maher Muoio, State
Treasurer.

Filed: August 4, 2025, as R.2025 d.103, without change.

Authority: P.L. 2024, c. 10; and N.J.S.A. 10:5-36.g and o.

Effective Date: September 2, 2025.

Expiration Date: March 6, 2030.

Summary of Public Comment and Agency Response:
The official comment period ended July 4, 2025. No comments were
received.

Federal Standards Statement
There are no Federal standards or requirements applicable to the
adopted amendments. As a result, an explanation or analysis of the

(CITE 57 N.J.R. 1982)
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adopted amendments pursuant to Executive Order No. 27 (1994) is not
required.

Full text of the adoption follows:

SUBCHAPTER 1.

17:47-1.1 Application and scope

(a) This subchapter is promulgated by the Department of the Treasury
to establish the procedures for the certification program set forth and
directed pursuant to P.L. 2024, c. 10. The law calls for the establishment
of a procedure for the certification of LGBTQ+ businesses.

(b) Applications and questions regarding certification of LGBTQ+
businesses should be addressed to the New Jersey Department of the
Treasury, at the contact address listed on its website at www.nj.gov/njbgs.

(c) P.L. 2024, c. 10 applies to every LGBTQ+ business that wishes to
participate in the certification program.

17:47-1.2 Definitions
The following words and terms, as used in this chapter, shall have the
following meanings, unless the context clearly indicates otherwise:

CERTIFICATION

“Director” means the head of the division or office in the Department
of the Treasury designated by the State Treasurer to administer the
certification program.

“Division” means the division or office in the Department of the
Treasury, that has been allocated the authority by the State Treasurer to
certify businesses pursuant to this chapter.

“Electronic database” means the database in which the Department
maintains a public listing of small businesses, veteran-owned businesses,
disabled veteran-owned businesses, minority-owned, women-owned
businesses, and LGBTQ+ businesses.

“LGBTQ+ business” means a business, which is:

1. (No change.)

2. A partnership or joint venture, whose management and daily
business operations are controlled by one or more individuals who
identify as LGBTQ+ and the management and daily business operations
of which are controlled by one or more of the individuals who identify as
LGBTQ+; or

3. A corporation or other entity, whose management and daily business
operations are controlled by one or more individuals who identify as
LGBTQ+, which is at least 51 percent owned by one or more individuals
who identify as LGBTQ+ or, if stock is issued, at least 51 percent of the
stock is owned by one or more individuals who identify as LGBTQ+.

“Managerial and operational control” mean authority over the affairs
of a business, including, but not limited to, capital investment, property
acquisition, employee hiring, contract negotiations, legal matters, officer
and director selection, operating responsibility, financial transactions, and
the rights of other shareholders or joint partners. Control shall not include
absentee ownership. Control shall be deemed not to exist where an owner
does not identify as LGBTQ+. Additionally, control shall not be deemed
to exist where someone, other than someone who identifies as LGBTQ+,
is disproportionately responsible for the daily operation of a business, or
for policy and contractual decisions.

17:47-1.3  Standards of certification for LGBTQ+ businesses

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) In order to be eligible to be certified, an LGBTQ+ business must be
independently owned, operated, and controlled and can demonstrate the
ability to be considered a “going concern,” as the business has sufficient
resources needed to continue operating indefinitely by normal industry
standards. A business shall meet the following standards to be certified as
an LGBTQ+ business:

1.-3. (No change.)

4. Registration. A business shall be registered with the division to do
business in New Jersey.

17:47-1.4  Certification procedures for LGBTQ+ businesses
(a) (No change.)

NEW JERSEY REGISTER, TUESDAY, SEPTEMBER 2, 2025


https://www.nj.gov/njbgs

ADOPTIONS

(b) Following a provisional/initial certification year, pursuant to (a)
above, a business shall reapply for certification no later than 20 days prior
to the expiration of the business’s current certification, and not earlier than
60 days prior to the expiration of such certification.

1. (No change.)

2. As part of its recertification application to the division, a business
shall provide all required information and documents requested in the
recertification, which may include, but not be limited to, the following, in
addition to the information required at (a)3 above:

i. Location of its business;

ii.-xi. (No change.)

xii. A complete listing of previously attained certifications and a listing
of all legal entities that denied certification; including, but not limited to,
certification as a small business, veteran-owned business, disabled
veteran-owned business, minority-owned business, or women-owned
business; and

xiii. Copies of office/warehouse, lease/rental agreements, and/or
deeds, and mortgages.

3. (No change.)

4. Upon approval of an application, a certificate issued pursuant to this
subsection shall be valid for five years, subject to an annual Certification
Verification Statement.

i. (No change.)

5. (No change.)

6. Annually, the business must submit, not more than 20 days prior to
the anniversary of the certification, an annual Certification Verification
Statement, in which it shall attest that there is no change in the ownership,
control, or any other factor of the business affecting eligibility for
certification as an LGBTQ+ business.

i. If the business fails to submit the annual Certification Verification
Statement by the anniversary date, the certification will lapse and the
business will be removed from the electronic database. The business may
appeal this revocation, pursuant to the procedures at N.J.A.C. 17:47-
1.8(d).

ii. If the business submits the annual Certification Verification
Statement by the anniversary date, but either the Certification Verification
Statement or other information received by the division indicates that the
business is no longer eligible for certification as an LGBTQ+ business,
the division shall revoke the certification pursuant to this section and,
following revocation, the business shall be removed from the electronic
database. The business may appeal this revocation, pursuant to the
procedures at N.J.A.C. 17:47-1.8(d).

(c) Grounds for denial shall be as follows:

1. (No change.)

2.If the applicant knowingly supplies incorrect, incomplete, or
inaccurate information, the applicant shall be disqualified pursuant to
these procedures and barred from reapplying for certification for a period
of 18 months from the date of notice of disqualification.

17:47-1.5  Acceptance as an LGBTQ+ business

(a) When a business is determined by the division to be an LGBTQ+
business, the business will be added to the State’s electronic database.
Each business shall be placed on the database denoting its status as an
LGBTQ+ business.

(b) When a business is placed on the electronic database, that business
shall be eligible for any appropriate State programs and initiatives for
LGBTQ+ businesses.

(c) When a business is placed on the electronic database, it shall be
informed by the division of its certification status. The division shall also
issue an individual certification number exclusive to the business, as part
of the certification procedure.

17:47-1.8 Denial of initial certification and revocation of certification
for reasons other than a challenge

(a) (No change.)

(b) The appeal procedures for denials or revocations are at (d) below.
The appeal procedures related to a determination that an applicant or
certificate-holder has knowingly supplied incorrect or false information
(see (a)4 above) are set forth at N.J.A.C. 17:47-1.10.

(¢)-(g) (No change.)
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(h) An applicant who receives a decision from the division that the
denial or revocation has been reaffirmed may reapply for certification one
year after the original date of denial or revocation.

17:47-1.9  Procedure for challenges to a business certified as an
LGBTQ+ business
(a) A third party may challenge the qualifications of an applicant, or a
certified entity, pursuant to this chapter for eligibility to be certified as an
LGBTQ+ business and be included in the electronic database.
(b)-(d) (No change.)

17:47-1.10 Obligations to provide information; penalties for failure to
provide complete and accurate information; hearing
procedures

(a)-(b) (No change.)

(c) The failure of a business to report any such changed circumstances,
or the intentional falsification, shall disqualify the business for inclusion
on the electronic database.

(d) When the division determines that a business has been certified as
an LGBTQ+ business on the basis of false information knowingly
supplied, the division shall notify the business that it has been removed
from the electronic database.

(e) (No change.)

(f) Receipt of a proper appeal will constitute a contested case, eligible
for hearing, pursuant to the Administrative Procedures Act, N.J.S.A.
52:14B-1 et seq., and 52:14F-1 et seq., and the Uniform Administrative
Procedure Rules, N.J.A.C. 1:1.

(g) (No change.)

17:47-1.12 Information confidentiality

(a) All information and documents submitted to the division as part of
the certification application shall be deemed confidential and not subject
to disclosure, unless required or allowed by applicable Federal and State
law. Information required to be disclosed for purposes of inclusion in the
electronic database is not deemed confidential.

(b)-(c) (No change.)

TREASURY—TAXATION
(a)

DIVISION OF TAXATION

Notice of Readoption

Luxury Tax

Readoption: N.J.A.C. 18:25

Authority: N.J.S.A. 54:32B-24 and 54:32B-24.1.

Authorized By: Marita R. Sciarrotta, Director, Division of Taxation.

Effective Date: August 4, 2025.
New Expiration Date: August 4, 2032.

Take notice that pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.c, the rules at
N.J.A.C. 18:25 were scheduled to expire on October 24, 2025. N.J.A.C.
18:25 provides guidance on the luxury tax. Atlantic City imposes a
“luxury tax” on certain rentals, sales, and services. Since 1980, the
Director of the Division of Taxation has been granted the authority to
administer the luxury tax pursuant to N.J.S.A. 54:32B-24.1. Atlantic City
is the only fourth-class city to increase revenue by levying and collecting
taxes on certain retail sales pursuant to N.J.S.A. 40:48-8.15. The Division
of Taxation has reviewed these rules and has determined that the rules
should be readopted because they are necessary, reasonable, and proper
for the purpose for which they were originally promulgated. Therefore,
pursuant to N.J.S.A. 52:14B-5.1.¢(1), NJ.A.C. 18:25 is readopted and
shall continue in effect for a seven-year period.

Chapter 25 currently sets forth the following subchapters:

Subchapter 1, General Provisions, discusses defined terms, the
imposition of the luxury tax by Atlantic City on certain retail sales within
its territorial limits, and rates including combined luxury and sales tax
rates.

(CITE 57 N.J.R. 1983)



