New Jersey Wage & Hour Law

Farm Work — Minimum Rates

All farm laborers 18 years of age and over in New Jersey must be paid a minimum of $10.44 per hour effective January 1, 2021. Employees
engaged on a piece-rate basis to labor on a farm shall be paid for each day worked not less than the minimum hourly wage rate multiplied
by the total number of hours worked. Farm workers, therefore, must earn not less than $10.44 per hour even if they work at piece rates. For
example, if they work 10 hours in one day either at piece rates or time rates they must earn at least $104.40. The following chart shows the
minimum wages to be paid based on the minimum hourly wage rate multiplied by the total number of hours worked:

1hour.....ccco...... $10.44
2hours................ $20.88
3hours ............... $31.32
4hours ............... $41.76
5hours ............... $52.20

Overtime Rates

Labor on a farm is exempt from the premium overtime provisions of
the law. Workers employed in the first processing of farm products
must be paid overtime in accordance with the wage order for such
employment.

Minors

Minors under 18 in agricultural work are not covered by the New
Jersey Minimum Wage but may be covered by the Federal Wage
and Hour rates. Minors in the first processing of farm products are
covered by the minimum wage rates in the wage order.

Children must be at least 12 years old to work on a farm and must
have working permits between 12 and 16. Minors under 16 cannot
work during the hours which they are required to be in school and
they cannot work outside of school hours more than 10 hours in
any day, more than 60 hours in a week and not more than 6 days in
a row.

Records

All employers must keep records of hours worked and wages paid
to his employees. If a crew leader is involved in the payment of
wages or other compensation he must keep certain records for

all workers to whom payments are made. These records must

be available for inspection by the Division of Wage and Hour
Compliance. These specific records must include:

Place of work

Names of all workers to whom payments are made
Addresses of all workers to whom payments are made
Gross payment

Deductions

The number of units of time (hours) employed

The rate per unit of time (hourly rate)

The number of units of work performed if on piece work
The rate per unit of work
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Payments to Workers

1. Employees working on a daily basis must be paid daily.
2. Payment must be made on the same premises that the work
was done.

6 hours.....ccco....... $62.64

7hours......cccvne.... $73.08

8hours.....cccv.n..... $83.52

9hours......ccevnn.... $93.96

10 hours................ $104.40
Violations

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be
guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon conviction shall be
punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided
by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to assess
and collect administrative penalties, up to a maximum of $250 for
a first violation and up to a maximum of $500 for each subsequent
violation.

The employer shall also pay the Commissioner an administrative
fee equal to not less than 10% or more than 25% of any payment
due to employees.

Crew Leader Act

A crew leader may not terminate, suspend, demote, transfer, or
take adverse action against any seasonal farm worker in retaliation
for the worker’s exercising any of his rights under State or Federal
laws and regulations. A worker cannot agree with the crew leader to
waive any of his rights.

Any employer who violates any provisions of this act shall be
guilty of a disorderly persons offense and upon conviction shall be
punished by a fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000.

As an alternative to or in addition to any other sanctions provided
by law for violations, the Commissioner is authorized to impose a
penalty not exceeding $500 for any violation of this act or of any
rule or regulation duly issued hereunder.

Employers must supply the following information in writing to each
employee with each wage payment:

Name and address of the employer

Name and social security number of the employee
Total hours worked

Gross pay

ltemized deductions

Net pay

Enforced by: NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development

Division of Wage & Hour Compliance, PO Box 389, Trenton, NJ 08625-0389
This and other required employer posters are available free online at nj.gov/labor

The New Jersey Department of Labor and Workforce Development is an equal opportunity employer with
equal opportunity programs. Auxiliary aids and services are available upon request to individuals with disabilities.

Display this poster in a conspicuous place
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Ley de Horas y Salarios de New Jersey

Trabajo Agricola — Minimo Basico

Todos los trabajadores agricolas de 18 afios de edad o mayores tienen que ser pagados a razon de $10.44 por hora efectivo el enero 1,
2021. Aquellos que se empleen para trabajar por ajuste en las incas tendran que recibir al inal del dia una cantidad no menor que el minimo
por hora multiplicado por el total de horas trabajadas. Los trabajadores agricolas, por lo tanto, deben ganar no menos de $10.44 por hora aun
cuando trabajen por ajuste.

Por ejemplo, si trabajan 10 horas en un dia, lo mismo por ajuste que por hora, deben ganarse por lo menos $104.40. La gra ica de abajo
demuestra los salarios minimos que deben pagarse basado en el minimo por hora multiplicado por el nimero total de horas trabajadas:

1hora............. $10.44 4 horas............
2 horas.............. $20.88 5horas............
3 horas.............. $31.32 6 horas............

7 horas............

Tiempo Extra

El trabajo agricola esta exento de las disposiciones sobre tiempo
extra de la ley. Aquellos trabajadores empleados en el proceso inicial
de productos agricolas deben recibir la paga que por tiempo extra
segun la orden de salarios para tal ocupacion.

Menores

Los menores de 18 afios que se empleen en trabajos agricolas no
estan protegidos por el Salario Minimo de Nueva Jersey pero pueden
estar cubiertos por los minimos federales sobre horas y salarios.
Aquellos menores empleados en el proceso inicial de productos
agricolas estan cubiertos por el Salario Minimo de New Jersey
establecido en la orden de salarios para tal ocupacioén. Los nifios
tienen que tener por lo menos 12 afios para poder trabajar en la
finca y tienen que tener permisos de trabajo de los 12 a los 16. Los
menores de 16 afos no pueden trabajar durante las horas que se le
requiere estar en la escuela y no pueden trabajar fuera de las horas
escolares mas de 10 horas diarias ni mas de 60 horas semanales ni
mas de 6 dias corridos.

Documentos

Todos los patronos tienen que mantener documentacion escrita sobre
las horas trabajadas y los salarios pagados a sus empleados. Si un
encargado de trabajadores (crew leader) esta envuelto en el pago

de salarios u otra compensacion, tiene que mantener documentacion
escrita de todos los trabajadores a quienes se les hacen los pagos.
Esta documentacion tiene que estar disponible para inspecccion la
Divisiéon de Horas y Salarios. Tales documentos deben incluir:

1.
2.
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Sitio de trabajo

Los nombres de todos los trabajadores a los que se les han hecho
los pagos

Las direcciones de todos los trabajadores a los que se les han
hecho los pagos

La paga sucia

Las deducciones

El nimero de unidades de tiempo (horas) empleadas

La paga por unidad de tiempo (hora)

El nimero de unidades de trabajo realizadas si es por ajuste
La paga por unidad de trabajo (ajuste)

....$41.76 8 horas............... $83.52
....$52.20 9horas............... $93.96
....$62.64 10 horas.............. $104.40
....$73.08

Pagos a los Trabajadores

1. Todo trabajador empleado por dia tiene que ser pagado al final del
dia.
2. El pago tiene que ser en el mismo sitio en que fue hecho el trabajo.

Violaciones

Cualquier patrono que viole cualesquiera provisiones de esta ley sera
culpable de un delito menor y al encontrarse culpable sera castigado
por una multa de no menos de $100 ni m's de $1,000.

Como alternativo a o ademas de cualesquier otros castigos proveidos
por la ley por violaciones el comisionado esta autorizado para imponer
y para cobrar penalidades administrativas, hasta un maximo de $250
por la primera violacion y hasta un maximo de $500 por cada violacién
subsiguiente.

El patrono también pagar- al comisionado una penalidad administrativa
igual a no menos de diez (10) por ciento ni mas de veinticinco (25) por
ciento de cualquier pago al empleado.

Ley Para los Encargados de Trabajadores

Un encargado de trabajadores (crew leader) no puede terminar,
suspender, rebajar de posicion, transferir o tomar accién adversa
alguna contra cualquier trabajador agricola en represalias por haber el
trabajador ejercido alguno de sus derechos bajo leyes o disposi-ciones
estatales o federales. Un trabajador no puede hacer un arreglo con el
encargado de trabajadores (crew leader) para renunciar a ninguno de
sus derechos.

Cualquier patrono que viole cualesquiera provisiones de esta ley sera
culpable de un delito menor y al encontrarse culpable sera castigado
por una multa de no menos de $100 ni mas de $1,000.

Como alternativo a o ademas de cualesquier otros castigos proveidos
por la ley por violaciones el comisionado esta autorizado para imponer
una penalidad que no exceder- $500 por cualquier violacion de esta ley
o de cualquier regla o regulacion debidamente expedida bajo esto.

Los patronos tienen que proveer la siguiente informacién a cada
empleado en cada pago:

* Nombre y direccién del patrono « nombre y seguro social del
trabajador ¢ total de horas trabajadas ¢ paga sucia * deducciones
detalladas ¢ paga limpia.

Aplicada por: Division of Wage and Hour Compliance « NJ Department of Labor and Workforce Development « PO

Box 389 « Trenton, NJ 08625-0389  609-292-2305

Este y otros posters requeridos por el empleador estan disponibles en linea gratis en nj.gov/labor.

El Departamento de Trabajo y Desarrollo de la Fuerza Laboral de New Jersey es un Empleador con Igualdad de
Empleo cuyos programas ofrecen igualdad de oportunidades. Ayudantes auxiliares y servicios estan disponibles

para asistir a individuos con incapacidades siasi lo requieren.

Anunciar en un Lugar Visible
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