background shadows
Identifying An Abusive Relationship

Domestic violence is a pattern of coercive behavior to establish control and fear in a relationship against an intimate partner.  It includes physical abuse, verbal abuse, isolation, sexual abuse, threats, intimidation, emotional abuse, economic control, deprivation of rights and freedom, and child abuse and/or neglect.


Help Is Available

Each county offers services for domestic violence victims.  
Click here for DCF's Domestic Violence Services

New Jersey Address Confidentiality Program
Toll Free: 1 (877) 218-9133 
The New Jersey Address Confidentiality Program (ACP) provides eligible domestic violence victims a substitute mailing address that does not reveal their location.  This service is important for victims forced to relocate for safety.  First class mail is forwarded without charge.

New Jersey Adult Protective Services (APS) Providers
If you know someone 18 years of age or older who is subject to abuse, neglect, or exploitation, contact your county Adult Protective Services (APS) office.  An APS investigation is a thorough assessment of a potential at-risk adult. Within 72 hours of a referral's receipt, a face-to-face meeting with the adult by a trained APS social worker is required. During this meeting the potential client is interviewed in private. Every effort is made to determine the competence of the adult. Other individuals or agencies that have knowledge of the situation may also be interviewed. When the investigation is complete a report is submitted to the APS Supervisor who will then consult with the social worker and determine if the adult is at risk of abuse, neglect or exploitation. All information generated by the investigation is confidential.

New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault
Toll-Free Hotline: 1 (800) 601-7200
Phone: (609) 631-4450
The New Jersey Coalition Against Sexual Assault (NJCASA) is a collective voice for victims of sexual violence and their loved ones.  Rape crisis member centers represent each of New Jersey's 21 counties.

New Jersey Coalition to End Domestic Violence

Toll Free Statewide Hotline: 1 (800) 572-SAFE (7233)
The New Jersey Coalition to End Domestic Violence (NJCEDV), formerly the New Jersey Coalition for Battered Women, is a statewide association that provides leadership, support and resources on the prevention of domestic violence in New Jersey through advocacy, education and training, technical assistance and community awareness.  The mission of NJCEDV is to end domestic violence in New Jersey by addressing the needs of all victims with the understanding that domestic violence affects all communities.  NJCEDV includes 30 member programs, including 21 domestic violence agencies that provide emergency housing and crisis intervention support in all of the state's 21 counties.

New Jersey Domestic Violence Hotline
Toll Free: 1 (800) 572-SAFE (7233)
The New Jersey Domestic Violence Hotline is available statewide 24-hours a day/seven days a week.  It serves domestic violence victims and others seeking domestic violence information. The Hotline is bilingual service and accessible to the hearing impaired.

Shelter Housing Exit (SHE) Program
Phone: (609) 633-6266
The New Jersey Department of Community Affairs' (DCA) Shelter Housing Exit (SHE) program provides housing assistance to victims of domestic violence with children and who are receiving shelter or transitional housing services from domestic violence programs. Security deposits and two months rent are available to help domestic violence victims leave shelters. Long-term assistance is available.  Referrals to the SHE program must come through local domestic violence shelters.

State Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy
Phone: (609) 896-8855

As a crime victim or a witness, you have certain rights in the criminal justice system. Victim-Witness Advocacy services help make your participation in the criminal justice system less stressful and more informed.  A County Office of Victim-Witness Advocacy is available in the county prosecutors' office in each of New Jersey's 21 counties.