skip to main contentskip to main navigation
 
State of New Jersey Department of Human Services  
 
Commission for the Blind and Visually Impaired
New Jersey Helps
NJ 211 Community Resource Website
New Jersey Housing Resource Center
NJ Family Care
New Jersey Mental Health Cares Hotline

A person may be eligible for services if he or she is experiencing a vision impairment that is affecting his or her normal daily life activities.

VISUALLY IMPAIRED means that with the best correction an individual's vision is 20/70 or less in the better eye. (The person sees at 20 feet what a person without a visual impairment sees at 70 feet.)

LEGALLY BLIND means that with the best correction an individual's vision is 20/200 or less in the better eye. (The person sees at 20 feet what a person without a visual impairment sees at 200 feet.) Also, an individual is considered legally blind if he or she has a restricted visual field limitation of 20 degrees or less. (The person sees 20 degrees of all the objects in their field of vision when a person without a visual impairment would see 180 degrees.)

CBVI services and programs are available to all visually impaired NJ residents without regard to other disabling condition, sex, age, race, nationality or religious and cultural orientation.

En Espanol 

 
 
 
 
OPRA - Open Public Records Act NJ Home Logo
Department: DHS Home  |  DHS Services A to Z  |  Consumers & Clients - Individuals and Families  |  Important Resources  |  Divisions & Offices  |  Commissioner & Key Staff  |  Disaster & Emergency Help & Information  |  Press Releases, Public and Legislative Affairs, & Publications  |  Providers & Stakeholders: Contracts, Legal Notices, Licensing, MedComms  |  Get Involved with DHS!
Statewide: NJHome  |  Services A to Z  |  Departments/Agencies  |  FAQs
 
Copyright © State of New Jersey, 1996 - 2008