Contact Us

Please direct questions, comments, and completed application to the Communicable Disease Service via email at or call us at 609-826-5964.

The Antimicrobial Stewardship Recognition Program is an initiative of the Communicable Disease Service (CDS).

Learn more about CDS.

Antimicrobial Stewardship Recognition Program

About the Recognition Program
2020 Awardees: Acute Care Facilities
2020 Awardees: Post-Acute Care Facilities
Previous Awardees

About the Recognition Program

NJDOH launched the 2020 Antimicrobial Stewardship Recognition Program to:

  • Acknowledge our top performers and encourage developing stewardship programs,
  • Improve visibility of ASPs within their organizations,
  • Encourage new leaders and find unique initiatives, and
  • Sustain current emphasis on stewardship in NJ

NOTE: Due to challenges from the COVID-19 response, returning stewards had the opportunity to reapply for their current status through an attestation document. New stewards were eligible to apply for the “Antimicrobial Steward.”


Top ^
2020 Awardees: Acute Care Facilities


  • CarePoint Health - Bayonne Medical Center
  • Atlantic Health System - Chilton Medical Center
  • Robert Wood Johnson Barnabas Health - Community Medical Center
  • Cooper University Healthcare
  • Hackensack Meridian - Hackensack University Medical Center
  • Inspira Medical Center - Elmer
  • Inspira Medical Center - Mullica Hill
  • Inspira Medical Center - Vineland
  • Jefferson - Cherry Hill Hospital
  • Jefferson - Stratford Hospital
  • Jefferson - Washington Township Hospital
  • Monmouth Medical Center
  • Monmouth Medical Center - Southern Campus
  • Atlantic Health System - Morristown Medical Center
  • Ocean Medical Center
  • Overlook Medical Center
  • Hackensack Meridian - South Ocean Medical Center
  • Saint Joseph's Wayne Hospital
  • Saint Joseph's University Hospital
  • Saint Mary's General Hospital
  • Saint Peter's University Hospital


  • Bayshore Medical Center
  • Deborah Heart and Lung Center
  • Hackensack Meridian - JFK Medical Center
  • Holy Name Medical Center
  • Hunterdon Medical Center
  • Penn Medicine Princeton Medical Center
  • Saint Clare's Denville Hospital
  • Salem Medical Center
  • Saint Clare's Dover Hospital
  • Saint Michael's Medical Center



  • Bergen New Bridge Medical Center
  • Cape Regional Medical Center
  • Capital Health - Regional Medical Center
  • Capital Health Medical Center - Hopewell
  • CentraState Medical Center
  • Clara Maass Medical Center
  • East Orange General Hospital
  • Hackensack Meridian Health - Raritan Bay Medical Center
  • Jersey City Medical Center
  • Jersey Shore University Medical Center
  • Hackensack Meridian - Riverview Medical Center
  • Saint Barnabas Medical Center
  • University Hospital



  • AtlantiCare Regional Medical Center
  • Hackensack Meridian Mountainside Medical Center
  • Hackettstown Medical Center
  • Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation - Chester
  • Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation - Saddlebrook
  • Kessler Institute for Rehabilitation - West Orange
  • Newark Beth Israel Medical Center
  • Newton Medical Center
  • Pascack Valley Medical Center
  • Robert Wood Johnson University Hospital - Somerset
  • Trinitas Regional Medical Center


Top ^
2020 Awardees: Post-Acute Care Facilities


  • Bergen New Bridge Medical Center, Long Term Care



  • Broadway House for Continuing Care
  • Christian Health Care Center
  • Virtua Health and Rehabilitation Center - Berlin
  • Virtua Health and Rehabilitation Center - Mt. Holly



  • AristaCare at Delaire
  • CareOne at Cresskill
  • CareOne at Teaneck
  • Parker at Somerset
  • Preakness Healthcare Center
  • The New Jersey Firemen's Home
  • Christian Healthcare Center - Ramapo Ridge Psychiatric Hospital



  • Carepoint Health - Bayonne Medical Center Transition Care Unit
  • Encompass Health Rehabilitation Hospital of Tinton Falls
  • Heath Village
  • Job Haines Home
  • The Dwelling Place at Saint Clare's


Top ^
Previous Awardees

A list of facilities who have been recognized in past years is available here.


 **The New Jersey Department of Health Antimicrobial Stewardship Recognition Program acknowledges health care facilities and physician practices who demonstrate, through written documentation, that they have met or exceeded the minimum expectations for the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Core Elements of Antimicrobial Stewardship. This recognition is based solely on satisfaction of CDC criteria and does not otherwise constitute an endorsement of any health care facility or physician practice by the New Jersey Department of Health.


Top ^
Last Reviewed: 12/2/2020