Governor Chris Christie • Lt. Governor Kim Guadagno
NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs
Contact the Historical Commission
New Jersey Historical Commission
225 W.State Street
P.O. Box 305
Trenton, NJ 08625

Tel: (609) 292-6062
Fax: (609) 633-8168

NJ State Flag
New in New Jersey -
New Jersey: A History of the Garden State

The NJ Historical Commission in partnership with the Morristown & Morris Township Library, Monmouth and Atlantic County Libraries are pleased to present a panel featuring New Jersey: A History of the Garden State.

Read more

Documenting the 2013 Annual
History Conference

Last November the New Jersey Historical Commission partnered with the Eagleton Institute’s Center on the American Governor to present the 2013 annual history conference, The New Jersey Governor: From the Age of the Town Crier to Twitter. We were pleased to have former Governors James J. Florio, Christine Todd Whitman, and Brendan Thomas Byrne participate in a panel discussion entitled “The Governor and The Media: Foes, Friends or...What?” Watch the full length video.

Read more

New Jersey Collections Care Network
2014 Training Programs

This is a two-year statewide initiative to address urgent collections care needs in New Jersey through educational programs and training. Intended to reach collections care professionals and volunteers, these programs will encourage the use of best practices, support targeted fundraising and marketing, increase the use of existing resources, and accelerate the development of collaborative strategies.

Program Information & Registration
New Jersey Collections Care Network

The mission of the New Jersey Historical Commission is to enrich the lives of the public
by preserving the historical record and advancing interest
in and awareness of New Jersey's past.
Commission Members
Maxine Lurie, PhD, Chair,
Middlesex County
Margaret Westfield, R.A.,
Camden County
Hon. Christopher Bateman,
Senator, District 16
Jayne S. Carmody,
Monmouth County
Hon. Michael Patrick Carroll,
Assemblyman, District 25
Mary Chute,
State Librarian, ex officio
Susan P. Coen,
Union County
Hon. Craig Coughlin,
Assemblyman, District 19
Michael Fernandez,
Hunterdon County
Larry Greene, PhD,
Essex County
Hon. Kim Guadagno,
Lieutenant Governor
Joseph E. Salvatore, M.D.,
Cape May County
Dan Saunders,
Historic Preservation Office, DEP, ex officio
Richard Veit, Ph.D.,
Union County
Hon. Loretta Weinberg,
Senator, District 37
Joseph S. Weisberg, Ed.D.,
Morris County
B. Michael Zuckerman, Ph.D.,
Cape May County

Representatives of legislators and ex officio members

Carol Cronheim,
Assistant Secretary of State,
Hon. Kim Guadagno,
Lieutenant Governor
Patricia Maynard,
Assemblyman Carroll
Michele Stricker,
Ms. Blake
Kevin Tremble,
Senator Weinberg
Stay in Touch
Translator Disclaimer