Skip to main content
  • COVID-19 Information
COVID-19 is still active. Wear a mask. Social distance. Stay up to date on vaccine information. Visit: covid19.nj.gov
COVID19 Alert NJDownload free COVID Alert app.
Visit covid19.nj.gov/app
Department of State

New Jersey Historical Commission

The Hon. Tahesha Way, Secretary of State
Examples of Historical Markers in New Jersey

Historical Markers in New Jersey

The New Jersey Historical Commission (NJHC) would like to welcome you to the “Historical Markers in New Jersey” page. This page is the next step in reinvigorating New Jersey’s historical marker program. While the State of New Jersey does not currently have an active historical marker program, NJHC is in the planning stages of relaunching one. Please note that at this time, the NJHC is not yet accepting applications for historical markers.

All across New Jersey, hundreds of historical markers detail and commemorate events, individuals, sites, and themes significant to the state, nation, and region’s history. The State of New Jersey produced two series of historical markers, the first in the 1930s and the second in the 1960s. Those produced in the 1930s (1931-1942) were erected by the New Jersey Commission on Historic Sites and were made out of cast aluminum and mounted on poles. The markers from the 1960s (1961-1972) were installed by the New Jersey Historic Sites Office to commemorate the 300th anniversary of New Jersey’s establishment as a colony. These were constructed out of thinner sheet metal and mounted on poles, buildings, and fenceposts, among other surfaces.

View diagrams of a 1930s and 1960s marker. Diagrams courtesy of Robert Craig, NJ Historic Preservation Office, 2000

The vast majority of these historical markers commemorate significant events and persons from the Revolutionary War era in New Jersey, but other topics include notable New Jerseyans, industrial history, colonial history, historical places of worship, transportation history, and many other topics. While not all of these markers are still standing, the New Jersey Historical Commission is committed to documenting the history, location, and text of these historical markers.

Below, the NJHC has created a comprehensive list of these historical markers. Organized by county, users may discover a marker’s location, whether it is recorded as missing, its date of installation, and its text. If you believe you have found a state historical marker previously documented as missing or absent from our list, please contact NJHC Program Coordinator Marc Lorenc at marc.lorenc@sos.nj.gov. If you would like to stay up to date on all announcements about future historical marker programs, please sign up for our mailing list.

New Jersey Historical Markers:

Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Absecon Presbyterian Church The cornerstone was laid 16 November 1865. The church was dedicated on 20 June 1867. 1978 Marker is at the intersection of New Jersey Avenue and School Street on New Jersey Avenue. 39.42649 -74.50223 237
Absecon United Methodist Church Incorporated in 1823 from classes started in 1796 building dedicated 1829 rebuilt in 1856 1978 Marker is at the intersection of Pitney Road and West Church Street on Pitney Road. 39.42673 -74.49994 236
American Hotel Built of NJ sandstone by Samuel Richards, Weymouth Ironmaster, the inn and tavern served courthouse and Weymouth Furnace workers, travelers, sea captains and crews. Entered on National Register of Historic Places in 1979. 1981 Marker is at the intersection of Main Street and Farragat Avenue on Main Street. 39.45123 -74.72529 239
Asbury Methodist Church Earlier Called Englishes present building dedicated 1863 Rev Richard Sneath preached at Englishes 1798 1978   39.36132 -74.67072 235
Atlantic City The island was called Absegami by the Indians and Absecum by the early settlers. First settled by Jeremiah Leeds about 1783. Conceived as a health resort by Dr. Jonathan Pitney. The city was incorporated and the first railroad built 1854. Erected 1935 Albany Boulevard at dividing line of Atlantic City and Egg Harbor Township.     131
Atlantic City Formerly Abescon Beach. Settled by Jeremiah Leeds about 1783. Became health resort, 1830's. Present name, charter and railroad, 1854. 1963 Near Shelburn Hotel sign at U-Turn on eastbound side of Highway 55 feet west of L&P Pole No. A 7119 - about eight feet in from edge of shoulter. This location is 3.2 miles east of the Intersection of U.S. 9 and 30 and one half mile east of the overpass where routes 40 and 322 join.     368
Atlantic County Court House After the NJ legislature created Atlantic County on February 7, 1837,Weymouth Ironmaster Samuel Richards donated land to build this courthouse. Renovated in 1978. Mays Landing Historic District entered on National Register of Historic Places in 1990.   Marker is on Main Street (US 40). 39.45179 -74.726 240
Chestnut Neck On Oct. 6, 1778, the British fleet, sent to Egg Harbor to attack patirot vessels and destroy the iron works there, came up the Mullica River. Near here was the Fox Burrows fort which fired on the enemy. The British burned the settlement. Erected 1932 On left hand side Rt. 4, going toward Atlantic City, between signs advertising Jefferson Hotel and Galen Hall.     132
Common Grave April, 1854, the bodies of 54 German immigrants drowned in the wreck of the packet, "Powhatan", were buried here.   Corner of routes 9 & 561, at the cemetery.     369
Early Meeting House Clark's Mills Meeting House, built by Thomas Clark about 1762, where preached the Rev. John Brainerd, stood on site of Clark Burying Ground. Thomas Clark, builder of the church, Thomas Adrial, and Parker Clark, Revolutionary soldiers, are buried here. Erected 1940 Clark's Mills Cemetery in Port Republic - Clark's Landing Road. 39.5178 -74.51008 100
Franklin Inn Eighteenth century inn possibly built 1750. One time home of Sea Captain and privateer Micajah Smith   Marker is on Mill Street, on the right when traveling south. 39.51793 -74.49693 242
Friendship Church Built in 1808 on land donated by William and Hope Hollingshead Rev Richard Sneath was the first Methodist Preacher 1978 Marker is at the intersection of Weymouth Road and Friendship Road on Weymouth Road. 39.5345 -74.92196 232
Historic Smithville Inn Traced to John Smith in 1737. Isaac & James Smith bought inn in 1819 An early stage stop 1978 Marker is on North New York Road. 39.49507 -74.45772 238
Jeremiah Leeds Grave Jeremiah Leeds settled on Absecon Beach in 1783. The first permanent settler in what is now Atlantic City.   Marker is on Oxford Circle. 39.36319 -74.55056 244
Meeting House In 1800, Micajah Smith built a Methodist Church on this site. Smith, a Revolutionary privateer captain, is buried here.   Marker is at the intersection of Main Street (County Route 575) and Park Avenue, on the right when traveling east on Main Street. 39.51915 -74.49541 241
Pleasant Mills - Batsto Five miles from here stood a tavern kept by a Col. Morgan, a haunt for privateers and Refugees. In front of the tavern was the "Punch Bowl", a large cage secluded in a tree in which Tories hid and planned crimes against patriots and their property. Erected 1932 Northwast intersection Pleasant Mills Road with Rt. 43 - opposite side of road from between Poles 1672 and 1671.     133
Smith's Meeting House Built by Micajah Smith about 1800. Named "Methodist Union Chapel at Blackmen's Mills" when incorporated in 1837. Micajah Smith, John Van Sant, Privateer Captains, and Jonas Morse and James Bell, Revolutionary soldiers, are buried in the Church Yard. Erected 1938 In Revolutionary Memorial Park, Port Republic. 39.51862 -74.49513 101
The Presbyterian Church Mays Landing Cornerstone laid in 1841 on land donated by Samuel Richards. Services began in 1842.   Marker is on Main Street. 39.4522 -74.7278 243
Thomas Morris House Built in 1853 by Thomas Morris Deputy Collector of Customs early Customs House attached to rear of house 1978 Marker is on Shore Road. 39.34175 -74.57344 233
Weymouth Furnace Built about 1800 and operated till about 1865. Here were made cannon and cannon balls during the War of 1812. Also the first iron water pipes used in Philadelphia were made here. The Weymouth tract included about 80,000 acres. Erected 1932 Near northwest corner of intersection Weymouth-Mays Landing road and Rt. 42.     134
Zion United Methodist Church Built in 1822 on site of 1764 meeting house eleven revolutionary war soldiers buried here 1978 Marker is on Zion Road. 39.36723 -74.58855 234
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Baylor Massacre Here, as they slept, at dawn on Sept. 28, 1778, Colonel Geo. Baylor and 116 Virginia Dragoons were attached by the British under General "No-Flint" Grey. Major Clough, Surgeon George Evans, with fifty other Colonial Troopers were killed.   In Rivervale - on Rivervale Avenue - 1,000 feet north of Old Tappan Road - Directly in front of McCann homestead. 41.01705 -74.01 102
Fort Lee Washington came to the fort on this site adter the surrender of Fort Washington. The British advanced against Fort Lee on November 20, 1776, and Washington, finding the fort untenable, moved the American troops to the west side of the Hackensack River. Erected 1932 On right hand side of road approaching bridge; 100 feet from point of traffic island, west of third viaduct.     135
Gen. Enoch Poor Regarded by Washington and Lafayette as a great general. He died nearby in 1780 and lies buried in the Reformed Churchyard. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Court St. and Church St., on the left when traveling east on Court St.. 40.87909 -74.04336 245
Hackensack Gen. Enoch Poor died here from a wound received in a duel with a French officer and was buried in the grounds of the old Dutch Church in Hackensack. Washington attended his funeral here September 10, 1780. Erected 1932 Entering Hackensack from Paterson along Essex Street right had side - opposite pole 60832HS - just before reaching intersection of Essex Street and Summit Avenue.     136
Haring Farm Here in September, 1778, British troops under Grey massacred fifty Virginia dragoons. Their Colonel George Baylor, recovered. 1964 On west side of road, about 10' back from pavement and behind walkway.     374
Hopper's Grave Andrew Hopper's inn formerly stoof nearby. Washington used it as headquarters, Sept. 11-18, 1780, and at other times. 1963 At grave site on US 202 right side of road south bound, 2 mile south of route 27 toward oakland graveyard has a number of obelisk markers (vertical) but look sharp for graveyard near Havsmeyer Estate     370
Liberty Pole The Liberty Pole erected here in 1766 to celebrate repeal of Stamp Act has been replaced several times. Present one, 1964. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of West Palisade Avenue (County Route 505) and Lafayette Avenue, on the left when traveling west on West Palisade Avenue. 40.89662 -73.98004 246
Mahwah In 1713, a Palatine German settlement was founded here by Peter Fouconnier, one of the four owners of the Ramapo Tract 1964 Southbound, 75 ft. south of chamber of commerce entering mahwah sign. HM stake in the ground.     371
March to the Delaware Here, July 26, 1777, began the march of Washington's army across the State to defend the Delaware against the expected approach of the British fleet. Washington was here again June 27 - July 1, 1780. It was then called Ramapo. Erected 1932 Rt. 2, in Ramsey, between poles RS20135 and RS20136 - right hand side on way to Suffern, diag. opposite I.O.O.F. Hall.     137
New Bridge Washington's rear guard under Greene held the bridge in the Retreat of 1776; Burr attacked British here in 1777 and Lee's expedition against Paulus Hook started from here 1779. Bridge Crossed often by both armies during Revolution. Erected 1937 In front of old Steuben House on Main Street, North Hackensack. 40.91366 -74.03059 103
New Bridge Washington and his army crossed here unopposed, Nov., 1776, on his famous retreat. The British maps had been inaccurate.   In front of old Steuben House on Main Street, North Hackensack.     375
Oradell Home of Commander Walter M. Schirra Jr., USN, the first Jerseyman to orbit the Earth, Oct 3, 1962. 1962 To be erected in Oradell the day of the hometown reception for the astrocaut, Monday Oct. 15, 1962 - in front of the grand stand, in the center of Oradell or upon entering Oradell. If it is in front of the reviewing stand, a permanent erection will be made later.     372
Polifly Nov. 21, 1776, George Washington and his troops passed through Polifly, now Hasbrouck Heights, on their retrat from Hackensack, turning on Washington Place toward Passaic. August, 1783, Washington used this route from Newburg to Princeton. Erected 1937 On Terrace Ave. just west of ramp loading down to Route 2 at Hasbrouck Heights, on plot of land adjoining old Colonial mansion.     138
The (Von) Steuben House A Tory’s property, seized during the Revolution, was presented by New Jersey to Baron von Steuben, Gen. Washington’s drillmaster. 1964 Marker can be reached from Main Street, on the left when traveling east. 40.91353 -74.03146 247
The Green Gift of John Berry, 1696. It became the village center of New Barbadoes Township, now Hackensack. Later a public park. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Main Street and Court Street, on the right when traveling north on Main Street. 40.87916 -74.04421 248
The Westervelt House Washington's rear-guard under Greene held the bridge in the Retreat of 1776; Burr attacked British here in 1777 and Lee's expedition against Paulus Hook started from here 1779. Bridge crossed often by both armies during Revolution. 1964 The new sign has been erected on State property across the street from the Von Steuben House at the bridge which seemed to be a more appropriate place.     376
Wampum Factory Site of factory for making Wampum, 1869-1899. The Campbell Family is said to have made "Indian Money" as early as 1775. 1964 On Pascack Road near fence in front of highschool.     373
Washington Headquarters General Washington stayed here at the Hopper House, September 4-18, 1780, where a council of war was held concerning a move against New York. From here he went to Hartford, Conn., to confer with French officials. Erected 1932 On Ramapo Valley Road between Suffern and Darlington, in front of house.     139
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Bordentown In 1717, John Borden bought out the holdings of Thomas Farnsworth and made this river port a center of trade. 1965 Southbound, at 6th fole past railroad overpass at cut off to city of Bordentown - pole is not numbered     378
Burlington Here, May 23, 1773, Washington visited Governor William Franklin, and March 23, 1782, inspected the 2nd Regimant, Continental Corps of Artillery. Later he visited the Bradford Mansion, home of the Hon. William Bradford, his Attorney General. Erected 1932 On Rt. 25 - intersection with High Street - left hand side going wast - in front of M.J. Doyle's store.     140
Capt. Emilio Carranza Ten miles southeast, close to the railroad, stands the monument to Captain Emilio Carranza, Aviator of the Mexican Army, killed July 12, 1928, when his plane crashed while attempting a return, good-will, non-stop flight to Mexico City from New York. Erected 1935 On Rt. 39, left hand side going South - at point of junction with Tabernacle Road.     141
Carranza Monument Ten miles southeast is the site where Mexican Good-Will flyer, Capt. Emilio Carranza, crashed July 12, 1928. 1964 Southbound, 200 ft. north of road to Carranza Memorial, at pole 5954 ACE system HM stake in ground     384
Clara Barton School One of the earliest free schools of New Jersey established 1852 by Clara Barton, founder of the American Red Cross. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Crosswicks Street (County Route 528) and East Burlington Street, on the left when traveling west on Crosswicks Street. 40.14601 -74.7054 254
Collins House Home of Issac Collins, 1808-1817. He is famous as founder of the state's first newspaper, the New Jersey Gazette, in 1777. 1964 In grass area in front of house on east side, 10 feet from porch and parallel to road     380
Crosswicks On June 23, 1778, General Dickinson’s Jersey Troops destroyed bridge, fighting a skirmish to delay the British march to New York.   Memorial is on Main Street. 40.15292 -74.64679 260
Crosswicks Creek 3 miles east, on June 23, 1778, Gen Clinton on his retreat to New York attacked the patriot militia destroying the bridge. Jon Clovenger was killed as he cut the last sleeper. A cannon ball, which struck the Meeting House, is still preserved. Erected 1932 Rt. 25 - intersection of Bordentown Road, southeast corner - before you come to Yopcye [? illegible on copy] Inn.     142
Fire Company Founded in 1752, The Relief Fire Co. is the oldest active volunteer company in the nation.   Marker is at the intersection of Pine Street and Church Street, on the right when traveling north on Pine Street. 39.99263 -74.78507 257
Franklin Park Site of famed deer park of William Fanklin, son of Benjamin Franklin. He was the last of New Jersey's Royal Governors. 1965 Eight feet back from edge of road on west side.     385
Free Library The Burlington Library Association, chartered by King George II in 1757, established an early public library here.   Marker is on West Union Street 0.1 miles east of Wood Street, on the left when traveling east. 40.07895 -74.86077 255
Friends Meeting Built, 1773, replacing 1706 house. North wall holds cannon ball which struck in 1778 skirmish between British and Americans   Marker is at the intersection of Church Street and Front Street on Church Street. 40.15198 -74.64768 259
Gilder House Boyhood home of Richard Watson Gilder, editor of Century Magaine, 1881 to 1909. Four brothers and sisters also were famous. 1964 In front of house between sidewalk and curb     377
Girard House Stephen Girard lived here 1777-78. He later became prominent as a merchant shipowner, financier and philanthropist. 1964 Marker is on Mill Street (County Route 537), on the right when traveling west. Reported missing. 39.99513 -74.78269 249
Grant House Home of General Ulysses S. Grant's family during the last days of the Civil War. Visited by Grant on the day of Lincoln's death. 1964 Marker is on Wood Street 0.1 miles north of West Broad Street, on the right when traveling north. 40.07739 -74.86049 256
Hanover Furnace Nearby, not far from the Province Line, are the ruins of Hanover Furnace, built about 1792. Here, during the War of 1812, were cast cannon balls, shells, and cannon for the Federal Government. The furnace was abandoned in 1863-64. Erected 1936 Intersection Route 40 and Browns Mills road, right hand side going West - North side 5 miles East of Browns Mills.     143
Historic Mount Holly Dec. 1776, Hessian troops occupied the Meeting House. June 20-22, 1778, the two wings of the British army united here before the Battle of Monmouth. Nov., 1779, the Council and Assembly met in the Meeting House. Erected 1932 Washington Street, entering Mount Holly from Camden, in front of red brick Catholic Church, between poles PS23NO and PS24NO, opposite 167 Washington Street.     144
Historic Prison This Burlington County Jail was designed, 1808, by Robert Mills, noted Federal architect. His plan still influences penal building.   Marker is at the intersection of High Street and Grant Street, on the right when traveling south on High Street. 39.99685 -74.7894 258
Kinkora William Biddle, merchant, landowner, and political leader among the Quakers of West Jersey, settled here in 1684. 1964 Southbound, S.W. corner of road leading to building, heind first guard rail post, beyond pole 61637MA     382
Men of Import Site of building used on occasion by three famous men: Samuel Jennings, 1961 to 1684, Benjamin Franklin, 1728, Isaac Collins, 1770-78. 1964 In tree well in front of property, three feet behind curb     379
New St. Maryís Church, designed by noted architect Richard Upjohn, is one of the earliest cruciform structures in America. Completed, 1854.   Marker is on W Broad Street, on the right when traveling west. 40.07693 -74.86154 252
Old St. Maryís Built in 1703, this was the first Episcopal Church in New Jersey. Services were transferred to new St. Mary’s in 1854.   Marker is at the intersection of W Broad Street and Wood Street, on the right when traveling west on W Broad Street. Reported permanently removed. 40.07709 -74.8609 251
Swedish Settlement Cinnaminson Township was first settles by Swedes who came across the Delaware at an early date. Their farms lay along the Delaware, Pennsauken Creek, and Swedes' Run. This was the most northerly of the Swedish settlements. Erected 1938 Cinnaminson, near intersection of Route #25 and road to Riverton, right hand side going toward Burlington, above Gulf Gasoline Station - about 100 feet from intersection - between third and fourth telephone poles.     145
Swedish Settlers Swedish farmers from across the Delaware settled among the English here in 1680's. The name Cinnaminson is Indian. 1963 North bound, right side, 100 ft. Before road into Riverton, south of pole #4 No stake in ground     381
Thomas Paine Thomas Paine, Pamphleteer for American Independence, bought this house in 1783, and lived in it periodically until his death in 1809. 1965 Marker is at the intersection of Farnsworth Avenue (New Jersey Route 545) and West Church Street, on the left when traveling north on Farnsworth Avenue. 40.14718 -74.71269 250
Whitesbog Elizabeth White, devoted to the Pine Barrens flora, with Frederick Coville debeloped the cultivated blueberry in the 1920's. 1963 About 500' east of Whitesbog Church and 25' from center of road on the north side.     383
Wright House Patience Lovell Wright, America's first sculptress lived here before moving to Great Britain 1772. Son Joseph noted painter. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Farnsworth Avenue (County Route 545) and Park Street (County Route 662), on the right when traveling south on Farnsworth Avenue. 40.14851 -74.71384 253
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Berlin First settlers came in 1714. Village once called “Long-A-Coming”, being along the Lonaconing Indian Trail from the river to the sea. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of White Horse Pike (U.S. 30) and Thackara Avenue, on the right when traveling west on White Horse Pike. 39.7954 -74.93191 261
Blue Anchor About 1740 John Hider opened a log tavern here. Later a frame inn was built by Sarah Albertson. Town named after the Inn. 1964 On the east side of 561 20' south of road to Blue Anchor and 15' off edge of road     394
Clement's Bridge Hessians defeated at the Battle of Red Bank, October 22, 1777, returning by this road, are supposed to have thrown their bronze field pieces into Big Timber Creek near here. Some of their dead were buried in the Marple graveyard nearby. Erected 1940 On Route 41, on South side of Clement's Bridge.     146
Cooper House Built in 1734 by Benjamin Cooper, a grandson of William, early settler. Used as headquarters by General Abercrombie, 1778. 1964 On the north side of Erie Street west of Point Street. 10' back of curb     387
Cooper's Ferry Feb. 26, 1778, thirteen hundred enemy troops crossed from Philadelphia to capture Ellis's and Wayne's forces engaged in foraging. The enemy was met here at Cooper's Creed Bridge on March 1, 1778 by Gen's. Wayne and Pulaski and a severe skirmish ensued Erected 1932 Crescent Blvd. - right hand side leaving Camden, between poles PS9136CM and PS9511CM     148
Cooper's Ferry Licensed in 1688, it carried New Jersey products to Philadelphia. Terminus for stage lines in 1751, for railroads in 1834 and 1854 1965 Marker is at the intersection of Copper Avenue and North Front Street on Copper Avenue. 39.94798 -75.12593 262
Cooper's Ferry - Now Camden - Washington, while living in Philadelphia as President, crossed the river at Cooper's Ferry and rode horseback over the early roads of Camden. Erected 1932 On Crescent Boulevard between Circle and Bridge - right hand side of roac going toward River - between poles PS3761PS and PS3760PS     147
Crystal Spring Walt Whitman, 1819-1892, America's own poet said of this spot "It is here I sit in solitude with nature." 1965 At the end of the street on the river side     391
Gloucester City Seat of Old Gloucester County, 1696. Betsy Ross was married at Old Hugg's Inn. "Planked Shad" dinners may have originated here. 1964 Southbound opposite Holiday Inn, 1/2 way between "Lane Use" sign & U.S. coast guard base sign     390
Historic Haddonfield Oct. 21, 1777, Col. Von Donop camped here before the Battle of Red Bank. Gen. Wayne and Col. Ellis foraged nearby in Feb. 1778, but left on the approach of Maj. Simcoe. June 1778, the British under Clinton and Knyphausen camped here en route to Monmouth. Erected 1932 Entering Haddonfield from Camden on Haddon Avenue, at apex of triangular lot - in front of Public Library. 39.90073 -75.02741 104
Old Salem Road Here, Old Salem Road, laid out in 1681-1686, crossed the north branch of Cooper River. The British Army used this road from Haddonfield, June 19, 1778, their right wing branching to Evesham and the left to Moorestown, enroute to Monmouth Court House. Erected 1937 On Route 41 exactly 0.35 miles south of Ellisburg Circle (Route 40) at Cooper River Bridge on east side of Highway (now Route 41). 39.90752 -75.01137 105
Old Salem Road From Burlington to Salem, 1681. The road crossed Cooper River near here. A few stretched still remain in today's roads. 1963 East side of 43, on K of C property at North Driveway near Large Tree, HM stake in the ground.     389
Peter McGuire Peter McGuire, father of "Labor Day," lies buried in this cemetery. He was a founder and early officer of AF of L. 1965 Adjacent to entrance to cemetery, 10' back of edge of road     393
Pyne Point William Cooper's manor, 1690, more commonly called Cooper's Point. City was laid out and named for Earl of Camden, 1773. 1964 In park area behind hedge to the left of drive to park guards headquarters building     388
Scull's Tavern Opened about 1761 by Samuel Scull as a stage coach stop on the road to "The Shore". Operated until at least 1838. 1964 On west side of Route 30, 100' north of entrance to restaurant, three feet back from road.     386
Shane's Castle First Catholic services in this county helf in a log house built on this stream, 1760, by Woods family, German refugees 1964 On south side of road 15' back from edge of road near Clark's Branch Stream     395
Whitman - Stafford House Laurel Springs (Laurel Springs) The poet, Walt Whitman, stayed here at the Stafford House in 1875 to regain his health, and praised the fine climate. 1964 On front lawn of house 20 feet back from road and parallel to house     392
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Cape May Court House County sear of Cape May County, settled in 1690 by Shangar Hand. This county was organized in 1692. The first Court House ws built in 1755, and the second in 1763, the land being given by Daniel Hand. The present building was built in 1849. Erected 1932 In front of Old Court House 39.0835549 -74.8229855 122
Cape May Patriots April 17, 1776, two companies of Colonel Dayton's battalion and two from Delaware were ordered to Cape May to observe and report on naval maneuvers at the endtrance to the bay. Erected 1932 Rt. 4, entering Cape May, left hand side of road, opposite sign advertising Cape May Terrace, just before reaching small green and white sign - "Cape May Welcomes You".     149
Cold Spring Church Presbyterian congregation organized, 1714. Present church built in 1823. Many Mayflower descendants are buried in churchyard. 1963 40' north of util. pole #W11624 and 25' from center of road.     397
County Seat Settled by Shamgar Hand 1690. “Middletown” became Cape May Court House. First County building, 1745; this structure, 1849.   Marker is on North Main Street 0.1 miles south of Church Street, on the left when traveling north. 39.08359 -74.82306 264
Dennis Creek Landing (Dennis Creek) A causeway was built here in the 1790s establishing a new overland route. By the 19th century Dennis Creek Landing became a major shipbuilding center on the Delaware Bay. Many homes in South Dennisville still reflect the architecture that was seen in the fine homes of the ship captains and boat builders of the area. 1963 Marker is on North Delsea Drive (New Jersey Route 47) north of New Jersey Route 83, on the right when traveling north. 39.18426 -74.81981 263
Patriot Guards During the summer of 1776, two New Jersey and two Delaware companies were here to check on British fleet movements. 1963 North west corner of Beach and Broadway, which is about 1,000' from end of Point.     396
Peck's Beach July 26, 1777, the British warship "Roebuck", entered Corson's Inlet, and a boat load of seamen were captured by the local militia under Maj. Stillwell, at the west end of Peck's Beack. Cannon, which the British threw overboard, were found later. Erected 1932 Entering Ocean City after crossing from Somers Point - on left hand side of road. (State Highway ends at Bridge, location of marker under jurisdiction of Ocean City) (May, 1938, Moved approximately 150 feet nearer the Ocean)     150
Seaville Meeting Friend's Meeting House. Built in 1716. Oldest Quaker place of worship in New Jersey that is still used for worship. 1963 Approximately 1.5 miles south of junction with #50, southbound, 2 feet North of pole W22076 which is north of meeting house. HM stake in ground near mail BOS E.B. Smith     398
Town Bank New England and Long Island whalemen first settled Cape May on the Delaware Bay shore about 1685. To the sandy bluff called Town Bank came Joseph Whilldin and his wife, Hannah Gorham, grandchild of John Howland, the Mayflower pilgrim. Erected 1940 On west side Bay Shore Road, Cape May County, near its intersection with road running into North Cape May. 38.9813223 -74.9423262 113
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
"Liberty Bell" Court house bell rang as news of "Declaration" rached here. Cast in Massachusetts, 1765. Now on display in lobby. 1963 On lane 3' behind retaining wall on west side     400
Broad St. Church Built by Presbyterians in 1792, has been cited by architects as an outstanding example of good Colonial design. 1964 Marker is on Broad Street West (New Jersey Route 49) just west of South Lawrence Street. 39.42945 -75.2453 265
Cumberland Furnace About 1785, Eli Budd built a forge for manufacturing iron on the Manumuskin. About 1810, his son, Wesley Budd, built a blast furnace nearby. The business was carried on by several successors of the Budd's until about 1840. Erected 1936 Intersection of Route 47 with Manumuskin River near Cumberland - left hand side going toward Wildwood and Tuckahoe.     151
Cumberland Works Eli Budd's forge, 1785; furnace about 1810. Stove plates cast here were assembled in Albany. Works closed in 1840. 1963 Route 49, Northbound at Manuskin River     408
Fithian House Home of Philip Vickers Fithian, a patriot army chaplain who died in 1776. Here the "tea burners" donned Indian disguise. 1963 In front of house on Greenwich-Shappard's Mill Road     407
Gibbon House Built in 1730 by Nicholas Gibbon, maritime merchant whose ships carried most of the colonial trade of this port. 1963 Marker is on Ye Greate Street. 39.39245 -75.34076 266
Glass Works Bridgeton's first glass factory, begun in 1837 by Stratton, Buck & Co. later Cohansey Glass Company. Operated here until 1901. 1963 2' behind curb and 11' north of first utility pole south of Glass Street, on the west side of South Pearl Street.     399
Little Stone School Endowed as free school for poor children by Zachariah Barrow. Oldest educational building in Cumberland Co., it served until the advent of public supported learning. Militia trained here-1812. 1999 Marker is on Ye Greate Street. 39.40279 -75.34271 269
Maurice River The River was named by the Dutch for Maurice, Brince of Orange. Settlements were made early by the Swedes, who were members of the Church of Swedesboro. By 1743, they had founded a Church here, of which only the graveyard remains. Erected 1938 Route 49 - Two miles north of Port Elizabeth from Millville - intersection of road leading to Swedish Cemetery between poles ACF System 9220 & 7011.     152
Maurice River Named by the Dutch for Maurice, Prince of Orange. Swedes settled the area and later built a curch on this site in 1745. 1963 Route 47, Northbound, 2 miles north of Port Elizabeth, between poles 922 & 7011     409
Nail Works Cumberland Nail and Iron Company, makers of mails and pipe, where here from 1815 to the 1890s. Land became a city park, 1901. 1963 Entrance to City Park in front of this white frame building     401
New Jersey Liberty Bell November 29, 1775, recruits were organized here. An original New Jersey Libtery Bell, that rang out American Independence, is still preserved as a sacred relic. Erected 1932 Left hand side of Rt. 49, entering Bridgeton from Salem - in front of High School, between poles 32-34 and GSC 30.     153
Noted Glassworks Founded by James Lee in 1806. Whitall Tatum Co. were here from 1837 to 1938, when they sold to Armstrong Cork Company. 1963 Marker is on South 2nd Street (New Jersey Route 47) just south of Railroad Avenue, on the right when traveling south. 39.39044 -75.03461 270
Old Stone Tavern Built 1728 by Jacob Ware. "The oldest tavern in the County where one could obtain bedde and board for man and beast." 1999 Marker is on Ye Greate Street. 39.39418 -75.34194 267
Revolutionary Skirmish In August, 1781, a party of Tories attacked a shallop in Maurice River opposite Port Norris. The militia on the vessel were commanded by Capt. Jas. Riggins. The Tories were all either killed or captured in the ensuing fight. Erected 1932 Between BT-56-788 and BT-56-789 poles on Rt. 49, intersection with road to Mauricetown.     114
Seabrook Farms A small 1880 truck farm of the Seabrook family. Became world's largest integrated farming and freezing operation. 1963 Southbound on state #77 right hand side, opposite the exit driveway of the Seabrook Schools, 44 feet from edge of paved shoulder. No stake in ground     403
The Oyster A delicacy of the Indians, the first annual tourists to the shore. This river is now the center of the Jersey Oyster Industry. 1963 North side of Route 548 at Mauricetown near bridge over Maurice River     405
The Seeley House Home of Ebenezer Seeley. His son, Elias P. Seeley, born in Fairfield Township lived here as a boy and became Governor in 1833. 1963 3' behind curb and 11' west of utility pole at corner of Irving and Bank     402
Tory Defeat Capt. James Higgin's militia on board a sloop in river, beat off a Tory attack, Aug., 1781. All raiders were killed or captured. 1963 20 feet north of old marker. Route 47.     404
Tory Raid January 31, 1783, the crew from the armed boat "blacksnake", commanded by the Tory, Capt. Andrew Gillis, raided this section. The "Blacksnake" was captured by a party of patriot militia commanded by Capt. William Low. Erected 1932 Rt. 49 - Millville to Bridgeton, between pole 32GSCBW and pole 32GSCBW (same number), opposite trolley power pole marked W - near sign "4 miles to Bridgeton". (Past Carmel Road).     154
Tory Raid Local militia under Capt. William Low captured privateer "Blacksnake" and crew near Autuxit on January 31, 1783. 1963 Northbound Route 49, between poles BT 67-145 & 146, past Carmel Rd. (4 miles from the center of Bridgeton)     406
Wood House Built in 1795 by Richard Wood, merchant. A son. Dr. George B. Wood (d.1879), became a noted medical professor and writer. 1999 Marker is on Ye Greate Street. 39.39421 -75.34235 268
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Abram Speer House Speer, early landowner and Revolutionary War Captain and his family lived in this Dutch Colonial home from 1760-1929. 1967 149 Church Street     416
Calico Lane In the area of "Cotton Mill Pond," where after 1812, James Mason made Calico Cloth on site of early mills and tanery. 1964 Calico Lane     415
Cornwallis's Army Cornwallis's army, in pursuit of Washington's troops, in the retreat of 1776, passed through Orange, and some detachments are said to have encamped in the vicinity. Many raids and depredations were here committed by enemy soldiers. Erected 1932 On planting strip in center of Park Avenue, about 100 ft. from intersection of Park Avenue and Mt. Vernon Street.     155
Cranetown Cranetown, the Revolutionary name for Montclair, was named for the Crane family, at whose house Washington and Lafayette made their headquarters in the fall of 1780. The house stoof at Valley Road and Clairmont Avenue. Erected 1932 Rt. 23, entering Montclair from Singac, right hand side of road - at circle between poles PS 1093 and PS 1094.     156
Cranetown Colonial hamlet, named for the Crane family, in whose home Washington stayed in October, 1780. Became Montclair in 1870's. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) Marker is at the intersection of Bloomfield Avenue (County Route 506) and Valley Road, on the left when traveling west on Bloomfield Avenue. 40.8164 -74.22116 274
David Burnet Here stood the house of Dr. William Burnet, noted patriot-surgeon. Son, David, was the first president of the Republic of Texas.   Marker is at the intersection of Broad Street and Camp Street, on the right when traveling south on Broad Street. 40.72688 -74.17747 277
ìOld Firstî First Presbyterian Church organized in 1666, Abraham Pierson, minister. Two edifices preceeded this one, begun in 1787. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Broad Street and Branford Place, on the right when traveling north on Broad Street. 40.73429 -74.17264 275
Newark Settles in 1666 by colonists from Connecticut. Trinity Church was used as a hospital after an engagement, January 25, 1778. The Rectory of the House of Prayer was Washington's Headquarters. Birthplace of Aaron Burr. Erected 1932 Rt. 25, right hand side going sound, 400 ft. south of entrance to Union Smelting and Refining Company.     157
Newark New Haven Puritans, led by Robert Treat, settled here in 1666. Industrial growth stimulated by canal and railroads, 1830's. 1963 In front of City Hall on Broad Street     413
Old Copper Mine John Dodd leased out mining rights in 1720 when copper was found on his land. Mine operated until some time after 1755 1964 Dodd Street and Brighton Avenue     411
Plume House Built about 1710 by Plume family. Became House of Prayer Rectory, 1850. Rev. Hannibal Goodwin invented celluloid film here, 1887. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of University Avenue/Broad Street and State Street, on the right when traveling south on University Avenue/Broad Street. 40.74802 -74.17094 273
Raquet Club This building was destroyed by Stanford White in 1879, as a music hall for Steward Hartshorn's "Ideal" village of Short Hills. 1963 Short Hills Avenue, or the Crescent, in front of Club     410
Second River - Now Belleville - Battles were fought here September 2 and 14, 1777. Sir Henry Clinton occupied Schuyler Mansion while directing raids nearby in September, 1777. Troops of both armies encamped here on occasion during the Revolution. Erected 1932 Rt. 21, Belleville, along Passaic River, between poles PS2250B and PS2251B, opposite old church.     158
Seth Boyden Site of the shop of Seth Boyden, versatile inventor. Among his inventions were patent leather in 1818 and later malleable iron. 1964 Marker is on Broad Street, on the right when traveling south. 40.74358 -74.16985 271
Site of Clara Mass House (Clara L. Maass) Site of home of nurse who died in Cuba, 1901, in an experiment by doctors hoping to control yellow fever by inoculation 1964 In front of RR Station, Main Street     412
Stephen Crane Birthplace The author of "The Red Badge of Courage," Stephen Crane, was born at this site in 1871. House demolished in 1939. 1964 14 Mulberry Street (vacant lot)     414
Sydenham House One of the oldest structures in Newark, built in the 18th Century, this house is a prime example of early American ingenuity in architecture   Marker is on Old Road to Bloomfield, on the right when traveling north. 40.77655 -74.17253 276
Trinity Church First church on site in 1746. Present edifice, built in 1809, retains original tower. Became a cathedral of the Diocese in 1944. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Broad Street and Rector Street, on the left when traveling south on Broad Street. 40.74038 -74.16926 272
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
"Death of the Fox" Name of the tavern built in 1727. One of the “Meet” headquarters of the old Gloucester Fox Hunting Club 1786-1818. 1964 Marker is on Kings Highway. 39.80564 -75.21736 283
Balloon Flight Jean Blanchard's balloon flight in 1793, the first in America, ended here. Washington had witnessed the Philadelphia ascent. 1963 Clements Bridge, East of Woodbury     419
Battle of Red Bank One mile from here at Ft. Mercer, occurred a severe fight on Oct. 22, 1777, between the Hessian troops, under Col. Von Donop and Col. Green's forces. Col. Von Donop was mortally wounded and his forces completely routed. Erected 1932 Intersection Rt. 44 with road to National Park, in front of J.O. Etherington Real Estate and insurance - between poles PS844-2-60079WD and PS844-3-60078WD.     159
Bodo Otto Home of Dr. Bodo Otto, Jr., noted surgeon, legislator, judge, and militia Colonel in Revolution. Born, 1748, in Germany. Died here, 1782. 1964 Marker is on Kings Hwy (County Route 551) north of Quaker Road, on the left when traveling south. 39.78866 -75.24043 278
Clement's Bridge After the Hessian rout at Red Bank, October 22, 1777, the main body fled over the bridge to the security of the British lines. 1964 Marker is on Clements Bridge Road. 39.84009 -75.08446 282
Cooper House Built by John Cooper, one of the drafters of the first state constitution, and war-time legislator. Cornwallis' Quarters, 1777 1964 (replaces 1932 marker) 16 North Broad Street     420
Cornwallis's Headquarters Nov. 21-24, 1777, Cornwallis had headquarters opposite the Court House. His troops camped on the Meeting House grounds. Many soldiers carried from the battle at RedBank were buried here in the Strangers Burying Ground. Erected 1932 Entering Woodbury from Camden, Rt. 45 and Dickinson Street, between poles H and H PS-1056WB 39.8395 -75.15206 106
Fox Hunting Club Gloucester fox hunting club, 1766-1818, hunted this area. First city troop of Philadelphia Cavalry formed from its members. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) On the lawn near the bench in front of the police station on State Route #45     421
Glassboro Here in 1775 glassworks were erected by seven Stanger brothers, workmen from the Wistar works. In 1781, Col. Thomas Heston and Thomas Carpenter became their ownders. Under their successors, the business was carried on until about 1824. Erected 1936 Point of West Street and State Street on U.S. Route 322, at the site of the original glass factory.     160
Glassboro Named for first industry. Here in 1775, the Stanger Family built the state's sexond glassworks. Other glassworks followed. N.D. (replaced 1936 marker) On US 322 entering the town or at old location point of West St. & State St. on 322, at the site of the original glass factory.     417
Ladd's Castle John Ladd, who helped Penn plan Philadelphia, built this house in 1688. The original name was Candor Hall.   Marker is at the intersection of Lafayette Avenue and Colonial Avenue, on the right when traveling west on Lafayette Avenue. 39.8567 -75.14333 280
Mullica Hill This area was named Mullica Hill from Eric Mullica, born in Mora Parish, Sweden, 1636. Coming to Pennsylvania in 1676, he settled, in 1697, on Mullica River, and here about 1719. Tradition has it that he died at the age of 100 years. Erected 1938 Route 45 - entering Mullica Hill from Mantua on right hand side of road 100 feet before Swedesboro road intersection.     161
Mullica Hill Settled by young Eric and John Mullica, sons of Eric Mullica, a Swedish pioneer in Southern New Jersey. 1963 (replaced 1938 marker) Entering town on Route 45     418
Raccoon Creek Oct. , 1777, skirmishes between the British and the militia took place along the main road. Feb., 1778, General Wayne was here on a foraging expedition. April 4, 1778, the British destroyed the school-house. Erected 1932 Entering Swedesboro from Woodbury, right hand side before reaching Raccoon Creek, between pol ACE/8363 and bridge     162
Stratton Hall Charles C. Stratton was borne here, March 6, 1796. He was the first New Jersey governor elected by the people, 1845. 1964 (replaced 1938 marker) Marker is at the intersection of Kings Highway and Paulsboro-Swedesboro Road on Kings Highway. 39.75222 -75.30306 281
Swedesboro Early settled by the Swedes. Until 1703, settlers north of Raccoon Creek were attached to Old Swedes', Gloria Dei, Church, Philadelphia; those south of the Creek to Trinity Church, Wilmington, Trinity Church, Raccoon, was organized in 1703. Erected 1938 Corner of Grant Ave. and Auburn Ave., in front of Aaron Hurf property - Permission secured from Mr. Hurf through Mr. Crispin of Swedesboro Trust Co.     115
Whitall House Col. Carl von Donop and his Hessians were treated here for wounds after their defeat at the siege of Red Bank, Oct. 22, 1777.   Marker can be reached from Hessian Road, on the right when traveling west. 39.86955 -75.19051 279
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
"La Tourette" Site of the first American home of Irenee Dupont, 1800. Later enlarged to become famous hotel and social center. Razed, 1926. 1964 Park at Broadway and First Street     422
Baseball On June 19, 1846 the first march game of baseball was played here on the Elysian Fields between the Knickerbockers and the New Yorks. It is generally conceded that until this time the game was not seriously regarded. Erected 1940 In center safety island on 11th Street at intersection of 11th and Hudson Streets, Hoboken.     163
Baseball Here, on Elysian Fields, the Knickerbockers and The New York Nine played the first match game of baseball on June 19, 1846. 1964 (replaced 1940 marker) In center of safety island on 11th Street at intersection of 11th and Hudson Streets, Hoboken.     426
Dixon Graphite In 1847, Joseph Dixon, manufacturer of graphite products, moved his plant here. Now one of largest of its kind in the world. 1965 At the plant Wayne Ave.     431
Early Brewery Site of first brewery in New Jersey, built by Aert Teunissen Van Putten on his bowerie, 1642. Indians destroyed it in 1655. 1966 On the campus of Stevens Institute, on the site where the Castle was torn down in 1961.     427
Fatal Duel On the dueling ground below, Alexander Hamilton was mortally wounded by his old political rival, Aaron Burr, July, 11, 1804. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) Monument on Hamilton Street     437
First Yacht Club Site of home of New York Yacht Club, founded in 1844 by John C. Stevens. New Jersey Yacht Club organized here, 1871. 1964 Fourth and Hudson streets, at a small park     425
Ford Plant In 1918 the first Ford Assembly Plant in New Jersey was founded here. Removed to Edgewater in 1930 and later to Mahwah. 1965 In front of Western Electric Company, Kearny, NJ     434
Fort Delancey Within the limits of Bayonne is the site of a Revolutionary fort, erected for the defense [sp.] of Bergen Neck. Feb., 1782, an unsuccessful attack was made by Maj. Bauman against the Tory band here. The Refugees evacuated and burned the post Sept. 1, 1782. Erected 1932 Conter of Bayonne Boulevard at 58th Street.     164
Hamilton-Burr Duel [sp.] Here on the King Estate, July 11, 1804, Alexander Hamilton was mortally wounded in a duel with Aaron Burr. His son Philip Hamilton, had been killed in 1801 in the like manner on the same spot. Erected 1932 On Hudson County Boulevard, east side, about 400 ft. north of the Hamilton-Burr Monument.     165
Jersey City Southeast of the spot the Half Moon anchored Sept. 11-12, 1609. Hereabout lay Horsimus, part of Pavonia, set up Jan. 10, 1630. Washington made this area the keysotone of the campaign, 1776. Hamilton and his friends planned the city Feb. 22, 1804. Erected 1935 Southeast corner of the Holland Tunnel Exit Highway at Henderson Street. 40.7270015 -74.034537 123
Jersey City First Dutch patroonship named Pavonia by Michael Pauw. He built two log houses here in 1629 within what is now Jersey City. 1964 Southeast corner of the Holland Tunnel Exit Highway at Henderson Street     428
Kearny's Castle Site of home built by Philip Kearny, Mexican and Civil War leader killed at Chantilly. Built 1853, destroyed 1925. 1963 On the property of Washington School, corner of Rose & Bellegrove Drive Marker should face Rose Street     433
Paulus Hook Within the limits of Jersey City is the site of the Revolutionary fort at Paulus Hook. It was captured by the British in September, 1776, and was held by them until Aug. 19, 1779, when it was stormed by "Light Horse Harry" Lee. Erected 1932 Jersey City, on right hand side of Rt. 25 going into New York. .2 miles from New Way Laundry.     166
Paulus Hook Washington's "Flying Camp" here in 1776. Later fort held here by British during entire war despite American attacks. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker, which was reerected in 1938) Washington & Grand Streets     430
Paulus Hook Ferry In the summer of 1807 Fulton's steamboat, the "Clermont," made its first advertised voyage to Albany from this site. 1964 This has been substituted for the drydock, which was 2 blcoks away at NE corner of Morgan & Green Sts. There is no proof that the drydock was ever used.     429
Schuyler's Road Parts of this highway are built over the Corduroy Road constructed by John Schuyler in 1756 to serve the family's copper mine. 1964 On the Belleview Turnpike, State 7, between Paterson Turnpike and Keary     432
Second River Now the Passaic. On its banks copper was discovered in 1715. First steam engine erected in 1753-55, at Schuyler Mine. 1964 On the east side of the river in Arlington in Kearny Park     435
Stephen Foster Home of song writer, 1854. While here, the composer wrote his most popular work, "Jeanie with the light brown hair." 1964 601 Bloomfield Street     423
Stevens Institute Site of residence of John Stevens, Hoboken's founder, 1804, owner of steamboat line, promoter of Camden and Amboy Railroad.   At the site of the first residence of John Stevens the founder     424
Three Pigeons Inn Site of Colonial Inn on Paulus Hook - Kachensack stage route. Here guides met "Light Horse Harry" Lee for Paulus Hook Raid, 1779. 1964 43rd Street & Bergen Turnpike     436
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Amwell Church Site of the first Presbyterian Church built in 1738. Here, George Whitefield’s sermon to 3000 people in 1740 inspired religious zeal. 1963 Marker is on Old York Road (County Route 514 at milepost 1.3), on the right when traveling west. 40.45764 -74.83339 292
Coryell's Ferry - Lambertville - While quartered at Keith's House in Pennsylvania, in December, 1776, General Washington crossed to the Jersey side, and from Goat Hill made observations prepatory to the attack on the Hessians at Trenton. Erected 1932 On County Road, entering Lambertville from north between NJP & L Co. poles #L-166 and #L-414     167
Flemington Raid Dec., 1776, Captain John Schenck and his men attacked a raiding British party, under Captain [sp.] Geary, between Copper Hill and Larison's Corner. Geary was killed and was buried near the scene of the skirmish. Washington passed through here, Nov., 1780. Erected 1932 Rt. 30, Entering Flemington from Ringoes - right hand side of road, south of Fleming Estate silhouette sign.     168
Frenchtown Town takes its name from the many French families that followed Paul Henri Mallet-Prevost, a Swiss refugee from the French Revolution who moved here in 1794. Called "Sunbeam" in 1759. Later Sherrard's Ferry. Present name for Prevost family, refugees from the French Revolution. 1963 Marker is on New Jersey Route 12, on the right when traveling west. 40.52395 -75.0537 293
Kingwood Tavern A log tavern on this site ca. 1764 offered shelter to travellers on the King’s Hwy. Later tavern ca. 1790 known for years as Johnson’s. 1963 Marker is at the intersection of Kingwood Road (County Route 519) and Byram - Kingwood Road, on the right when traveling north on Kingwood Road. 40.47043 -75.01988 290
Lambertville 1726, Coates' Ferry; 1733, Coryell's Ferry. Used by Washington, who stayed here three times. First bridge and new name, 1812.   Marker is on New Jersey Route 179, on the right when traveling south. 40.37843 -74.93062 286
Landis House Built 1750 by Henry Landis. Lafayette stayed here while a patient of Dr. Gershom Craven. 1964 Marker is on Old York Road, on the right when traveling north. 40.43018 -74.86693 288
Law Office Samuel Southard, U.S. Senator, N.J. Governor, & Sec. of Navy, erected this building in 1811. Office of Gov. Vroom, 1817-1819 & Alexander Wurts, 1820-1881. Redesigned in the Greek Revival style by Mahlon Fisher in 1840.   Marker is on Main Street, on the right when traveling south. 40.51093 -74.8592 294
Lebanon Settled by Germans from the Palatinate in 1707. In 1744 James Alexander purchased 10,000 acres here. Near here, lived Alexander, Lord Stirling, and there the families of Livingston, Rutherfurd, and Stevens sought refuge from the British armies. Erected 1936 In Lebanon proper on south side of Route 28 - directly in front of Hotel Boudreau's     169
Lebanon Originally named “Jacksonville” after Andrew Jackson. Major stop on Easton-New Brunswick Turnpike from 1806. Town set off from Clinton Township in 1926. 1963 Marker is at the intersection of Main Street and U.S. 22, on the right when traveling east on Main Street. 40.64307 -74.84569 289
Marshall House From about 1817 to 1834, home of James Wilson Marshall, who discovered gold at Sutter's Mill in California in 1848.   Marker is on Bridge Street just east of George Street, on the right when traveling west. 40.36593 -74.9438 295
Mount Airy Village Grew Up Around Holcombe’s Storehouse. Built In 1743. Patriot Army Passed Here June 1778. ND Marker is at the intersection of New Jersey Route 179 and Mt. Airy Village Road, on the right when traveling north on State Route 179. 40.39245 -74.91088 291
Musconetcong Indian name adopted for mountain and stream. The railroad tunnel built in 1872–1875 was the longest in Eastern United States. 1964 Marker is on New Jersey Route 173, on the right when traveling east. Reported missing. 40.6547 -75.0213 285
New Germantown A German Settlement in the 1740's. Its Lutheran Church, 1751, served a large area, The village became Oldwick in 1918. 1965 In front of Zion Lutheran Church, Route 517     439
Old York Road - 1764 Route of the Swift Sure Stage Coach Line from New York to Philadelphia. It followed generally the Old Naraticong Indian Trail. The road crossed the State of New Jersey from Elizabethtown Point to Lambertville. Erected 1940 On Route #29 South of Ringoes - 500 feet South of Route #29 and #30 Junction.     170
Old York Road - 1764 One mile west lies Centerville, halfway, overnight stopping point of travellers on the route of the Swift Sure Stage Coach Line. The coach barn there is now used as a Community House. The route followed roughly the Old Naraticong Indian Trail. Erected 1940 On Route #29 - at intersection of Centerville - Three Bridges Road.     171
Ringo's Tavern Site of Tavern owned by Ringo Family, 1738-1779. "Sons of Liberty" met here in 1766. Local political center during Revolution.   Marker is on County Route 579, on the right when traveling north. 40.43009 -74.86775 284
Solitude Patriots imprisoned loyalist Pennsylvania Governor John Penn and Crown Supreme Court Justice Benjamin Chew here during the Revolutionary War. They named the place “Solitude.” 2006 (replaced 1963 marker) Marker is on River Road. 40.6711 -74.88616 287
Union Forge A group of forges here, known as Union Forge, cast cannon balls for Washington's army and sent them in wagons to Trenton, Brunswick, and Morristown. These forges were visited by many military officials and members of Washington's staff. Erected 1932 At intersection Rt. 30 with road to High Bridge and Califon, marker placed at southeast corner of intersection.     172
Vigilant Society The Alexandria Vigilant Society, 1818-1927, one of oldest in the state, pursued horse thieves and insured its members against loss. 1965 Everittstown - Mt. Pleasant Road, 3/4 mile north of Everittstown     438
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Church Cemetery Thirty-five veterans of the Revolution lie buried here in this 1708 cemetery of the Ewing Presbyterian Church. 1966 Marker is on Scotch Road º mile north of Carlton Avenue, on the right when traveling south. 40.27056 -74.79997 304
Clarksville In December, 1776, skirmishes occurred here between the British and American troops. On the midnight march from Trenton to Princeton on January 2, 1777, General Washington and the American soldiers marched along Quaker Road and through this village. Erected 1932 Rt. 26 - Clarksville, right hand side, near pole PS259ILA     173
Delaware and Bound Brook Railroad Historic District Hopewell Frog War was just east of here. For more information visit the Hopewell train station.   Marker is on Van Dyke Road, on the right when traveling south. 40.38292 -74.78024 302
Dorothea Dix Pioneered to establish this first mental hospital in New Jersey in 1848. She was later Chief Nurse in the Union Army. 1964 (replaced 1939 marker) Marker is on Sullivan Way 0.2 miles north of New Jersey Route 29, on the right when traveling north. Reported missing. 40.24107 -74.80528 305
Dorothea Lynde Dix Pioneer advocate of humane care for mental patients the world over. Commissioned chief nurse, Union Army, in Civil War. Honored guest during closing years of life in this, the first Mental Hospital in Ner Jersey, established by her efforts 1848. Erected 1939 County Rd. Sanhican Drive, Lower gate to State Hospital, opp. Pole 63124TN.     174
Ely Farm Here, 1851, Clara Barton, later founder of the Red Cross, stayed while she taught at Cedar Swamp, her first teaching in New Jersey. 1966 In front of the Matheson House, actually a part of Belair Farm outside of Hightstown on the Imlaystown Road     440
Hightstown Named for John and Mary Hight, who purchased 3,000 acres here in 1721. Their log house and mill once stood in this area.   Marker is on Main Street (New Jersey Route 33). 40.27022 -74.52247 297
Hopewell Academy Founded here in Baptist Parsonage, 1756. Alumni James Manning and Hezekiah Smith developed Brown University. 1963 19 West Broad Street     441
John Fitch Way Named in honor of John Fitch, inventor of the stramboat in 1786. His boats plied between the Falls and Philadelphia.   On John Fitch Way     453
Joseph Hewes Born here, 1730, he later moved to North Carolina. He signed the Declaration of Independence for that state in 1776.   Marker is on Snowden Lane north of Maybury Hill Road, on the right when traveling south. 40.36699 -74.64108 296
Keith Line First Province Line of East and West Jersey, surveyed by George Keith, 1687. Moved by new survey to Lawrence Line, 1742. 1963 WAB Stokes residence on Lawrencevelle-Princeton Road, #27 - next to mile stone (1 mile to Stoney Brook and a small nubbin of a stone which once marked the line - if they still exist.     445
Maidenhead Church Organized during 1698, this Presbyterian congregation was among the earliest in America. Part of this church was built in 1764.   Marker is on Lawrenceville Road (Main Street) (U.S. 206) 0 miles from Gordon Avenue, on the right when traveling north. 40.29819 -74.72908 303
Mercer Auto Cabs Famous racing, sport and pleasure cars were made here, 1909-1925. Highly prized by museums and antique car collectors. 1963 In front of the Thermoid plant on Whitehead Rd at 3rd Ave     451
Old Barracks Built in 1758 for British troops sent to fight in the French and Indian War. Occupied during the Revolution at different times by both British and Continental troops. Now used as a Museum. Open to Visitors. Erected 1936 In front of Old Barracks, Trenton.     175
Old Barracks Built in 1758 for British troops of the French and Indian War. Hessians were quartered here before the Battle of Trenton.   Marker is on Barrack Street just from Lafayette Street, on the right when traveling south. 40.21948 -74.76851 298
Olden House At Washington's request, the Olden family cared for British wounded in this house after the Battle of Princeton.   Marker is on Stockton Road (U.S. 206). 40.33924 -74.67606 301
Opera House The Taylor Opera House, 1867-1920, where the "Greats" of the past played. Here Governors McClellan and Wilson were nominated.   Broad & State     447
Quaker Bridge Washington's Army marched along Quaker Road and crossed this bridge on the night of January 2, 1777, en routw to Stony Brook before the battle of Princeton. Erected 1932 Quaker Bridge - 2.8 miles from Mercerville on County road to Clarksville, 2.0 miles from Clarksville -- located on Mercer County Road.     177
River Road By this road part of Washington's army under Major-General Sullivan entered Trenton to participate in the attack against Colonel Rall and the Hessians, December 26, 1776. Erected 1932 Sullivan Way, just north of the main entrance to School for the Deaf, on right hand side going north.     178
Sandtown Road By this road Washington's army on the night of January 2, 1777, after the second battle at Trenton, made their rapid march around the left flank of the enemy to Princeton to attack the British read guard. Erected 1932 Nottingham Way, Rt. 33, right side of road from Trenton to Mercerville - opp. Present stone Washington Monument - near pole PS195HM.     179
Sandtown Road Using a ruse, on the night of January 2, 1777, the patriot army stole away from Trenton and marched to Princeton by this road. 1963 Nottingham Way, route 33, right hand side of road from Trenton to Mercerville - opposite present stone Washington monument.     450
Shabbakonk On Jan. 2, 1777, Col. Edward Hand posted troops here, who engaged the British and thus delayed the Second Battle of Trenton. 1963 Lawrenceville road, foot of Brock's Hill     444
Shabbakonk Creek Here Colonel Edward Hand, on Washington's orders, stationed riflement who mat Cornwallis' troops enroute to Trenton and repulsed them with heavy loss. The time thus gained enabled Washington to make ready for the Second Battle of Trenton, fought on January 2, 1777. Erected 1932 Rt. 27 - foot of Brock's Hill.     180
State Park Maintained in honor of Washington's Crossing of the Delaware River on Christmas Night, 1776, before victory at Trenton. 1963 River Rd, 100 feet south of the upper drive in park     443
Street Market The Greene Street Market, established here in 1845, lasted until 1870. First city market began about 1745 on Warren Street 1960 On Broad Street between Academy and State Streets     452
Sullivan Way By this road, part of Washington's army under Sullivan entered Trenton to help defear the Hessians, Dec. 26, 1776. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) Sullivan Way just north of the main entrance to the School for the Deaf, on right hand side going north     446
The Frog War Here in 1876, the Mercer and Somerset Railroad tried vainly to stop the Delaware and Bound Brook from crossing over it. 1963 County 518 west of Boro of Hopewell     442
The Grove Built by Samuel Dickinson about 1792. His son, John, attempted silk culture here. Called "The Grove" from its wooded setting. 1963 Outside the house which is now a branch of the Public Library on N. Clinton Ave. at Girard St.     448
Thomas Olden House From the porch of this pre-Revolutionary house, General Wawshington reviewed his troops on their march to Trenton, in December, 1776. After the battle of Princeton he came here to seek aid for the British sick and wounded Erected 1932 (Cottage on road of Drumthwacket estate). Rt. 27 Princeton. This property is on the Pyne Estate - south end of Princeton, opposite pole PS-DA-WUT-15007PT.     176
Trenton Settled, 1679. Named for William Trent, 1719. Battle, Dec. 26, 1776. State capital, 1790. Early transportation and industrial center. 1964 US 1, Trenton circle entering city     449
Trenton Ferry One block South was the Old Ferry Landing where on April 21, 1789, Washington entered New Jersey on his way to New York for the first inauguration. He was received by many citizens of Trenton and the surrounding towns. Erected 1939 On South side of Lower Trenton-Morrisville Bridge, Bridge Street, Trenton. (Washington Inaugural Route Marker).     181
Trenton Ferry April 21, 1789, Washington passed through Trenton on his way to New York for inauguration. Reception was held in City Tavern. 1963 Marker is on John Fitch Way (New Jersey Route 29) 0.1 miles south of East Bridge Street (Business U.S. 1), on the right when traveling north. 40.2104 -74.76638 306
Tusculum Nearby is the residence of President Witherspoon, of Princeton University, used as British quarters, and by General Washington after the defeat of the British at the Battle of Princeton. Erected 1932 Rt. 31, Princeton, between Township police office and Cherry Hill Road.     182
Washington Crossing Park Maintained by the State of New Jersey to commemorate Washington's Crossing of the Delaware River, Christmas night, 1776, on his way to victory over the Hessians at Trenton. His success marked the turning point of the War. Erected 1939 On River Road approximately 100 feet South of upper driveway or 75 feet North of Pole NJP&LCO. 70042 N.W.     183
Watson House Isaac Watson built this early colonial dwelling in 1708. The surrounding area is the famous Indian site, The Abbot Farm.   Marker can be reached from Westcott Avenue 0.1 miles from West Park Avenue. 40.19064 -74.72678 300
Zebulon Pike Brig. Gen. Zebulon Pike, explorer, born near here, 1779. Captured York, Canada, 1813, but killed in attack. Pike’s Peak named for him. ND Marker can be reached from Barracks Street near West Lafayette Street. 40.21962 -74.769 299
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Blacksmith Shop In 1851 Cornelius Farley established this smithy in New Brunswick. Continued by his sons and grandson. It was moved here in 1961. 1963 In front of shop in Johnson Park (A county park)     466
Camp Kilmer Built, 1942, as staging area for Europe-bound troops. Used in Korean War and for Hungarian refugees. Named for Joyce Kilmer. 1964 Across from Hadley Airport.     456
Cross Keys Tavern Site of famous colonial tavery, razed in 1905. Washington lodged here, Apr. 22, 1789, on journey to his inaugural in New York. 1965 Across the street from K of C building at Main and Perth Amboy Ave     473
Early Railroad Section from original Camden and Amboy R.R. track, built by Robert Stevens, 1832. He used wood ties to complete the line. 1963 Early in 1961 about eighty two feet of the original track was moved from along side of the line at Jamesburg Junction to its present site in front of this building, in order to preserve it.     455
Football Site of first American intercollegiate foorball game, Nov. 6, 1869. Score: Rutgers, 6; Princeton, 4. 1964 Rutgers campus in front of the gym     465
Guest House Built by Henry Guest, 1760, of local stone. Thomas Paine once stayed here briefly. Relocated in 1925, became Art Center in 1940. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Livingston Avenue and Morris Street, on the left when traveling south on Livingston Avenue. 40.49165 -74.44578 307
Hadley Airport Constructed, 1924, served as first eastern terminal for Chicago-New York air mail, 1925-29. Became public field in 1927. 1964 At the airport     472
John Johnstone In 1685, John Johnstone, pharmacist from Scotland and early proprietor of East New Jersey, settled at Perth Amboy. 1965 Raritan Bay Front; High and Gordon Streets     467
Kearny Cottage Built about 1780. Home of Commodore Lawrence Kearny. His famous uncle, Captain James Lawrence, also live here as a boy.   Marker is on Catalpa Avenue. 40.50088 -74.27209 311
Kilmber House Boyhood home of Joyce Kilmer, writer and poet, famous for poem, "Trees". Killed in action on Western Front, 1918. 1964 17 Joyce Kilmer Ave, Legion Post.     461
Market Square Site of colonial market, a large building used for storage and sale of local produce and imports. It was torn down in 1842. 1963 In the city owned park, which is known as Market Square at Market and High Streets     468
Medical Society The Medical Society of New Jersey - oldest state medical organization in the nation - was founded here, at Duff's Inn, in 1766. 1965 NE Corner of Peace and Albany Streets New Brunswick     460
Metuchen June, 1777, part of the British army under Howe encamped along the brook between Metuchen and Bonhamtown. As Howe marched toward Short Hills to join Cornwallis, he here encountered Continental troops and a sharp skirmish ensued. Erected 1932 At Northeast corner intersection Rt. 25 with Metuchen - Bonhamtown Road - opp. Pure Oil - Texaco Gasoline Station - between poles PS4534RT and PS4532RT.     186
Metuchen Settled about 1700, named for Indian chief, Metuching. Colonial trade center at Oak Tree Store. Skirmish fought here in June, 1777. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Route 27, center of town, the park     458
New Brunswick Here, on April 22, 1789, on his way to New York for his inauguration, Washington was received by a military escort and by the officers and people of the city. He dined at the home of Major Thomas Egbert on the N.E. Corner of Burnett and Albany Streets. Erected 1939 North end of New Brunswick, on Rt. #27, foot of Albany Street Bridge over Raritan River. (Washington Inaugural Route Marker)     187
New Brunswick Called Indian's Ferry, 1685, New Brunswick, 1734. Held by British, 1776-77. Raritan bridge, 1796. Terminus of D. and R. Canal, 1834. 1963 North end of New Brunswick on Rt 27, foot of Albany Street Bridge over Raritan River     462
Perth Amboy Called “Ompoge” by Indians, “Ambo Point” by settlers. Built as capital and port of East Jersey, 1683. “Perth” was added for Lord Perth. 1963 Marker is on New Brunswick Avenue, on the right when traveling east. 40.52222 -74.28809 309
Piscataway Town Site of parade and burial grounds, old Piscataway Township, founded by New Englanders in 1666. Nearby were town hall and pound. 1964 County route 514 at St. James Episcopal Church     470
Quibbletown A colonial hamlet which was so named because of dissension as to whether Saturday or Sunday is the sabbath. New Market, 1830. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Entrance to new market     471
Quibbletown - New Market - Part of Washington's army, retreating before the British, passed this way November 29, 1776, en route to Brunswick. June 24, 1777, Washington moved the army here but returned to Middlebrook, June 26. Erected 1932 On New Market Road - between poles PC60116 and 60117.     188
Raritan Bay Union A Socialistic community, led by Marcus Spring, operated here, 1853-59. Its coeducational academy was headed by Thodore Weld. 1965 Convey Blvd.     469
Record Office This building, erected in 1867, contains the record of the East Jersey Proprietors, who bought Carteret’s lands in 1682. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of High Street and Market Street, on the left when traveling south on High Street. 40.50661 -74.26542 308
Rubber Factory J. Christopher Meyer, pioneer industrialist, founded one of nation's earliest rubber factories at the site in 1834. 1964 Main Street at the corner of Ford in front of the Michelin Plant     459
Rubber Factory Site, Horace Day's Rubber Goods Factory, 1839-60. Daniel Webster, counsel for Goodyear, won patent case against Day in 1852. 1965 The entire block on Neilson Street at Dennis burned in 1876. Consult city directory of that date or before for exact location.     463
South Amboy The Camden and Amboy, the first railroad in New Jersey, had its Northern terminus here. It began operations in Sept., 1833. 1963 New route 35, just south of Main St. south Amboy     534
St. Peterís Church Organized, 1698, St. Peter’s is New Jersey’s oldest Episcopal Parish. Royal charter, 1718. Churches on this site in 1722 and 1852.   Marker is at the intersection of Rector Street and Gordon Street, on the left when traveling south on Rector Street. 40.50407 -74.26565 310
The "Whaling Fleet" Privateers under William Mariner and Adam Hyler used New Brunswick as a base for raids on the British and Tories, 1778-82. 1964 (replaced 1939 marker) In little park where Burnett St used to be - or - where ever Miller thinks best.     464
The Amboys Washington lodged here on his way from New York to Mt. Vernon, May 31, 1773. While enroute to Philadelphia to attend Congress, May 21, 1776, he examined the surrounding territory with a view to its defense. Later he again reconnoitered in this area. Erected 1932 New Route 35, just south of Main Street, South Amboy.     184
The Jewish Agricultural Society The Jewish Agricultural Society founded an agri-industrial community here in the 1930s on land purchased by Gabriel Davidson. Backed by the Baron deHirsch, the program enabled Jewish families to poultry farm while maintaining jobs in New York and became a model for similar New Deal Programs.   Marker is at the intersection of Davidson Road and Avenue E, on the right when traveling north on Davidson Road. 40.52507 -74.45446 312
Thomas A. Edison Here at his laboratory from 1876 to 1886, Edison perfected the electric light bulb, the phonograph and other inventions. 1960 On lawn near Boulder tablet on Route 27, at Edison     457
Thomas Alva Edison "The Wizard of Menlo Park", noble, kindly servant and benefactor of all mankind, from 1876 to 1886, at his laboratory nearby, perfected the first incandescent lamp, phonograph and many other important inventions, Erected 1939 On Route 27, N.E. corner Christie Street & Highway 27, 10 ft. N. of Pole #1-H C L-274 Rt-60422.     185
Washington Rock Tradition states that this vantage point was used by General Washington as a military observation point on several occasions. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker, which was also replaced in 1937) 150 ft. west of Dunellen Washington Rock State Park road, on route 29 on south side of highway between poles 360470 & 60469     454
Woodbridge November 28-29, 1776, Washington passed this way on the march to New Brunswick. April 22, 1789, on his inaugural tour to New York, he lodged at the Cross Keyes Tavern at the northwest corner of Main Street and Perth Amboy Avenue. Erected 1932 Intersection Rt. 4 with Mawbey Street, Woodbridge, between telephone pole and corner - right hand side, entering Woodbridge from Cloverleaf. 40.55591 -74.28358 107
Woodbridge On his way to New York for his inauguration, Washington spent the night of April 22, 1789, by tradition, at the John Manning Inn here. Governor William Livingston had accompanied him from New Brunswick. Erected 1939 Corner of Main Street and Perth Amboy Avenue, Woodbridge on Knights of Columbus property where John Manning Inn stood. (Washington Inaugural Route Marker)     189
Woodbridge In 1666, Daniel Pierce and others bought a huge tract and named it Woodbridge after their Pastor in New England. 1963 Main Street (route 514) just west of US 9     474
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Battle of Monmouth Fought June 28, 1778, by the armies of Washington and Clinton. The hear was so intense that many in both armies were overcome. Washington rebuked General Chas. Lee for disobeying orders and for retreating. An important American victory. Erected 1932 200 ft. west of sign marking Molly Pitcher Well - opp. Hedge hence southwest side road entering Freehold from Tennent.     190
Christ Church Converts of George Keith, 1702, became nucleus of Episcopalian Congregation Incorporated in 1738. This edifice was built in 1769.   Marker is at the intersection of Broad Street and Sycamore Avenue on Broad Street. 40.32351 -74.06131 314
Colt's Neck Sept., 1780, Tories, under the notorious Col. Tye, plundered the house of Capt. Joshua Huddy. General Clinton and his army, after their defeat at the Battle of Monmouth, marched this way en route to the Highlands. Erected 1932 Southeast corner intersection Rt. 34 with county concrete road Freehold to Long Branch - 50 ft. from directional signs.     191
Cox's Corner Three Cox brothers lived near here the descendant of one was a general in the revolution; of another a presidential candidate. 1963 Cox's corner (County routes 524 and 43)     494
Field Hospitals General Washington established hospitals at the old Tennent Church, the parsonage, and the Court House, which stood about on the same site as the present one. Raids were made here and once the village was controlled by the Refugees. Erected 1932 Intersection State Highway 33 with Manalapan Avenue leading to Freehold - behind sign "Protect Freehold Children - American Legion".     192
Grant Cottage Site of summer home of Ulysses S. Grant, 1869-1884. Commander of Union Army and twice President of the United States. 1963 991 Ocean Ave, Elberon NJ     485
Hankinson House Built in 1755. Occupied by British Commander, Sir Henry Clinton, June 27, 1778, the day before the Battle of Monmouth 1963 150 West Main Street County 537     479
Imlay House Built by John Imlay in 1790. Born in Monmouth County in 1749, he became a wealthy merchant and ship owner in Philadelphia 1963 Dr. Farmer's Private Clinic, 28 South Main Street     476
Indian Trails The minisink or Great Mohawk Trail and the Burlington Path met here. From this point, branch trails ran to the sea. 1963 (replaced 1939 marker, which was also replaced in 1940) Main Street of Middletown     488
Laird Distillery Jersey apple brandy has been made by the Lairds since early 1700's and on this site of the family homestead since 1851. 1963 County road 537 near Laird Road     478
Marconi Tower The first trans-Atlantic wireless telegraph tower in the United States was erected here in 1907. Its outline was kite shaped. 1963 In the borough of Highlands, left of the more northerly twin light.     481
Marl Beds Marl discovered here in 1768. Used in nineteenth century as a fertilizer, now as a water softener. Beds often contain fossils. 1963 On Buck's Lane, Marlboro Township - K5 on county marked map on file in Inventory File     486
Middletown When near Freehold, before the Battle of Monmouth, June 28, 1778, Washington and some of his men rode through this district on a reconnoitering expedition. Erected 1932 Southeast corner intersection Rt. 35 with road entering Middletown from Keyport.     116
Middletown Early settlement within Monmouth patent, which was granted in 1665 by Gov. Nichols to 12 men from New England and Long Island. 1963 Village no NE side of route 35 about 50 feet from point of intersection with King's Highway     489
Monmouth Battle fought June 28, 1778, was a victory for Washington over British and Hessians, who had evacuated Philadelphia. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Route 9, 1 mile north of Freehold Circle on the left side, New York Road     480
Newell House Home of Dr. William A. Newell, founder of Life Saving Service, 1840's. Later Governor, New Jersey, and of Washington Territory 1963 In front of his residence which is now used as a Catachetical center by the Catholic Church. 81 South Main Street     475
Passage Point Developed as a plantation in 1689 by Lewis Morris, cousin of later governor. Sloops were loaded here with Tinton Falls iron. 1963 North side of Hartshorne Lane 2nd house west of Navesink Avenue     492
Penelope Stout Famous pioneer woman, survivor of Indian attack, later wife of one of the founders of middletown. Buried on this farm, 1733. 1963 Between Middleton and Holmdel on Evertt Rd across from Bell Telephone Station     483
Philip Freneau "Poet of the revolution" and Jeffersonian Editor. His home, Mount Pleasant, burned here in 1818. He was buried near it, 1832. 1963 Locust and Freneay Avenues     487
Philip Morin Freneau Poet of the Revolution. Some two miles to the south was "Mt. Pleasant", his home after 1793. By his pen, he sustained the spirits of the Colonists, and after the Revolution advocated the policies of Thomas Jefferson. Erected 1937 At Jct. of Rts. 4 and 34 - Marawan on Southwest corner of intersection.     194
Pine Robbers Near here in 1778 the pine robber, Fagan, was shot and killed. His body was hung from a nearby tree as a dire example. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) corner of Rt 34 and 537 1 mile east of Freehold on 537     477
Quaker Meeting First meeting house of Shrewsbury, built by the Friends in 1672, this building 1816. Oldest rural congregation in New Jersey. 1963 In front of building on NE corner of Broad #35 and Sycamore #66     493
Radio Astronomy Near this site in 1932, Bell Labs. scientist Karl Jansky first discovered radio waves coming from outer space, thus beginning the science of radio astronomy. 1972 Marker is on Crawford Corners Road near Seven Oaks Drive, on the right when traveling east. 40.37187 -74.15974 315
Sea Bright Oldest tennis and cricket club in the United States. First meeting helf in 1878. Club house and courts were built in 1887. 1963 in front of club, Rumson Road and Tennis Court Lane     491
Shrewsbury On April 8, 1665, Governor Richard Nicolls, of New York, granted the Monmouth Patent to twelve men from Rhode Island and Gravesend, Long Island. Under this patent settlements were soon made here and at Middletown. Erected 1936 At Shrewsbury - on Northeast corner of Route 35 (Broad Ave.) and Sycamore Ave. (Freehold-Little Silver Road), directly in front of "Society of Friends" burial grounds.     195
Station Site Trolly lines covered many states in early 1900's. One could board a car here and reach New York or Philadelphia. 1963 Main St and Wood St     484
Telstar Here on July 10, 1962, the Bell Laboratories received the first telecast from their satellite telstar. 1963 On Bell Telephone property     482
The King's Highway Laid out in 1719 - 100 feet wide following the route of an old Indian trail from Barnegat to Navesink. The British Army, under Generals Clinton and Cornwallis, marched along it, June 29, 1778, on their way to New York after the Battle of Monmouth. Erected 1940 In front of Episcopal Church between Pole 90107 MDT-JCP & LCO MDT-1A, Middletown.     193
The White Homestead Touched by history for nearly three centuries, this house witnessed the revolution, sheltering its Quaker loyalist owners and offivers of the Royal British Army. 1970 20 South Street     490
Village Inn Built in 1732. Here, after the Battle of Monmouth, Washington ordered the arrest of Lee, who had disobeyed battle orders.   Marker is at the intersection of N Main Street (County Route 527) and Water Street (County Route 522), on the left when traveling north on N Main Street. 40.29713 -74.35854 313
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Washington's Headquarters Washington made his winter headquarters at the Arnold Tavern, January 6, 1777, now a part of All Souls Hospital. December, 1779, he established quarters at the Ford Mansion, now maintained as a museum. Erected 1932 Rt. 24 - South Street - opp. Entrance to Driveway to 230 South Street. 40.79578 -74.467 108
Arnold Tavern Site of Col. Jacob Arnold's Tavern. It was used as Washington's Headquarters January - May, 1777. Troops were in Lowantica Valley. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Marker is at the intersection of North Park Place and West Park Place, on the right when traveling south on North Park Place. 40.79736 -74.48174 326
Beaverwyck Lucas Van Beaverhoudt had a 1650-acre estate here from 1772 to about 1795. Later owned by Tobias Boudinot. 1964 Route 6 intersection with Beaverwick Road     506
Beaverwyck - Red Barracks - This colonial manor was visited by Washington on several occasions. At one time it was regarded as neutral ground, and was therefore frequented by officers of borth armies. Erected 1932 Rt. 6 -intersection with Beaverwick Road     196
Betsy Schuyler Col. Alexander Hamilton successfully courted Elizabeth Schuyler here in the home of her aunt, Mrs. Jabez Campfield, 1780. 1963 In front of house at 5 Olyphant Plave which is open as a museum and run by the DAR, Morristown Chapter     503
Boisaubin House Built in 1790's by a French emigre on a campsite of the Continental Army, later, a station on the "Underground Railroad"   Marker is on Treadwell Avenue, on the right when traveling south. 40.76795 -74.4433 325
Bonnel Town - Chatham - June 7, 1780, soldiers under the command of Gen. Washington marched here from Morristown to check the advancing enemy beyond Short Hills. At Connecticut Farms the onset was checked. Erected 1932 Rt. 24, Main Street & Brooklake Road, between poles CM40074 and CM40073. 40.7292515 -74.3799025 124
Bottle Hill Tavern A colonial tavern of this name gave Madison its first name. This tavern, built on turnpike about 1804, moved here in 1923. 1964 177 Main street     497
Chatham Settled by John and Daniel Day. Named for the Earl of Chatham William Pitt. Washington often visited troops here. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker, replaced in 1938) Marker is on Main Street near Boundary Road, Madison, on the right when traveling east. 40.74627 -74.39489 324
Convent Station Home of the College of St. Elizabeth, the first New Jersey college for women. Founded in 1899 by Sisters of Charity. 1963 In front of Xavier Hall     501
German Valley Settled by German groups about 1740. Union Church of logs, 1747, stone, 1774. Renamed Long Valley during first world war. 1963 Marker is on Schooley's Mountain Road, on the right when traveling south. 40.78562 -74.7804 327
Hacklebarney Hacklebarney or Budd Forge, built about 1763. Operations ceased after 1834. Hacklebarney Mine upstream furnished ore. 1963 Marker is on State Park Road, on the left when traveling south. 40.77872 -74.72201 320
Jockey Hollow About 12,000 soldiers of the Continental Army were encamped between Morristown and Mendham, during the memorable winter of 1779-1781 a smaller force was encamped here. Erected 1932 Rt. 32 - opp. Road to Jockey Hollow - about 3.5 miles from Morristown - 4 miles from Bernardsville - at McAlpin's Corner.     197
Jockey Hollow In the winter of 1779-80 coldest of the War the Patriot Army camped in these hills, smaller forces stayed until 1782. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) Marker is on Mt Kemble Avenue (U.S. 202), on the right when traveling south. 40.75419 -74.52646 316
John G. Symmes Revolutionary patriot member of Confederation Congress, and promoter of the Symmes Purchase in Ohio, lived here. 1964 Sussex Avenue     500
Macculloch Hall George Perot Macculloch promoter of Morris Canal, built this house in 1810. He operated a private school here until 1825.   Marker is on Macculloch Avenue, on the left when traveling north. Reported missing. 40.7922 -74.4813 319
March to the Highlands The Continental troops moved from Middlebrook to Morristown, July 3, 1777. Washington, told of the surrender of Ft. Ticonderoga, deared a British occupation of the Highlands, and on July 10, marched toward to North River via Pompton Plains. Erected 1932 Rt. 32, entering Morristown from Morris Plains - on same side of road as Morristown Junior High School.     198
Morris Canal Built in 1831, it ran 102 miles over hill and dale, using inclined planes and locks. In 1866, the peak year, tonage was 889,200. 1963 At canal which ran through Lak Mussenetong     505
Morristown Settled in 1715 as West Hanover. Present name after county was formed, 1739. Washington's army encamped near here twice. 1963 Route 32, entering Morristown from Morris Plains on same side of the road as the Jr. high School     502
Mount Hope John Jacob Faesch from Switzerland built iron works here, 1772. He made ordnance for Washington’s Army. Furnace closed, 1825. 1964 Marker can be reached from 629 Mt. Hope Road. 40.92851 -74.54269 318
New Jersey Journal Founded on this site by Shepard Kollock, 1779. Moved to Elizabeth, 1783. The oldest continuing newspaper in New Jersey. 1963 55 Main Street     499
Norris's Tavern Site of famous inn known as Dickerson's until 1777, then as Norris's. Benedict Arnold was tried here for misconduct, Jan., 1780. 1961 In front of store at 77 Spring Street     504
Old Boonton A submerged town, site of forge, 1759; Iron Works of 1770 made ordnance for Patriot Army. New Hersey Iron Works, 1831-1911. 1964 At the resevoir     498
Old Sayre Mansion The Sayre House, in Madison, build about 1745, was used by General Anthony Wayne as quarters while the army was in camp in the Loantaka Valley. It is memorable for conferences helf by Washington and his military officers. Erected 1932 Rt. 24 - 150 ft. east of Rotary sign, entering Madison from Morristown on right hand side.     199
Old Whippany Burying Ground John Richard, the village school master, who gave this ground for the first church in Morris County, 1718, is buried here. 1963 Route 10 outside of the cemetery of Whippany Presbyterian Cemetery.     495
Parsippany Half a mile south lived, during the years 1777-1781, William Livingston, Revoluationary War Governor of New Jersey. Under the waters of the Resevoir to the north was Old Boonton. Iron works there supplied munitions for the Continental Army. Erected 1936 Intersection of Routes 202-32 and 46-6 - Northeast Corner.     200
Rose City Rose culture in this area began in 1856. Largest greenhouse "range" built in 1880. Madison became known as "The Rose City" 1963 Marker is on Madison Avenue, on the right when traveling east. 40.7738 -74.44033 322
Sayre House Built about 1745, was the headquarters of Gen. Anthony Wayne in 1777. Rev. James Caldwell was frequent visitor here. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker, replaced in 1938) Marker is on Ridgedale Avenue 0.1 miles east of Park Ave., on the right when traveling east. Reported missing. 40.7628 -74.41595 321
Schooley's Mountain The mineral spring here, already in use by 1770, became nationally famous. The health spa flourished through the 19th century. 1963 In front of the post office on route 24 & 517, north of Long Valley     508
Site of Ferromonte Iron mine proprietor Mahlon Dickerson’s home. N.J. Governor; U.S. Senator; Secretary of Navy 1834-38; Delegate to N.J. Constitutional Convention 1844; favored national tariffs to protect American industry.   Marker is at the intersection of Canfield Avenue (NJ 669) and Spring Hill Lane on Canfield Avenue (NJ 669). 40.86935 -74.60995 328
Succasunna Mine This Indian name means "black stone" or iron. Mine opened, 1713, renamed Dickerson, 1780's. Supplied many forges. Closed 1890's.   Rt. 10     507
Thomas Nast From 1872 to 1902, home of political cartoonist who exposed Tweed ring and created Democrat donkey and Republican elephant. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of MacCulloch Avenue and Miller Road, on the right when traveling north on MacCulloch Avenue. 40.79183 -74.48084 317
Two Bridges In 1780 Two Bridges was an American camp which linked routes from Hudson highlights to Morristown and Pompton. 1965 Two Bridges - Lincoln Park Road, near Lincoln Blvd     496
Whippany After the battle of Springfield, Washington put all the troops under marching orders for the North River and arrived here June 25, 1780. Erected 1932 Rt. 10, in front of church at intersection with Beaverwick Road.     201
Whippany After Battle of Springfield Washington put all the troops under marching orders for the North River and arrived here June 25, 1780.   Marker is at the intersection of Mt. Pleasant Avenue (New Jersey Route 10) and Troy Hills Road, on the right when traveling west on Mt. Pleasant Avenue. 40.82058 -74.40703 323
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
British Attacks During the Revolution, at Toms River a guard was stationed to prevent Tory depredations, contraband trade, and to aid privateers. March 24, 1782, the British attacked the black-house, captured Joshua Huddy, and burned the sttlement. Erected 1932 On Rt. 4, going north, entering Toms River, right hand side, about 100 ft. before Toms River sign.     202
Capt. Joshua Huddy Captured here March 28, 1782, when the Tories attacked the blockhouse and burned Toms River. He was later hanged. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Route 9, going north, entering Toms River, right hand side about 100 feet before Toms River sign     511
Francis House Home of Joseph Francis, inventor of life car and other sea-rescue devices. The life car saved 200 when first used in 1850. 1963 In front of his home which is now the Riverview Hotel     512
Massacre On Oct. 25, 1782, Capt. Andrew Steelman and most of his crew, sleeping on the beach, were killed by Bacon's Tories. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Central Avenue between 18th and 19th Sts.     509
Massacre at Long Beach October 25, 1782, a British vassel ran aground near Barnegat City and was captured by patriot militiamen under Capt. Andrew Steelman. That night, while sleeping on the beach, Steelman and his men were massacred by Tory raiders led by John Bacon. Erected 1932 Near Beach Arlington at end of Bridge - left hand side of road entering Beach Arlington - north side of road opposite Atlantic City Electric Company sub-station - 200' from Ocean Drive. 39.7633942 -74.1066794 125
Meeting House Built in 1767 by the Quakers of Barnegat. It was the first house of prayer in the village and third in the county. 1963 In front of Meeting House, East Bay Street     516
Morman Church Site of church which was the center of Mormonism in New Jersey. Joseph Smith preached here and won many converts in 1840 1963 On site where church stood, across route 9 from Central RR Station, where Flint Road crosses Main Street     513
Mule Railroad Built in 1842 by William Torrey. A locomotive was first used, then mules, to bring charcoal from Kilns at Lakeburst to dock here. 1963 Beachwood dock, opposite the ball field     510
The Potter Church Built by Thomas Potter became the birthplace of the Universalist Church in America when, in 1770, John Murray preached here. 1963 In front of the church which stand in a grave yard off route 9, in Lanoka Harbor.     514
Tuckerton Oct. 1778, a detachment of Continental Troops encamped here, was attacked by the British who were repulsed, Giberson, the Pine Robber, and his men once raided the settlement. During the Revolution, this region was a favorite haunt of privateers. Erected 1932 Entering Tuckerton right hand side from Atlantic City, Rt. 4, at trimagle     203
Tuckerton Once "Little Egg Harbor." Privateer base during revolution. Pulaski's troops repulsed British attack, Oct. 14, 1778. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Entering Tuckerton right hand side from Atlantic City Rt 4 at triangle     515
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Acquackanonk Bridge American troops encamped between the Hackensack and Passaic Rivers, were ordered by Washington, Nov. 21, 1776, to cross the Passaic here. After burning the bridge, they marched across Jersey. The Blanchard House ofter was used as a headquarters. Erected 1932 Bridge over Passaic River at River Drive and Gregory Avenue. Tablet at church refers to Blanchard House; also inscription on foundation of Wagoner House. 40.8543571 -74.1211772 126
American Encampment - Totowa Heights - October 9 - November 27, 1780, the patriot army camp extended along this site which had also been used in July. Washington came from his headquarters in Preakness to Totowa and visited the Van Houtens. Erected 1932 Rt. 6 - alongside Totowa Sub-station Post Office and Boro Produce Market, in front of hollow.     204
Dey Mansion Home of Col. Theunis Dey, built about 1740. Twice used by Washington as headquarters in 1780, when the army was in Totowa. 1964 Marker is on Totowa Road, on the left when traveling east. Reported missing. 40.91501 -74.23343 329
Dundee Canal Since 1828 has contributed to Passaic's industrial and employment growth. Today it still supplies water commercially. 1966 232 Randolph Ave     517
Great Notch Used by Washington as a lookout while quartered at the Dey House, October, 1780. Major Parr’s Rifle Corps camped in ravine. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) Marker is at the intersection of Rifle Camp Road and Old Rifle Camp Road, on the right when traveling north on Rifle Camp Road. 40.87725 -74.20023 330
Passaic Falls Alexander Hamilton envisioned the great potential power of these scenic falls for industrial development.   Marker is on McBride Avenue, on the right when traveling north. 40.91509 -74.18031 332
Paterson Organized, 1792, "The Society for Establishing Useful Manfactures," hired Pierre L'Enfant, later planner of nation's capital, to aid them. 1963 In front of city hall.     518
Ringwood Manor Forges Here, during the Revolution, were made cannon and shot for the Continental Army. Washington and Greene were quartered at the Manor, home of Robert Erkine, Geographer of the Army. Here began the march of 3000 soldiers to Yorktown. Erected 1932 2 miles from Erskine Railroad Station - at entrance to private road     205
Rogers Works Thomas Rogers, one of the most celebrated builders of railroad locomotives, built a plant on this site in 1832 1963 Marker is on Market Street. 40.9137 -74.1792 333
SchuylerñColfax This house is an example of 18th century architecture. The Schuyler and Colfax families were prominent in shaping New Jersey history.   Marker is on Hamburg Turnpike (U.S. 202), on the right when traveling east. 40.9878 -74.2792 331
Totowa Heights Continental army camped here twice during 1780, while Washington stayed at the Dey House in Preakness. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Route 6 - along ide of Totowa Substation Post Office, in front of hollow     519
Washington Headquarters - Preakness - July 1-29, and October 9 - November 27, 1780, Washington had headquarters here at the house of Colonel Theunis Dey. The Main army encamped along Totowa Heights. Erected 1932 County road in front of house - between poles 60754W and 60755W. 40.9150496 -74.2329495 117
Washington's Headquarters Since Pompton was on the main route North, the Continental army camped here often. Washington quartered at the Schuyler House, July 12, 1777, and visited Colonel Van Cortlandt here, March 28, 1782. Erected 1932 Rt. 23 opp. Side of street from pole RT34004, diagonally opp. Old stone house, by vacant lot.     206
Washington's Lookout - Great Notch - On October 23, 1780, the light infantry was stationed here. The hill on the east side of the Notch was used by Washington as a lookout from which to observe the movement of his troops. Erected 1932 On Rt. 23 - opp. Automotive Garage - between poles PS597CG and PS596CG     207
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Dickinson House The most ornate of early glazed brick patterns decorate the west wall of this house, built in 1754 by John Dickinson.   Marker is on Brickyard Road 0.4 miles west of Pierson Road, on the right when traveling west. 39.60024 -75.3332 336
Finn's Point Four miles to the south is Finn's Point National Cemetery where are buried 2,436 Confederate soldiers who died at Fort Delaware while prisoners of war. More than 100 Union soldiers also lie there. Erected 1937 On Broadway Road running from Pennsville to Salem, at Penns Neck (near Harrisonville) at Jct. of Broadway and Fort Mott Road.     118
Fort Elfsborg Not far from here on the New Hersey side of the Delaware River, in 1643, the Swedes erected an earthwork fort with three angles, on order of Gov. Johan Printz to control the River. It was commanded by Lieut. Sven Skute, and was abandoned in 1651. Erected 1938 At Elsinborough on County road between Salem and Oakwood Beach, Salem County. 39.5492536 -75.521011 119
Fort Elsinboro Site of first English settlement in New Jersey, 1641, soon destroyed by the Dutch. Swedes built Fort Elfsborg, 1643. 1963 (replaced 1937 marker, replaced 1938) Salem - Fort Elfsborg Road, near Sinnicksons Landing     521
Glass Works Here Caspar Wistar founded an important industry by making the first south Jersey glass in 1739. Closed, 1781. 1963 (replaced 1935 marker) About one and one quarter miles from Alloway on the road to Mullion Hill.     520
Hancock Massacre Four miles south at Hancock Bridge is the house where Simcoe's Tories massacred sleeping patriots, March 21, 1778. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Salem-Hancocks Bridge Road near Hillcrest Avenue     526
Hancock's House Massacre Four miles south, during the night of March 21, 1778, a party of Tory Rangers under Major Simcoe surprised and massacred about thirty patirots quartered in the house of Judge William Hancock at Hancock's Bridge. Erected 1932 On the Quinton Road - right hand side going from Salem to Quinton - about 800 ft. from the crossroads.     208
Old Pittsgrove Presbyterian Church Formally organized in 1741, though services had been held as early as 1720. The old church was built in 1767. School here came to be called "Pittsgrove College", because of number of students prepared for college by the ministers. Erected 1941 At intersection of Alloway-Salem Road and Woodstown-Bridgeton Road at the Daretown Cemetery. 39.6007116 -75.2612586 120
Penn's Neck Early settled by the Swedes, but received its name from William Penn who owned a large part of the land. Until 1714, the Swedes were members of Trinity Church, Wilmington. In the year 1714, St. George's Church was organized. Erected 1938 Corner of Regional High School - North Carneys Point, Route 44 - left hand side entering Carneys Point from Pennsgrove.     209
Pittsgrove Church Founded in 1741, first Presbyterian Church in present Salem County. Its boarding school was important in the 1780's.   Marker is on Daretown Road. 39.59991 -75.26204 335
Quaker Meeting Hancock Bridge Meeting House, built 1756, on land deeded to the Friends by William Hancock, who was later slain by the British. 1963 Buttonwood Ave. Hancock Bridge     522
Quinton's Bridge March 18, 1778, Captain William Smith attacked British troops under Major J. Graves Simcoe. Colonel Elijah Hand brought the Cumberland militia to the relief of the patriots, defeating the British at the Bridge. Erected 1932 Rt. 49 - entering Quinton from Salem, right hand side - directly opposite pole BT-32-598     210
Quinton's Bridge Simcoe's Tory Rangers lured capt. Smith's Militia over the bridge, Mar. 18, 1778, and routed them. Next day the British were defeated. 1963 At the bridge over the creek as you enter Quinton from the North on 49     525
Saint George's Church Built in 1808 to replace a log structure built in 1717 by Swedish Luterans. The church became Episcopalian in 1794. 1963 Corner of Broadway & Church Landing Road, Lower Penns Neck.     524
Salem Oak Tree Most famous New Jersey tree stands in cemetery. By tradition, John Fenwick made his treaty with the Indians in its shade, 1675. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of W Broadway (New Jersey Route 49) and Oak Street, on the right when traveling west on W Broadway. Reported permanently removed. 39.57286 -75.47038 334
Swedish House Built in 1640's in Salem area, later moved here. The Scandanavian timber or plank house was the forerunner of log cabins. 1963 On Locust Island Road side of the Hancock House     523
Wistarburg Glass Works - Alloway Here, Caspar Wistar began the manufacture of glass in 1739. His son Richard carried on the business till the Revolution made it unprofitable. This was the beginning of an industry important in South Jersey for 150 years. Erected 1935 1.25 Miles from Alloway on road to Mullica Hill; in front of property owned by Joseph Marich. 39.5693854 -75.3396644 121
Woodstown March, 1778, the British troops and foraging parties proceeding to Salem, divided at the Seven Stars Tavern, and one regiment marched this way. It is said that they halted and stacked their guns near the Meeting House. Erected 1932 Rt. 45 - entering Woodstown from Camden, right hand side - in front of old Meeting House, before bearing to left.     211
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
1777 Encampment The Continental Army camped here from May 28 to July 2, 1777. Advance units were on the slopes facing the Raritan Valley. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker, replaced 1937) Marker is at the intersection of Chimney Rock Road and Gilbride Road, on the right when traveling north on Chimney Rock Road. 40.59206 -74.56275 337
1777 Reboubt One of the redoubts and breastworks erected by the Continental troops, June, 1777, to defend the encampment in the valley. 1964 Marker is on Bolmer Farm Road, on the right when traveling south. 40.60184 -74.57565 338
1777 Reboubt One of the redoubts and breastworks erected by the Continental troops, June, 1777, to defend the encampment in the valley. 1964 On old Farm Road at Children's play area in the Spring Run Development sponsored by John-Manville.     530
American Revolution Army Encampent Army Encampment. Encampment area for the Pennsylvania troops of the Continental Army from about December 15, 1778, until June 1, 1779.   Marker is at the intersection of South 9th Avenue and Camplain Road on South 9th Avenue. 40.53916 -74.59377 343
Army Encampment Encampment area for the Pennsylvania troops of the Continental Army from about December 15, 1778, until June 1, 1779. 1964 Camplain Road and South 9th Street     529
Basking Ridge General Charles Lee was captured by the British at Widow White's Tavern in this village, December 13, 1776. The estate of General Alexander, Lord Stirling, Washington's friend, was about two miles away in an easterly direction. Erected 1933 In front of Methodist Church on Finley Avenue     212
Basking Ridge First settled by James Pitney and others about 1720. Gen. Charles Lee was captured at the tavern by the British, Dec. 13, 1776. 1963 (replaced 1933 marker) In front of Methodist Church on Finley Ave     527
British Retreat Diagonally opposite stood Van Tilburgh's Inn. Here, after the battle of Princeton, and the pursuit of the retreating British, Washington turned left on the Rocky Hill Road and marched down the Millstone Valley. Erected 1932 Rt. 27 - Kingston. Diagonally opposite B.P. Mullener Store - right hand side of road going to New Brunswick.     213
Camp Middlebrook May 29, 1777, General Washington ordered the main army to encamp here. His headquarters stood on this site, and the army was billeted along the heights until July 3, 1777. Erected 1932 On Rt. 29 exactly 4.7 miles East of Somerville Circle on South side of Highway opposite slab #518     214
Early Church A pioneer log church was built under the ancient oak before 1731. A frame church replaced it in 1749. Present structure, 1839. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of S Maple Avenue and E Oak Street, on the right when traveling north on S Maple Avenue. 40.70656 -74.5492 339
Fisher House This 1688 house became the home of Hendrick Fisher, prominent citizen and patriot leader until his death in 1778   Memorial is on Easton Avenue. 40.54599 -74.51945 345
Historic Houses Turn right next light to Washington's Headquarters and old Dutch Parsonage on Washington Place. Both open to the public. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Rt. 206 going north west on right hand side before coming to Somerset Street     533
Lock No. 10 The Delaware and Raritan Canal was built, 1830 - 34, by Canvass White. Closed in 1933, it now supplies water for industry 1964 Marker is on Weston Canal Road (Route 623 at milepost 2.5). 40.5412 -74.56739 342
Melick Home Built in 1751 by Johannes Moelick, a German farmer and tanner. Made famous by Andrew D. Mellick's "Story of an Old Farm". 1965 Marker is on Old Dutch Road East. 40.69086 -74.64872 340
Mettler's Woods Historical name of this virgin forest of 65 acres. Now preserved by Rutgers University for study and enjoyment. 1965 On Amwell Road about 2 miles beyond Dr. Schmidt's home.     531
Millstone During the Revolution, fortifications were erected here and were used by both British and American troops. June, 1777, Cornwallis advanced here over the Amwell and Princeton Roads. Oct., 1779, Major Simcoe burned Somerset Court House. Erected 1932 Intersection three miles from Millstone - Rt. 31 and Millstone road - northwast corner.     215
New Jersey 7th Brigade Blizzards, extreme cold, lack of food and medical care -- All endured by the New Jersey Brigade in the winter of 1779-80 while it camped here and watched British movements in New York.   Marker is on Hardscrabble Road, on the right when traveling north. 40.74058 -74.56039 341
Old Dutch Parsonage 300 yards north, opposite Washington Headquarters. Build in 1751 for Rev. John Frelinghuysen and wife, Dinah Van Bergh. Occupied during Revolution by Dominic and Jufvrouw Hardenbergh and her son, Gen. Fred'k. Frelinghuysen. Now a D.A.R. Chapter House. Erected 1939 On Route 31, approximately [indiscernable],000 ft. South of Somerset Street, Somerville     216
Old Stone Bridge Built during the 1730's to connect the "Great Raritan Road" with the "Road Up Raritan." Creek diverted in 1876. 1965 North of Bound Brook     528
Pioneer Church First reformed church of Raritan, organized in 1699. Was built here in 1721. Burned by Simcoe's Riaders, 1779. Rebuilt in Somerville. 1964 North of Manville in front of Johns'Manville Research Center     532
Pluckemin Park of Washington's army camped here, 1778-1779. Washington was quartered at the John Fenner House in 1777 and Knox at the Jacob Van de Veer House in 1779. Captain William Leslie, a British officer, is buried here. Erected 1932 Opposite Williamson's Bus Garage on Rt. 31. (Marker destroyed and no re-erected)     217
Queen's Bridge A bridge built here or nearby in 1731 has been rebuilt or replaced several times since then. Present structure, 1875. 1964 County highway 1, bridge over Raritan River from Bound Brook to s Bound Brook     535
Reformed Dutch Church Pioneer church of the Raritan, organized March 10, 1699, under Domine Guliam Berthold. The eminent Theo. Jacobus Frelingheysen was pastor, 1719-1748. The Church, which stood nearby was burned by the British in 1779. In this area lies the old cemetery. Erected 1940 500 feet North of Raritan River on (Old Millstone Road) leading into Main Street, Manville.     219
Rocky Hill - 1 1/2 Miles to Headquarters - Washington arrived here August 25, 1783, and made his headquarters at the Judge Berrien House, now maintained as a museum. From here he issued his Farewell Address to the Armies, November 2, 1783. Erected 1932 Rt. 31 at intersection of road to Rocky Hill - diagonally opposite pole PS491MT and opposite gasoline station     218
Staats House Built about 1740, original central portion of house served as headquarters for Baron Von Steuben during winter of 1778-79 1964 In front of house on Easton Turnpike. Von Steuben Lane, off Main Street     536
To Washington's Headquarters 2 Miles The Berrien House built in 1734 by Judge John Berrien. Used by Washington as his Headquarters from August 25, to November 10, 1783. Now used as a Museum. Here he wrote his Farewell Address to the Army. Erected 1935 Intersection of Route 27 and road to Rocky Hill.     220
Voorhees Home Early 18th century house of Garret Voorhees was burned by the retreating troops of General Howe in 1777. Rebuilt in 1793 1964 Memorial is on Amwell Road. 40.49718 -74.52743 344
Washington Headquarters Dec., 1778, the main army encamped at Middlebrook. Washington quartered at the Wallace House, now a museum. He marched through here January, 1777, en route from Princeton to Pluckemin, after the battle of Princeton. Erected 1932 200' West of Somerville Circle on Rt. 28 on South side of highway.     221
Washington's Rock From this rock, Washington watched the skirmish near New Market between Cornwallis's troops and Lord Stirling's troops, June 26, 1777. He also watched the movements of British troops from here at other times. Erected 1932 150' west of (Dunellen Washington Rock State Park) road, on Rt. 29 on South side of highway between poles #60470 & #60469. 40.6134082 -74.4731114 127
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Moody's Raids Newton was the scene of riads made by the Tory, Jas. Moody. Washington's Asst. Wuartermaster, Thos. Anderson, stored supplies here. Oct., 1779, his troops marched here, and during the Indian campaign Gates stationed a detachment here. Erected 1932 Rt. 31, opposite St. Joseph Cemetery, entering Newton. 41.05524 -74.75488 109
Andover Furnace Named for Andover, England. Begun in 1760 by Allen and Turner. Pig iron from here made fine steel for Continental Army. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) Marker is on Main Street (U.S. 206) near Lenape Road (County Route 517), on the right when traveling south. 40.98736 -74.74231 346
Andover Iron Works Begun in 1760 by William Turner and Joseph Allen of Philadelphia. During the Revolution, the works were operated under the direction of the Continental Congress to provide iron for the American Army. The iron was of superior quality. Erected 1932 Opposite Hackenberry Garage on Rt. 31. 40.9895415 -74.7426102 128
Appalachian Trail Planned by forester and writer, Benton MacKaye, in 1921. Maintained by hiking clubs along its 2000 miles, Maine to Georgia. 1964 Route 206, 6/10 miles north of Culver Lake     541
Fort Nomanock Remains of a blockhouse, one of several built to protext Sussex County from the Indians during the French and Indian War. 1964 The fort is located down a lane towards Airplane Island, 9/10 miles south of the Bell House which has a bronze tablet on a boulder at driveway enterance.     540
Moody's Raid - Sparta - Here, the house of Robert Ogden was plundered by Moody and his band of Tory raiders. Soldiers and inhabitants pursued the raiders to Goshen, New York. The Continental troops marched over the roads near here. Erected 1932 Opposite Town Hall 41.04041 -74.6315726 129
Newton Sussex County seat of justice was moved here from Johnsonburg in 1765. The county was named after an English Shire. 1963 Route 206 entering Newton from the south.     537
Old Mine Road Constructed in 1650's by Dutch promoters for hauling copper ore from Pahaquarry to Esopus. It was 104 miles long. 1964 Int of 521 and road to Dingman's Ferry     539
Sparta Colonial Village, raided by James Moody's Tories, 1781. The band plundered the home of a Patriot leader, Robert Ogden, Sr. 1963 (replaced 1932 marker) State route 15 entering Sparta     542
Van Campen Inn Built about 1750 by Isaac Van Campen. He was host to Gen. Horation Gates in 1776 and later to Vice President John Adams. 1964 On lower road in front of house. Old Mine Road near road to Walpack Center     543
Wantage The name is derived from Wantage in Berkshire, England. The Township was first settled about 1740 by New Englanders, Dutch, Germans and Hugenots. The first settler was probably Peter Decker, a Hollander. Erected 1941 On Route #8N-3 miles North of Sussex in front of Wantage Methodist Episcopal Church.     222
Wantage Named for an English Town. Settled by Yankees, Dutch, Germans and French. Peter Decker, a Hollander, located here in 1740. 1963 (replaced 1941 marker) Route 8N 3 miles north of Sussex, in front of Wantage Methodist Church.     545
Westbrook House Dutvh colonial home built in 1726 by Johanes Westbrook, Jr. Also site of 1754 French and Indian War blockhouse. 1968 Old Mine Rd.     538
Zinc Region Discovered by the Dutch, a peculiar, zinc-bearing ore body defied refining until the New Jersey Zinc Company succeeded in 1852. 1965 State Route 23 near Franklin     544
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Abraham Clark Grave site of Abraham Clark, Colonial Legislator, signer of Declaration of Independence, and long a member of Congress. 1965 Marker is on St Georges Avenue (County Route 27), on the right when traveling south. 40.61679 -74.28479 352
American Troops Withdraw American troops withdrew west along Elmwood and Morris Avenues toward the Rahway River Bridge at the Springfield border on June 7, 1780 after heavy fighting at the First Presbyterian Church.   Marker is at the intersection of Caldwell Avenue and Elmwood Avenue, on the right when traveling north on Caldwell Avenue. 40.69627 -74.2782 359
Battle of Springfield Here, June 23, 1780, 1500 Americans, under Greene and Dayton, were attacked by 5000 British and Hessians under Clinton and Knyphausen en route to capture stores at Morristown. The British burned Springfield, but were defeated. Erected 1941 In Springfield on Flemer Ave., 500 feet South of Route #24 directly in front of Springfield's "Old Burial Grounds". 40.70995 -74.30682 112
Bonnell House Oldest house in Elizabeth. Nathaniel Bonnell, early settler and an original "Associate", erected house sometime before 1682. 1964 1045 Jersey Ave, NW corner of Catherine Street     548
Caldwell's Home "Site of Parsonage used by James Caldwell family. Burned by British in 1780. Mrs. Caldwell was killed by a British soldier. (Lower Marker: ) Reverend James Caldwell and his wife Hannah moved to this site after his church in Elizabethtown was burned by the British army on Jan. 25, 1780. Caldwell was Chaplain of the New Jersey Brigade." 1964 Marker is on Caldwell Avenue, on the left when traveling south. 40.69497 -74.27893 347
Central Station In 1883, Thomas A. Edison opened here the first "Village Central Station," bringing electric light to streets and homes. 1964 Corner of first and Locust Sts it is now the office of the Bachman-Vechte Coal Co     552
Colonel Elias Dayton American Colonel Elias Dayton ordered a 4 pound cannon to fire east on Morris Ave. at the advancing enemy. The British were driven back and retreated during the evening of June 7, 1780.   Marker is on Morris Avenue (County Route 82), on the right when traveling west. 40.70775 -74.30146 360
Colonial Church Church of 1724 burned by British. Present structure, 1786. Reverend James Caldwell Pastor here, 1761-76; famed later as “Fighting Chaplin.” 1964 Marker is on Broad Street, on the right when traveling south. 40.66249 -74.21502 348
Colonial Church Site of Church used as storehouse in Revolution. Destroyed by British in Battle of Springfield. Present church built 1791. 1964 Marker is at the intersection of Morris Avenue (New Jersey Route 124) and Church Mall, on the right when traveling west on Morris Avenue. 40.71106 -74.31016 350
Connecticut Farms On June 7, 1780 about 5000 British and Hessian troops invaded Connecticut Farms (now Union Township). They stopped at Governor Livingston’s home located at this site. 1964 (replaced 1932 marker) Marker is on Morris Avenue (County Route 82), on the right when traveling west. 40.67771 -74.22941 357
Day's Bridge - Summit - A part of Washington's army crossed the Passaic River at this point, then known as Day's Bridge, on June 23, 1780. The troops continued their journey and fought against the British at the Battle of Springfield. Erected 1932 Near Day's Bridge on Vanderpool property.     130
Drake House Built by Nathaniel Drake, 1746. Washington visited here in 1777, while his army camped nearby at Bound Brook.   Marker is at the intersection of West Front Street and Plainfield Avenue, on the right when traveling south on West Front Street. 40.6135 -74.43148 353
Elizabeth Founded in 1665 and named in honor of Lady Elizabeth Carteret, wife of Lady Elizabeth Carteret, wife of Sir George Carteret. Boxwood Hall, home of Elias Boudinot, President of the Continental Congress, was built in 1750. Erected 1932 Rt. 25 - Center Island entering Elizabeth.     223
Elizabethtown Here, on April 23, 1789, on his way to New York for his inauguration, Washington was entertained at the home of Elias Boudinot. He embarked from Elizabethtown Point in a barge built for the occasion, which was rowed by thirteen men. Erected 1939 Union County Park, South End of Elizabeth on Rt. 27 - between Poles PS54ORO and PS 541RO (Washington Inaugural Route Marker)     224
Elizabethtown Settled by New England Puritans, 1665. Center of a large land grant and first seat of provincial government in New Jersey. 1964 (replaced 1932 and 1939 markers) Entering the town from the north     547
First Presbyterian Church of Connecticut Farms The First Presbyterian Church of Connecticut Farms was built in 1730 and burned to the ground on June 7, 1780 by the British and Hessian army. Reverend James Caldwell was minister.   Marker is on Stuyvesant Avenue (County Route 619), on the right when traveling south. 40.69246 -74.27311 356
General von Knyphausen Lt. General Wilhelm von Knyphausen led 5000 British and Hessian troops west on Morris Avenue on June 7, 1780. His objective was to destroy Washington’s army camped in Morristown.   Marker is at the intersection of Morris Avenue (County Route 82) and Colonial Avenue, on the right when traveling west on Morris Avenue. 40.68916 -74.24641 358
Liberty Hall Built in 1772 by William Livingston, later a patriot leader, governor of New Jersey, 1776-90, Member of Constitutional Convention. 1964 Marker is on Morris Avenue, on the right when traveling west. 40.67743 -74.22904 349
Martine House Boyhood home of Edmund Clarence Stedman, poet and critic. Later, home of Senator James Martine, direct primary advocate. 1964 1 Brook Lane (possibly also 11 Brook lane, written both ways)     549
Old "King's Highway" Connected Neward with the river port of Easton. Section to Morristown became the Newark and Morris Turnpike in 1804. 1964 On State Highway 24 (Springfield Ave) in Springfield     553
Old Chateau Built about 1757 by Chevalier Jouet, prominent Huguenot immigrant. Julius Fay's School for Boys located here, 1845-64. 1964 King David's Nursing Home, 408 Rahway St     546
Rahway Here, on April 23, 1789, on his way to New York City, Washington was received by troops from Elizabethtown and Newark. He was entertained at the Inn kept by Samuel Smith by gentlemen of the Town. Erected 1939 Route 27 about 200' south of Robinson's Branch. (Washington Inaugural Route Marker) 40.61595 -74.28521 110
Rahway Mint "Horse Head" coppers were first coined here in 1786. They bore the inscription "E Pluribus Unim," later used on federal coins. 1964 Side of Koos Bros. furniture store, Rt 27 and N Branch of Rahway River     550
Spanktown January, 1777, a sharp fight took [indiscernable] here between the British and [indiscernable]. Maxwell's men. June 26-27, 1777, the British, retreating in a running fight from Westfield, were pursued here, on their route to Amboy and Staten Island. Erected 1932 On Rt. 27 at Rahway River [indiscernable] (St. George Ave. and River Street) 40.61978 -74.2818 111
Spanktown Name applied to village of Rahway by soldiers during Revolution, and to battle fought here in 1777. Older name later revived. 1964 Route 27     551
Springfield The last battle of the Revolution in New Jersey was fought here, June 23, 1780. Village was burned by British and Hessians. 1964 (replaced 1941 marker) Entering the town.     554
Stage House Inn "[Upper Marker]: Center section built, 1737, became an inn during stage coach days. Enlarged in early 19th century for summer boarders. [Lower Marker]: Circa 1737 “Stage House & Liberty Pole” Col. Recompense Stanberry, Innkeeper during the Revolution raised a troop of Jersey Blues at Liberty Pole which stood in front of Inn, many years a stop for Swift Sure Stage Line."   Marker is on Front Street (County Route 620) near Park Avenue (County Route 655), on the left when traveling north. 40.65039 -74.39887 351
Washington Headquarters - Plainfield - The Nathaniel Drake House, now maintained by the local Chapter D.A.R., was used by Washington as a temporary headquarters in June, 1777. At this time the main army was at Middlebrook. Erected 1932 Rt. 28 - between poles 61765PF and 61764PF, there is a marker in Plainfield calling attention to this place     225
Washingtonís Headquarters On June 8, 1780 General George Washington established Headquarters at this site in Connecticut Farms (now Union Township) after the British and Hessian army’s retreat of June 7.   Marker is on Stuyvesant Avenue (County Route 619), on the right when traveling south. 40.69267 -74.2731 355
Washington's Route Part of Washington's army retreating from the British, November, 1776, marched this way en route to Brunswick. July, 1778, after the battle of Monmouth, en route to the Hudson, Washington and the troops followed this route. Erected 1932 200 ft. from southwest intersection Rt. 29 with Westfield Road     226
Westfield Church Congregation organized in 1727. Second church was site of trial of Parson Caldwell’s killer. Present church dedicated in 1862. 1965 Marker is on E Broad Street (County Route 509), on the right when traveling south. 40.65361 -74.34649 354
Title Text Date Erected Location Latitude (minus=S) Longitude (minus=W) ID Number
Army Encampment October 26, 1779, Jersey troops crossed the Delaware at Phillipsburg and encamped here. Old Oxford furnace, built 1741-43, made cannon balls for the patriot army, and was the object of a British attack. The famous Shippen Manor was also here. Erected 1932 Rt. 24 - leaving Phillipsburg - right hand side of road - opposite 51 Morris Street - between poles 3056E60 and 3057 - near intersection Bates and Morris Streets.     227
Belvidere During the Revolution, the Cottman House here was occupied by Major Robt. Hoops, who forwarded meat, flour and other supplies from the locality to Washington and his troops at Morristown. Erected 1932 Intersection Rt. 6 with Belvidere-Phillipsburg Road - back of culvert on north side of intersection     228
Belvidere Major Robert Hoops had a store and mill here in the 1770's. "Mercer" became Belvidere in 1791. It became a river trade center in the 1800's and finally the county seat in 1825.   Marker is on Greenwich Street 0.1 miles north of 5th Street, on the right when traveling north. 40.82385 -75.07872 362
Blairstown The site of Blairstown was settled about 1729 by John Hynshaw. In 1839, the present name was given to the town in honor of John I. Blair, 1802-1899, railroad builder and banker, who in 1845 founded the Blair Presbyterian Academy. Erected 1936 Route 8 at Blairstown Entrance to Blair Academy.     229
Burgoyne's Army A Revolutionary route passing through Beatyestown was used by General Burgoyne and his army after the battle of Saratoga. Some of the prisoners escaped on the road between Allamuchy and Hackettstown, and later settled in the vicinity. Erected 1932 Rt. S-24 - leaving Beatyestown for Hackettstown, left hand side of road - between poles BT510MD and BT509MD.     230
Delaware, Lackawanna and Western Railroad The open spandrel design pushed reinforced concrete arches beyond the known limit when built. An engineering feat, the railroad alignment rises and falls 11 feet over 28.45 miles.   Marker is on Interstate 80, on the right when traveling north. 40.93667 -75.10347 366
Famous Milestone A marker erected in 1754 to guide travelers on their way to the seat of Susses County Government at "The Logg Gaol".   Marker is on Allamuchy Rd (County Route 612) 0.2 miles west of South Street, on the right when traveling east. 40.95232 -74.84864 367
Inclined Plane / Morris Canal Inclined Plane No 9 West "Upper Marker: Inclined Plane One of the 23 Inclined Planes used to raise and lower boats of the Morris Canal, built in 1831. Phillipsburg was the western terminus. Lower Marker: Morris Canal 1824-1924 National Register Landmark Inclined Plane No 9 West"   Marker is on Uniontown Road (County Road 519 at milepost 29.4). 40.69492 -75.14043 365
Logg Gaol A log jail here was the first public building of Sussex County, 1754-56. Village later adopted the name of Johnsonburg.   Marker is on Main Street (County Road 661) just west of Allamuchy Road (County Road 612), on the right when traveling east. 40.96418 -74.87938 364
McCullough House Built by Rev. War Colonel, Judge & Friend of Asbury. Wm. McCullough. Barn was early Methodist meeting place. Later owned by Thom. McElrath, co-owner of Greeley's Tribune. 2013 Marker is at the intersection of Main Street and Maple Street, on the right when traveling south on Main Street. 40.69584 -75.01048 363
Old Oxford Furnace The Colonial charcoal furnace nearby was built in 1741-42 by Johnathan Robeson. Cannon balls made here during French and Indian, Revolutionary, and Civil Wars. Protected by American troops against several British attacks. Blown out in 1884. Erected 1936 On Route 30 at Oxford, New Jersey.     231
Phillipsburg "Chintewink," Indian village, 1654. Incorporated, 1861. Terminus of Morris Canal, 1832, and Central Railroad of New Jersey, 1852.   Marker is at the intersection of U.S. 22 and North Main Street, on the right when traveling east on U.S. 22. 40.69554 -75.19862 361

FAQ About Historical Markers:

Why are county or local markers excluded from this list?

The NJHC only tracks historical markers produced by the State of New Jersey. For resources concerning county-wide marker programs and historic sites, please consult your local municipal office and/or the following links:

Is there a way to get my local, county, or other type of historical marker included on the NJHC’s list?

At this time, the NJHC is only tracking historical markers produced and installed by the State of New Jersey.

I noticed a historical marker is missing or damaged. Who should I contact?

Thank you for letting the NJHC know about missing or damaged markers; please contact NJHC Program Coordinator Marc Lorenc at marc.lorenc@sos.nj.gov.

 

 


Back
to top