background shadows
For Immediate Release Contact: Jason Butkowski
April 17, 2018 609-888-7915

TRENTON, NJ – With the announcement yesterday of a third infant abandonment occurring in New Jersey in the past week, New Jersey Department of Children and Families Commissioner Designate Christine Norbut Beyer today urged parents considering abandonment to engage the Safe Haven program as an alternative to abandoning their babies.

“The Safe Haven law was designed specifically to avoid the sort of tragedy that we’ve seen happen not once, but three times in the last several days,” said Acting Commissioner Beyer.  “Safe Haven exists as a blame-free alternative to abandonment, where you can safely, legally and anonymously surrender an unwanted child.  To anyone who’s ever felt that they weren’t ready to take on the responsibility of parenthood, please explore all of your options before putting your babies’ lives in danger.”

The New Jersey Safe Haven Infant Protection Act established a program through which new parents – or someone acting on behalf of a new parent – may anonymously and safely surrender an unwanted child within 30 days of the child’s birth at any hospital emergency room, police station, firehouse, ambulance or first aid and rescue squad that’s operated 24-hours-a-day, 7-days-a-week.  As long as the child has not been abused, the individual surrendering the child would not face arrest or prosecution.

“I can think of no greater tragedy than the loss of a young life that could have been prevented through the use of the Safe Haven program,” said Acting Commissioner Beyer.  “I strongly urge all New Jerseyans – if you have a friend or loved one who may not be ready to be a mother or father, point them in the direction of Safe Haven and help save a life.”

To find out more information about New Jersey’s Safe Haven program, visit, or call 1-877-839-2339.