“Springing Ahead” on Sunday, March 13 Is a Good Time to Check, Clean, and/or Change Smoke and CO Alarms

  • Posted on: 03/09/2022

TRENTON – New Jersey Division of Fire Safety Director is joining local fire officials and fire departments across the state to remind residents that the biannual time change is a good time to check the condition of residential smoke and carbon monoxide (CO) alarms, in addition to considering upgrading to a 10-year sealed battery model if the current alarm is older than 10 years. 

“As the days become warmer and we welcome spring, remember that this is the perfect time to check your smoke and CO alarms in your home,” said Lt. Governor Sheila Oliver, who serves as Department of Community Affairs (DCA) Commissioner. “Please ensure you have working units to protect your family. Functional smoke and CO alarms save lives.” 

As we prepare to spring ahead, the New Jersey Division of Fire Safety is also about to begin its 24th year partnering with WABC-NY and Kidde on the Operation-7 Save-a-Life program. This initiative has seen nearly 200,000 smoke alarms distributed statewide over the life of the program and kicks off in New York City on March 22nd.

“We are proud to have assisted WABC 7 Operation Save-a-Life with the distribution of free smoke alarms to the elderly and disadvantaged once again this year,” said State Fire Marshal Richard Mikutsky, who also serves as Division of Fire Safety Director. “Fire departments across New Jersey have been able to count on the generosity of this program to help keep families safe.”

The Division is also reminding residents of the state law regarding smoke alarms for one-and two-family dwellings, which requires 10-year sealed batteries to be installed prior to sale or change of occupancy. The law does not apply to low voltage alarm systems, alternating current (AC) hardwired alarms and CO alarms. Combination CO alarm and smoke alarm single station devices are required to be of the 10-year sealed battery type. Regardless of the age or condition of smoke alarms currently installed, all affected alarms must be replaced with 10-year sealed battery smoke alarms. 

State Fire Marshal Mikutsky stresses that the presence of working smoke and CO alarms is critical for home fire protection and offers the following guidelines:

·     Install smoke and CO alarms outside each separate sleeping area, and on every level of the home, including the basement.

·     Choose smoke and CO alarms with non-replaceable (long-life) batteries that are designed to remain effective for up to 10 years. If the alarm chirps, warning that the battery is low, replace the entire smoke alarm right away.  

·     Be sure the smoke and CO alarm includes the label of a recognized testing laboratory.

·     Replace smoke and CO alarms every 10 years. Replace them with sealed battery models.

·     Develop and practice a home escape plan with all members of the household.

·     Close interior doors before retiring for the evening. 

The Division of Fire Safety serves as the central fire service agency in the State. The Division is responsible for the development and enforcement of the State Uniform Fire Code, as well as engaging the public on community risk reduction strategies, assisting in fire department preparedness and conducting firefighter training programs.

For more information about DCA, visit https://nj.gov/dca/ or follow the Department on social media: 


   DCa on Twitter



Lisa Ryan,
Gina Trish,
Tammori Petty
ph#: 609-292-6055