Marine Services Bureau

Current Events


Mandatory Cold Weather PFD Wear

New Regulation 13:82-1.4(f)

Starting this November, no owner or operator of a recreational vessel less than
26 feet, including rowboats, canoes, kayaks, and stand-up paddleboards shall
permit its operation between November 1st and May 1st, unless each person
on board such vessel is wearing a securely fastened United States Coast Guard-approved wearable personal flotation device of an appropriate size while such
vessel is underway. A person inside the cabin of a cabin vessel shall be exempt
from this requirement.


In short, A USCG approved life jacket is required to be worn at all times, outside
of a cabin on a boat under 26 feet during the cold-water months, while in motion,
from November 1st to May 1st.

The goal of this legislative update is to prevent hypothermia deaths, and to decrease the risks placed upon first responders during winter search and rescue operations
on the waters of New Jersey. In almost every instance of a vessel related drowning, the victim was not wearing a life vest.

New Jersey’s coastal features are unique in regard to our offshore fishing, inlets,
and tidal bays which result in a greater average recreational vessel size when compared to inland states with similar PFD regulations. This new regulation is in
the best interest of the safety of operators and passengers on all New Jersey’s waterways.

Mandatory Cold Weather PFD Wear FAQ’s

Archived Events

Open Public Records Act
Divisional: NJSP Home | About Us | Recruiting | Division | Public Information | Services | News | FAQs | Contact Us
Departmental: OAG Home | Contact OAG | About OAG | OAG News | OAG FAQs
Statewide: NJ Home | Services A to Z | Departments/Agencies | FAQs

Copyright © State of New Jersey,
New Jersey State Police