Department of Environmental Protection

New Jersey State Park Service

NJ State Park Service LogoNJ State Park Service Logo

PARK ADVISORY: 2023 Mobile Sport Fishing Vehicle Permits are available for purchase online as of 12 a.m. on Thursday, December 1.

Permit types and fees are as follows:
🎣 🚗Corson’s Inlet State Park – Annual – NJ Resident $50 / Non-NJ $75
*Please be aware that a $5 transaction fee applies to all permit purchases.*

Mobile Sport Fishing Vehicle Permits grant the permit holder’s all-wheel drive vehicle access to drive on to the beach at Corson’s Inlet State Park for the sole purpose of fishing.

Corson's Inlet State Park Overview

Scenic beauty and endless opportunities for observing a multitude of migratory and residential wildlife species.

Corson's Inlet State Park was established in 1969 to help protect and preserve one of the last undeveloped tracts of land along the state's oceanfront. The area's natural habitats are rich in diversity with primary and secondary sand dune systems, shoreline over wash, marine estuaries and upland areas in which a great variety of wildlife species live and breed. This park is a popular area for hiking, fishing, crabbing, boating and sunbathing.

Swimming is not allowed. Dogs are not allowed from April 1 through September 15.

To buy your Park Passes

An area of undeveloped beachfront and undisturbed sand dunes that serves as a protected nesting site for the endangered piping plover, least tern and black skimmers. Other shorebirds and waterfowl, such as the American oystercatcher, various species of sandpipers, gulls, herons, sanderlings and ducks can also be observed at certain times of the year. Dogs are not allowed from April 1 through September 15. Swimming is not allowed.

Corson's Inlet provides an excellent opportunity for any type of boating, ranging from canoes to large motor boats, sailboats, sailboards, stand-up paddleboards(SUP) and jet skis. Boating is subject to New Jersey Boating Regulations and Marine Law(link is external).

The boat ramp is open 24 hours a day, seven days a week, year-round. There is a ramp access for people with disabilities. Fees are charged for all vessels launching at the state park beginning on Memorial Day weekend and ending on Labor Day. Annual launch permits are available at the Belleplain State Forest office or at Corson’s Inlet when fees are being charged.

New Jersey Resident $12.00 per Launch.

Non-Resident $20.00 per Launch.


New Jersey Resident $60.00

Non-Resident $80.00


Corson's Inlet provides excellent opportunities to catch bluefish, kingfish, striped bass and weakfish.

From May 15th-September 15th vehicles are prohibited because of high public visitation on the beach and nest colonies of federally endangered birds.

Mobile Sport Fishing Vehicle Permits grant the permit holder’s 4x4 vehicle access to drive on to the beaches at Corson’s Inlet State Park for the sole purpose of fishing.

Corson’s Inlet Sport Fishing Permit – Annual Pass – NJ Resident $50 / Non-NJ $75

Note: All permit purchases, online or through traditional methods, have an additional $5 transaction fee. This new online system will ensure faster permit processing, and added convenience for the surf fishing community.

Purchase your permit today:

We look forward to better serving the surf fishing community with this new service.

Disabled Veteran permit applications must be mailed in or dropped off at the main office with the following documentation, please call the office for any questions:

  • Valid Driver’s license
  • Vehicle Registration (vehicle must be registered to the Veteran)
  • DD-214 showing honorable discharge
  • Documentation showing a service-connected disability

Corson's Inlet Mobile Sportfishing Application

A NJ State Park Service Special Use Permit is required for various types of short-duration, organized activities and/or events within a state park, forest and/or historic site. Examples of organized activities and/or special events include, but are not limited to press events, commercial photography and/or filming, corporate events, fundraisers, festivals, demonstrations, walkathons and races, concerts, Televised events and/or commercial use of or on State Park Service lands and/or waters. 

To learn more about Special use Permits click here.

Access for Persons with Disabilities
The Corson's Inlet State Park recreational facilities are partially accessible to persons with disabilities. Please contact the park office for further information regarding disability access needs. Text telephone (TTY) users, call the NJ Relay & CapTel Service at 711 or 1-800-852-7897 for English or 1-866-658-7714 for Spanish.

All-Terrain Vehicles (ATVs)
Recreational use of ATVs is not permitted on NJ State Park Service property. This includes state parks, forests, recreation areas, golf courses, marinas, natural areas, historic sites, and preserves. Thank you for your help in protecting New Jersey’s natural and historic resources. [N.J.A.C. 7:2-3.4(d)]

State law prohibits the smoking of tobacco and use of electronic smoking (vaping) devices in all state parks, forests, historic sites, recreation areas, golf courses and marinas. [N.J.P.L.2005, c.383 (C.26:3D-56)]

Alcoholic beverages are not permitted in state parks, forests, recreation areas, golf courses, marinas, natural areas, historic sites, and preserves. [ N.J.A.C. 7:2-2.6 ]

No hunting.

Keep Your Park Clean and Green
Protect plants and animals and care for your parks by taking your trash with you. Whatever you carry into the park, plan on carrying it out too. It’s like crowdsourcing trash management! Bring a bag or two for trash, recycling and cleaning up after your pet. There are no trash receptacles in this park. Thank you!

No swimming.

Pets must always be on a leash no longer than six feet in length and under the control of the owner. Please clean up after your pets.

Tick Protection
Use insect repellent, wear light-colored clothing, tuck pants into socks, stay on trails, check yourself when you get home, shower and wash clothes immediately.

Be Bear Aware
Black bears are found throughout New Jersey. Do not approach or attract bears by making food available. Feeding bears is dangerous and illegal. Never run from a bear! To report an aggressive bear, call 1-877-WARN-DEP (1-877-927-6337) immediately. Please report any damage or nuisance behavior to the park office. Visit the New Jersey Division of Fish and Wildlife at for additional information on bear safety.

Photo Gallery


Related Links

Belleplain State Forest
Cape May Point State Park

Park Map

Area Map


Phone Number

Physical Address
Bay Ave, County Hwy 619
Ocean City, NJ 08226

Mailing Address
c/o Belleplain State Forest
County Route 550 PO Box 450
Woodbine, NJ 08270

Email Address

Park Hours

Gate Open daily sunrise to sunset.
Park Office N/A

Park Fees

Entrance Fee None

Other Related Fees
Map / Directions

GPS Coordinates
39.217290, -74.646163