Governor Phil Murphy

Twitter Facebook YouTube Instagram Snapchat

New Jersey Joins Sister States in Opposition to Transgender Military Ban


TRENTON – As President Trump’s transgender military ban is still in effect, Governor Murphy today announced that New Jersey will join Nevada, Washington State, Oregon, California, and New Mexico as states committed to exercising every available option to allow transgender individuals to continue to serve in the National Guard.

“As I have stated before, President Trump’s policy targeting transgender individuals who wish to serve in our military is abhorrent and un-American,” said Governor Murphy. “I am proud to join with Governors in sister states, including California, Nevada, New Mexico, Oregon, and Washington, in declaring firm opposition to this policy and announcing my intention to use every option available to allow transgender individuals to serve in the National Guard.  Under my administration, New Jersey has joined the multi-state coalition that has urged the courts to strike down the transgender ban as unconstitutional, and we will continue to fight this bigoted policy and defend the rights of all New Jersey residents.”

"Since the Trump-Pence administration’s ban on transgender service members went into effect last month, this disgraceful policy is already wreaking havoc. We’ve seen college students lose their military scholarships, countless recruits be turned away, and the jobs and healthcare of nearly 15,000 active and reserve transgender service members at risk of being terminated,” said Garden State Equality executive director Christian Fuscarino. “Governor Murphy’s bold action today to protect transgender troops serving in the New Jersey Army National Guard is a critical defense against the President’s unconstitutional and discriminatory ban, and it means brave transgender public servants can get back to work defending our nation without fear of being discharged."