Program Eligibility

DDD administers two Medicaid waiver programs, the Supports Program and Community Care Program. Through enrollment in one of these programs, individuals can receive home and community based services based on their assessed needs and individualized budget. While these programs share basic eligibility rules, the Community Care Program has additional eligibility criteria.


Basic eligibility rules

For enrollment in either the Supports Program or Community Care Program, an individual must be:

  • Enrolling in only one waiver program,
  • 21 years of age or older,
  • Medicaid eligible, and
  • Functionally eligible for Division services, as defined in Division Circular #3 (N.J.A.C. 10:46).

Additional eligibility rules for the Community Care Program

For enrollment in the Community Care Program (CCP), individuals must meet the basic eligibility rules above and must also:

  • Be reached on the CCP Waiting List or be determined by DDD to be at imminent risk of homelessness,
  • Be determined by DDD to require ICF/ID Level of Care (Intermediate Care Facility for Individuals with Intellectual Disabilities), and
  • Meet specific Medicaid income and resources tests, which the Division will help explain.