The State of New Jersey
NJ Department of Banking and Insurance


Home > Insurance Division > Insurance Licensing and Education
Licensing & Education
Producer Licensing    Education
Phone: 609-292-7272

FAX: 609-984-5263
Phone: 609-292-7272 or 609-940-7480

FAX: 609-984-2792
Find information regarding...
  NJ Guidance Regarding Compliance in Marketplace Activities
  New Resident Producer Applications
  Nonresident New License Applications
  Producer Renewals
  SBS Producer Online Licensee Services (Including online address changes)
  Licensee Search (via SBS) (View appointments)
  NJDOBI Licensee Search (includes certifications)
  Applications and Forms
  Approved Insurance Education Providers (MS Excel)
  General Renewal Information
  Look up your National Producer Number
Other Information
  Frequently Asked Questions; Fees
  Enforcement Actions
  Insurance Producer Licensing Act of 2001
  Approved Insurance Designations for Waiver of Prelicensing Education Requirement
NJ Guidance Regarding Compliance in Marketplace Activities

Get Covered New Jersey is the state’s official health insurance marketplace. Producers interested in enrolling individuals in marketplace coverage must be certified annually by Get Covered New Jersey and can find more information here.

Changes to Public Adjuster Licensing Rules and License Terms

New License Terms

Pursuant to P.L. 2010, c. 116, effective with Public Adjuster licenses issued or renewed on or after July 4, 2011, the expiration dates for new and existing individual licensees will be biennial on the last day of the birth month of the public adjuster; or in the case of a business entity licensees, biennial on May 31.

If the term of the 2 year license for new, or those transitioning to the biennial license via renewal would be less than 18 months, then the third birth month for individuals, or the third May 31 for business entities will be used.

Additionally, Public Adjusters and applicants for a Public Adjuster license should be guided by the application procedures set forth in Bulletin 12-01. Specifically, the license fee has been reduced from $170 to $70, and the renewal fee has been reduced from $150 to $50.

New Public Adjuster Continuing Education Requirements

All Public Adjusters initially licensed after July 4, 2011 must fulfill 15 hours of continuing education to renew their license.  All public adjusters who are renewing a license that has transitioned into a two year license must complete 15 hours of continuing education to renew their license. By way of example, if your license renews effective August 1, 2011 and your birth month is September, you will be issued a renewal license that expires September 30, 2013.  Before you can renew in 2013, you must satisfy 15 credit hours of continuing education.

Public adjusters can view current approved education providers and available classes under the producer section of our vendor, PSI’s continuing education website link, until courses are posted to the public adjuster area soon. 

New Public Adjuster Solicitation Requirements

Public Adjusters are prohibited from soliciting adjustment of a loss or damage occurring in this State between the hours of 6 p.m. and 8 a.m. during the 24 hours after a loss occurred.

The Department is proposing regulations that will provide more detail. Please view Bulletin #11-05 for more information, and return to this web site to view additional information as it becomes available.

Free License Print is Now Available to NJ Insurance Producers and Public Adjusters

Effective 8/1/2010 the NJDOBI will no longer print and mail licenses to Insurance Producers and Public Adjusters.  Licensees will print their own licenses via SBS.

This new service offered by the National Association of Insurance Commissioners through SBS allows one free license print.

Please wait 24 hours after a transaction is approved by the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance to print the license, as that period of time is required to populate data fields.  You may determine when your application or other transactions are approved by checking the licensee search on this website. These transactions include: license issuance; license renewal; changes to lines of authority; address change; name change; expiration date; etc.

SBS License Print

Update E-mail Addresses through SBS - Producers and Public Adjusters
New Jersey producer licensing regulations require producers to notify the Department of address changes, including e-mail address within 30 days of the change. The Department allows producers and public adjusters to change their information electronically via NIPR’s producer address change request; however, this form will not update e-mail address only.

In order to make sure we have the most up to date home and business email address for you, please use this free service to update your e-mail addresses:

Update E-mail Address

Producer & Public Adjuster License Testing Vendor, and Producer Continuing Education Credit Banking Vendor
In 2009, PSI Services LLC was awarded the Producer & Public Adjuster License Testing and Continuing Education Credit Banking contract and is responsible for administering all insurance licensing examinations and the continuing education credit banking system.  
PSI Services LLC

Reservations may be completed electronically on its web site at or by telephone at 1-800-733-9267.

Current licensees may access their continuing education transcript at

oCheque for New Resident License and Renewal Resident License

In addition to accepting credit card payment (Visa, MasterCard, or American Express),an electronic onlinecheck payment option (oCheque) is now available at National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR) for new and renewal resident licensing applicants.  oCheque enables customers to use their checking account as an optional means to pay license fees.

Note: oCheque is a per transaction utility where none of the customers account information is kept by NIPR.

If you have any questions regarding oCheque, please contact NIPR Customer Service

National Insurance Producer Registry
Update: Address Change Request (ACR) is No Longer Available; Replaced with Contact Change Request (CCR)

Contact Change Request (CCR) will allow contact (address, email address and phone number) changes for Designated Home State licensees; Agents without a Resident License; and Inactive (Expired) licenses.  You may update an email address or phone number without updating the address with the new system.  CCR does not presently accommodate changes for Licensed Business Entities.  For more information and to make changes, please visit the National Insurance Producer Registry’s website at

Producer Licensing Renewals

Effective immediately, the New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance will no longer mail renewal applications to producers.

Approximately 30 days prior to the renewal date, producers will receive a renewal notice from the Department. The renewal notice will provide detailed information to producers regarding the on line renewal process.

The Department has offered the o8nline renewal service to Producers for more than a year. Producers have found the method to be expeditious, efficient, and time saving. In addition, it provides the opportunity to producers to use a credit card (Visa, MasterCard, or American Express) to pay for the renewal fee. Resident applicants for a new or renewal producer license may also pay licensing fees via oCheque. All business entities are reminded that failure to have a Designated Responsible Licensed Producer with an active New Jersey License will delay the renewal process. Any licensee not able to renew online may submit a paper renewal application form to the Department. We appreciate your patience if you must renew manually and encourage you to submit your renewal early to avoid any delays.

Disabled Veterans and Public Adjusters must renew manually.

Online Producer Renewals

New Jersey now offers online renewals for both resident and nonresident producers

Now ALL licensed resident producers and nonresident producers who meet renewal requirements for the current licensing cycle and whose licenses are active and not lapsed can renew online.

Please note that there is an additional processing fee of $20.00 if you do not renew online.

RESIDENT PRODUCERS - Individuals and Business Entities

To renew online, you must have all continuing education credits satisfied and recorded with PSI Services LLC and the Department.
PSI Services LLC
To renew your RESIDENT license for the current renewal period, please visit the NIPR's Electronic Resident Licensing web site. National Insurance Producer Registry


Nonresident producers licensed can now also renew online. Our online process will automatically confirm whether your license is in good standing in your home state. No letter of certification or PDB print out is necessary.

To renew your NONRESIDENT license for the current renewal period, please visit the NIPR's Electronic Non-Resident Licensing Renewals web site.

General Renewal Information

Renewal Notices: Renewal notices are sent at least 30 days prior to renewal and producers can also renew online for current renewal cycles without waiting for the renewal invoice. If your agency or the companies who have appointed you require verification of the renewal period, you may click on the license status field in our insurance licensee search to verify the next renewal date.
Duplicate Renewal Applications: Duplicate renewal applications may be obtained from the Department by faxing a note requesting a duplicate renewal application and providing the residence and business addresses of the licensee. Our fax number is (609) 984-5263.
Renewal Fee: The producer license renewal fee for major lines is now $150 dollars. A late fee of an additional $100 dollars must be added for renewal applications submitted more than 30 days following the scheduled expiration date. Producers who only have a limited line license pay a renewal fee of $75.00 and a late fee of $50 for applications submitted after 30 days following the expiration date.

Any renewal submitted on paper rather than online will be charged an additional $20 processing fee.
Late Renewal Applications: Applications received more than 30 days but less than one year following the scheduled expiration date are considered late. A late fee of $100 dollars for major lines of authority and $50 for limited lines must be submitted with the renewal fee making the total $250 dollars for major lines and $125 for limited lines. Our fax number is (609) 984-5263. Any former licensee failing to renew within one year of the scheduled expiration date must re-qualify as a new applicant.

Any renewal submitted on paper rather than online will be charged an additional $20 processing fee.
Continuing Education:
PSI Services LLC
Resident individual licensees are required to complete 24 continuing education credits with at least three credit hours in an approved ethics course. The Department has contracted with PSI Services LLC, an outside vendor, to track the credit balance of each licensee. A licensee may check their current number of continuing education credits by calling our vendor, PSI Services LLC, at 1-877-526-6833 or visiting its web site at
License Certifications: New Jersey does not require submission of a home state license certification with the renewal.
SBS Producer Online Licensee Services
State Based Systems (SBS)

The Department is pleased to announce a new online service available to New Jersey licensed producers and public adjusters. Online Licensee Services (OLS) was developed by State Based Systems (SBS) of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC).

For a nominal subscription fee of $5.95 annually, licensees who subscribe will have the ability to print duplicate licenses online; view detailed licensing information including demographic information, license status, appointments and lines of authority; make address changes online and optionally select e-mail notification for certain license changes.

For more information: Notice regarding Online Licensee Services (PDF)

Subscribe to Online Licensee Services (OLS)

Online New Resident Producer Applications

Attention New Jersey Resident Producer New Applicants
Announcing the Department's new time saving online application process

New Jersey, in partnership with the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR), is now offering new resident producer license applications online. Utilizing the online application will result in more timely and efficient processing.

To effectively utilize the online process follow these 3 simple steps:

1. If seeking licensure for any line of authority requiring prelicensing education and testing or waiver (all major lines of authority and bail bonds); either obtain the required waiver from the Department's Insurance Education Unit or successfully complete the education and pass the New Jersey producer licensing exam. Our testing vendor, PSI Services LLC, will automatically forward your test results to our system. You may apply directly online (#3 below) if you have no education or testing requirements for the limited line for which you wish to apply.
2. All individual applicants OR an officer, director, partner, or owner of 10% or more of a business entity (agency) seeking a resident producer license, must schedule and have fingerprint impressions taken through Live Scan, the State's electronic finger print process. Applications requiring fingerprints cannot be processed until we receive the results of the criminal history review. Therefore, you must complete electronic fingerprinting prior to applying online. Go to Live Scan for information on the necessary forms and how to schedule an appointment for fingerprinting.
3. During the application process, you will be asked if you used a trade name in the past or are currently using a trade name. A trade name is also called a "doing business as" name. If you wish to currently use a trade name, it is required that the trade name be approved by the Department before you apply for a producer license. If you wish to obtain information regarding trade name approval, please send an e-mail to You may proceed to apply online after you have received trade/dba name approval.
Apply for a New Resident Producer License
Online Nonresident New License Applications

If you are applying for a nonresident insurance producer license in our State you may use the electronic nonresident license applications through the National Insurance Producer Registry (NIPR), a non-profit affiliate of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC). Applying online saves considerable time. If you have no criminal history background or history of regulatory actions and verification that your license is in good standing can be completed electronically, in the vast majority of cases, your application is processed in a matter of a day or two, often only hours. Any application submitted on paper rather than online will be charged an additional $20 processing fee.

Apply for a Nonresident Initial License online
Other Information

Criminal History Record Check - Electronic Fingerprinting: The Division of Insurance has initiated participation in Live Scan. This electronic fingerprinting process for Resident Insurance Producers, Public Adjusters and Viatical Settlement Brokers who are applying for licenses replaces the use of ink and roll fingerprint cards and the yellow SBI212 criminal history form.

Get instructions on how to schedule electronic fingerprinting. (Fingerprint cards and the yellow SBI212 criminal history form will not be accepted from applicants who have passed their licensing examination on or after April 1, 2004.)
Letters of Certification and Clearance Letters: With the implementation of the National Insurance Producer Database (PDB) through the National Association of Insurance Commissioners (NAIC) and the movement towards uniform licensing procedures and reciprocity for nonresident licensing, the vast majority of states no longer require hard copies of letters of certification for new and renewal nonresident applications. Many states will check status on PDB or accept a current (within 90 days) print out of the resident license status screen from PDB.

To alleviate delays in processing your nonresident applications or renewals, we suggest that you contact the licensing department for the state to determine if they still require letters of certification. If a letter of certification is required, producers can view and print these letters online. Please contact our office for a letter of clearance.
PAIP/CAIP: NJ Automobile Insurance Plans Contact Information
Viatical Settlements: Registration to Negotiate Viatical Settlements
Frequently Asked Questions, Fees
Approved Insurance Designations for Waiver of Prelicensing Education Requirement

Life Authority: Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS): Chartered Financial Consultant (ChFC); Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC); Certified Financial Planner (CFP); Chartered Life Underwriter (CLU); Fellow, Life Management Institute (FLMI); and LUTC Felow (LUTCF).

Accident and Health or Sickness: Registered Health Underwriter (RHU); Certified Employee Benefits Specialist (CEBS); Registered Employee Benefits Consultant (REBC); and Health Insurance Associate (HIA).

Property, Casualty, Personal Lines: Accredited Adviser in Insurance (AAI); Associate in Risk Management (ARM); Certified Insurance Counselor (CIC); and Chartered Property & Casualty Underwriter (CPCU).

Applications and Forms To Print And Mail In:
PLEASE NOTE: Be sure to read the application or form for any documents, payments, etc. that must be submitted along with the application or form.

If the PDF is fillable, a notice will appear at the top of the form. Please type your answers, print form and submit.

1. Individual Producer Renewal Application (Resident or Nonresident)
2. Business Producer Renewal Application (Resident or Nonresident)
3A. Individual Public Adjuster Renewal Form
3B. Organization Public Adjuster Renewal Form
4. Initial Individual Producer License Application (Resident or Nonresident)
5. Initial Business (Corporation/Partnership) Insurance Producer License Application
6. Initial Individual (or Sublicensee) Public Adjuster License (Resident or Nonresident)
7. Initial Organization (Corporation/Partnership) Public Adjuster License (Resident or Nonresident)
8. Reinsurance Intermediary Authorization Application
  • Form A - Notice of Reinsurance Intermediary-Manager
  • Form B - Notice of Termination of Reinsurance Intermediary-Manager
  • Form C - Application for Resident or Nonresident Organization, Corporation/Partnership or Individual Reinsurance Intermediary Authorization
9. Change of Address
10. Additional Authority Request Form
11. Request for Certification Letter
12. Important Notice - Child Support Arrearages Law
13. Branch Office Rule - N.J.A.C. 11:17-2.9
14. Branch Office Registration
15. Notice of Agency Contract
16. Notice of Termination of Agency Contract
17. Notice of Managing General Agent Contract
18. Notice of Reinsurance Intermediary Manager
19. Public Adjuster Bond
20. List of New Jersey Approved Insurance Education Providers (MS Excel)
21. Business/Trade Name Approval Form
22. Change of Designated Responsible Producer Form
23. Request for Surrender or Status Change

 Insurance Education Forms

PSI Services LLC Testing Information - Available from PSI Services LLC
OPRA is a state law that was enacted to give the public greater access to government records maintained by public agencies in New Jersey.
Adobe Acrobat
You will need to download the latest version of Adobe Acrobat Reader in order to correctly view and print PDF (Portable Document Format) files from this web site.
state seal
Copyright © 2021, State of New Jersey
New Jersey Department of Banking and Insurance