FY 2017 Hazard Mitigation Assistance Grants

FEMA Announces 2017 FMA and PDM Grants

The Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) is announcing that $250 million in funding is available through two Hazard Mitigation Assistance (HMA) grant programs: Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM). These competitive grant programs assist state, local, tribal, and territorial governments in strengthening our nation’s ability to reduce disaster losses and protect life and property from future disaster damages.

Flood Mitigation Assistance

The Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) grant program provides funds on an annual basis for measures to reduce or eliminate risk of flood damage to buildings insured under the National Flood Insurance Program (NFIP). New in this application cycle, FEMA has set-aside $70 million of the $160 million in FMA grant funds for community advance assistance and flood mitigation projects. The remainder of the Fiscal Year 2017 (FY17) FMA grants will continue to focus on reducing or eliminating the risk of repetitive flood damage to buildings and structures. FEMA will also fund flood hazard mitigation planning as well as technical assistance for applicants who were awarded FMA grant program funds totaling at least $1 million in Fiscal Year 2016.

Pre-Disaster Mitigation

The Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) grant program provides funds on an annual basis for hazard mitigation planning and the implementation of mitigation projects prior to a disaster. The goal of the PDM grant program is to reduce overall risk to the population and structures, while at the same time reducing reliance on federal funding from actual disaster declarations. In FY17, $90 million is available for PDM grants, including $10 million set-aside for federally-recognized tribes. As directed by the Congressional appropriations language, FEMA will use the majority of the PDM funding for mitigation projects.

As required in the Stafford Disaster Relief and Emergency Assistance Act (Stafford Act), FEMA will provide the remainder of grant funding allocations to states and territories. These funds will be awarded on a competitive basis. FEMA’s highest priority for competitive sub-applications is multi-state/tribal mitigation initiatives. In addition, FEMA’s funding priorities are intended to avoid duplication of programs by providing pre-disaster funding to areas without post-disaster funding available through the Hazard Mitigation Grant Program (HMGP); and funding mitigation activities that cannot be funded by the FMA grant program.

Beginning July 10, 2017, potential applicants can review the specifics of the FY17 FMA and PDM programs in the Notice of Funding Opportunity (NOFO) which includes details such as eligibility, funding guidelines and evaluation criteria. The NOFO for FMA and PDM is available online at www.grants.gov and additional information is available at FEMA.gov.

FEMA will open the FY17 HMA application period Aug. 14, 2017. Eligible applicants must apply for funding through the Mitigation eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at . All applications must be submitted no later than 3 p.m. Eastern Standard Time (EST) on Nov. 14, 2017.

Further information on these grant programs is available at http://www.fema.gov/hazard-mitigation-assistance.

***Applications for Flood Mitigation Assistance (FMA) and Pre-Disaster Mitigation (PDM) are due to NJOEM through the eGrants system on the FEMA Grants Portal accessible at https://portal.fema.gov by COB Monday, October 2, 2017.***

Thank you for your interest in hazard mitigation in New Jersey. We are here to help! If you have any questions, please contact the Mitigation Unit at (609) 963-6900 X 6208 or NJMitigation@gw.njsp.org

Additional Information