to top


About the Secure Choice Savings Program

Governor Phil Murphy signed the New Jersey Secure Choice Act (P.L. 2019 c. 56) in March of 2019, authorizing the creation of the Secure Choice Savings Program – a state-sponsored retirement plan designed to help more private sector employees save for the future. The program is independently administered by the Secure Choice Savings Board, which held its first organizational meeting on December 15, 2021.

The Board is presently working on implementation of the program, which is not yet operational. Please check back here for future updates.

For your reference, the statute authorizing the program can be viewed online .

Grow Savings

Information for Employers Covered By The Secure Choice Act: Once the Secure Choice Savings Program is operational, the Secure Choice Act requires private sector employers covered by the Act to comply with its provisions. See N.J.S.A. 43:23-31. However, this section of the Act does not become operative until nine months after the Secure Choice Board notifies Treasury that the program has been implemented. Upon receipt of the notice from the Board, Treasury shall immediately post on its website a notice that the Program is implemented and the date on which this section becomes operative. Currently, the Program is not yet operational.


The next Secure Choice Savings Program Board meeting is scheduled on June 7th at 10 am. Join Meeting.

Date Title
Document Type
April 2024 April Agenda
March 2024 Bylaws
March 2024 Program Investment Option and Default Process
March 2024 March Agenda | March Minutes
February 2024 Notice of Open Public Meetings
February 2024 February Agenda | February Minutes
January 2024 January Agenda | January Minutes
Date Title
Document Type
December 2022 Board Package
November 2022 Board Package
September 2022 Board Package
July 2022 Board Package
May 2022 Board Package
March 2022 Board Package
January 2022 Notice of Open Public Meetings
January 2022 Board Package
Date Title
Document Type
December 2021 Approved Minutes
December 2021 Board Package
Board Members

List of current board members:

  • Elizabeth Maher Muoio,
    Chair; ex-officio Member; Treasurer of the State of New Jersey
  • Evelyn Liebman,
    Vice Chair; public Member
  • Tariq Shabazz,
    ex-officio Member; Acting Director of the Office of Management and Budget
  • Kevin Walsh,
    ex-officio Member; Acting State Comptroller
  • Luis O De La Hoz,
    public Member
  • Charles Hall Jr.,
    public Member

Last Updated: Thursday, 05/16/24